Mobile Network

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

Lebara Mobile

Lebara Mobile is a virtual network that operates in several European countries including the UK. The company was formed in 2001 and provides a basic mobile service but targets immigrant populations with cut-price international calling rates. The name LeBaRa comes from the names of the founders – Leon, Baskar and Ratheesan. In the UK, Lebara entered the market on 31st October 2007 and it runs on the Vodafone network.

Lebara do not have any storefronts but have a strong presence in the UK with high-profile sponsorship deals and many high street booths in major cities. Lebara also sells top-ups through Tesco shops which means that, in total, they have 90,000 retail outlets. Lebara have won several industry awards such as the Best Newcomer in the 2008 Mobile Awards and in 2006 they were ranked as the fourth fastest-growing private company in the UK by the Sunday Times‘ Fast Track 100 listing. Currently, Lebara’s sales are over €615 million every year.

Free SIM

If you are interested in trying Lebara, you can order your free SIM from here.

Lebara Mobile review

Like LycaMobile, Lebara specialise in the expat and immigrant market and, as such, offer a fairly basic service but have excellent deals on international calls. Their UK rates are not as competitive but then, you could swap SIMs out for a cheaper virtual network such as Giffgaff for domestic calls and texts. On the whole, the call quality offered by Lebara is fine although when calling internationally this obviously depends on foreign networks too. As Lebara use the Vodafone network, the coverage in the UK is mostly excellent.

There were previously issues topping up especially when roaming abroad but with their increased high-street presence, Lebara seem to have addressed this now. The website still could do with a little improvement though as it does not have all the information you might need on your account – for example, it would be great if it had your currently daily data usage and how many minutes/texts you have remaining. Also, several people have reported poor experiences with customer services. If you are unlucky and things go wrong, it seems to be very difficult to sort it out as they can be quite unresponsive.

However, despite this they have some amazing rates to foreign countries and decent UK prices too. As they are backed by the Vodafone infrastructure, they have a solid network with strong signal and decent call quality. Their roaming rates aren’t the best but, overall, if you are looking for a PAYG SIM to make international calls, Lebara is an excellent choice that is far more convenient than Skype and can save you a lot of money.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

Calls: 19pTexts: 19p Data: 15p/MBMMS: 45p0800: 10p0870: 10p


Lebara’s UK tariff is fairly standard for a virtual network with calls at 10p per minute and texts 10p each. Although this isn’t as good value as budget networks, it’s significantly cheaper than other main UK networks and landline calls are only 5p which is fantastic value. Even better, every time you top-up you get free allowances to other Lebara mobiles which can cut down calling costs quite a lot if you know other Lebara customers.

Unfortunately, the roaming costs are relatively high. Again, although they can be cheaper than other networks, £30/MB data and £1/minute calls in the US and even 38p/minute calls in Europe are prohibitively expensive. Also, MMS picture messaging is rather pricey at 45p each in the UK. Thankfully, data is cheap in the UK with the first 10MB free and the only 15p/MB after that.

However, obviously the main reason for using Lebara is the international rates and these are mostly excellent. The rates that stand out are the fantastic offer of 1p calls to landlines in dozens of countries including Argentina, Australia, Ireland, Romania, Poland and New Zealand. They even currently offer calls to mobiles in India for just 1p/minute while China and Hong Kong are only 3p/minute and Thailand is just 6p/minute for mobile to mobile calls. These are some really impressive voice rates.


As well as having some incredibly cheap international rates, Leabra are also currently running a selection of great offers. These include bonuses of £5 when you top-up £20 online or £10 bonus with a £20 auto top-up. There is also a bonus of £5 free credit if you get your PAC code from your old network and transfer your number to Lebara.

Perhaps the best known offer Leabra have is rewards of free calls and texts to other Lebara mobiles. If you top-up £5 you get 100 extra minutes and SMS all the way up to 1000 extra voice minutes and texts for a £30 top-up. if you call lots of Lebara numbers, this can provide really great value. Each bundle lasts for 30 days and your current status can be checked by calling *#1345#.

Price comparison

To compare Lebara’s current pricing to all the other mobile networks, please see our price comparison page.



2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 98%

Coverage map

Please see our Lebara coverage page to learn about Lebara’s network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.


Please give your own rating to Lebara below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.3/5 (37 votes cast)
Lebara Mobile, 3.3 out of 5 based on 37 ratings
by Jon M

114 Responses to “Lebara Mobile”

  1. Ivana 27 September 2016 at 18:48 Permalink

    They pissed me off so much! Never going to give positive reviews about this Lebara company… They stopped my data package, not letting me know, no text, nothing. So I was using my credit for internet without not knowing about it. They are using people’s inattention and making money out of it.


  2. Jennifer 6 September 2016 at 20:17 Permalink

    I will never use Lebara again. I advise other people to never use it as well. I bought a Lebara SIM card in March after moving to England. From the beginning I had issues getting the SIM to work. Then in July I found out that they had removed me from the package I was signed up for and had changed me £300 over a two month period. They never notified me that they removed me from the package and I never requested it. I have spoken to customer service (VERY difficult) multiple times and they refuse to reimburse me, “because the system removes people…they don’t”. The system is not set to notify people when they have been removed – so they can rob people blind. I am writing this review so other people do not make the same mistake I did. If you do buy a Lebara SIM card, do not sign up for automatic withdrawal from your bank account.

  3. Maria 30 August 2016 at 14:15 Permalink

    The 16th of Agost I asked Lebara mobile to transfer my number from GiffGaff to their company.
    I purchased a plan AIO15 the 31 of July, 15£ plan, which expires the 31th of July.
    They told me they will transfer my number in 72 hours (3 days).
    Today it will be the 14th day I can’t use my phone. Nobody can call me, apparently my number doesn’t exist and of course I can’t call anybody.
    I can’t use internet as well.

    I’ve asked them repeatedly to fix this issue, I’ve written them 5 times, they asked me to wait 24-48 hours for an answer and after the answer is always the same, “sorry for the inconvenience this issue will be fixed in 24-48 hours.” And we start again.
    I’ve called them twice to the customer service, the 25th and 26th August. Both times the operator assures me that it would be fixed in the very same day. But that wasn’t true.

    This is having an impact in my work (I am an architect and they have been 14 days telling my clients that my number doesn’t exist).
    Also in my private life (as I told their customer service on Friday this long weekend I had my family in London, they are Spanish, and it was impossible for them to communicate with me, etc.).

    The reason why I wanted to keep my number was because of work and the reason to change to Lebara was that I am Spanish and I wanted to call my family in Spain free and to be able to call them when they visit me in London to their Spanish numbers.

    I don’t know what else to do.
    I feel cheated.
    I lost money, tomorrow the plan I bought will expire and it will be 15 days I couldn’t use it. They keep telling me it will be solve but it never is.

    • petra 3 October 2016 at 21:08 Permalink

      I had exactly the same experience, to all potential users out there, please do not go with Lebara, they do everything to get you use their services, but one you are their user, they do not care, do not respond to emails, I called them 5č6 times, each time they promised to fix things in max 24 hours and it never happened!Not worth it, avoid at all costs!

  4. Ash 8 July 2016 at 12:02 Permalink

    I purchased a cheap Lebara sim from the streets where it is usually sold for a pound. People use these type of SIM cards to make cheap international calls. I did not keep the counterparts of the sim but have the sim with me. I saw a bonus offer on Lebara website that said if I top up online then they will give me a 5 GBP bonus. I topped up but the bonus didn’t come. I felt cheated. Then in order to make up for my loss I had topped up another 5 pound totaling 10 pound in order to purchase a 500 minute call plan to a particular foreign country. The call quality is so bad that it shocked me. The voice from the other side gets recorded on loops and keeps playing on its own. While it keeps charging me erratically for calls and consumes the minute bundles! I had contacted customer services both through online forms and calls and nobody replied from online complaint. After waiting hours and spending a fortune to get hold of their customer service they said I must prove I am the owner and come up with certain numbers of the sim. My question is, how many of their customers are registered and verified? And also, how many of them keep these with them? The sim, the top up should have been good enough. This company actually scams people and they need to be stopped. I am taking this to trading standards and if necessary will take this to court. It is not a matter of 10 pound. I don’t like people conning me.

    • BST 13 August 2016 at 15:25 Permalink

      Also in Spain Lebara is a nightmare. Don’t buy Lebara. Customer service was unable to identify me, even after several calls, perhaps the lady where I bought the card made a mistake, perhaps their computer system. Before it chewed up all my credit in just a couple of minutes after my internet in the bundle was at 0 MB. Instead of stopping the internet, it just consumed all the credit in no time. And it is impossible to change the bundle or buy a new one – I have to wait until it expires… how ridiculous is this??? In the end 500 MB cost me 25 EUR, which makes Lebara the most expensive company on the market. I assume they make at least 50% of their revenue like this… Unserious. I quit and go to another provider.

  5. Arunapriya 25 February 2016 at 14:47 Permalink

    I bought a Lebara sim recently and paid for a Lebara Flexi M plan (15 GBP/Month) using a credit card on Feb 12th. The plan is supposed to carry 1000 Call minutes and 2 GB of data. However, my data was not working and international minutes were not working as well. We just moved into U.K and we were caught into other work. Last week, we scrutinized the issue and found out that our credit card has been charged 10 time with £135 within 4 days. The recharge summary said it was auto topped up whenever we tried connecting to data.

    Their explanation was the plan was never Flexi “M” and we had enabled Auto top up so for data usage of 0.6 GB the had charged the £135.

    We have so many questions on this.

    1) How could a payment going through -> Flexi Plan -> Flexiplan ‘M’ -> Paynow is not a Flexi plan?

    2) What sort of plan is £15/month that calls and texts only Lebara mobile and no UK calling or data?

    3) Lebara had stored our credit card details without out any confirmation. Even when we tried to delete it, we could not find where they have stored these details till date.

    4) How can a set of 10 top up can go into credit card without even a single SMS/Mail alert to us?

    5) When our intention is clearly to use credit card once and not store it anywhere, how did the auto top enable without authorization?

    6) Why would anyone with their sane intentions, use £135 for less than a GB of data?

    7) Even to raise a concern as serious as this, Lebara asked us to recharge again to talk to customer care.

    Both the customer experience and the response from Lebara to such a serious issue has been very poor and ridiculous. The big mistake from our side is to have used the credit card with them.

    I hope my experience is lesson for others who try to use Lebara or use a credit card/online transaction with them.

  6. sembatya abasi 29 November 2015 at 14:42 Permalink

    Am working in South Africa but wishing to use Lebara mobile, how easier can get Lebara recharge as in South Africa

  7. sembatya abasi 29 November 2015 at 14:39 Permalink

    How can I know my personal number once lebara sim card is in my phone

  8. Kalaada Opusunju 2 November 2015 at 14:44 Permalink

    Lebara is a fraud as an African didnt expect this to come from a Western company it is clear that they are fully aware their target audience are immigranta who half of them may not even be legal to start with.
    What company charges their customers to call customer care? like seriously who does that?
    i called customer care because of unaccounted for balance debits a d they removed the remaining credit on a 10P charge. When I called their line the call stopped halfway during the selection yet they removed 10P i am left with another 10P how am I sure the next call is not gonna stop.halfway?
    As a business man myself I am fairly lenient on my critique of the corporations but I have had it up to here with Lebara.
    What sort of company charges customers to call their customer care. this is considering the fact that I have UK minutes.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 2 November 2015 at 14:47 Permalink

      Sadly, the staggering level of ignorance displayed in your comment calls into question any genuine points you may have to make 🙁

      • Hawkeye King 2 November 2015 at 15:08 Permalink

        American expat in London here who used Lebara for quite awhile. I totally agree with Kalaada on several points.

        Firstly, the shock at being charged for customer service. Secondly, at being ripped off on balance debits without explaination. And thirdly with the poor quality of Lebara customer service when (finally) contacted.

        Specifically, on the third point, Lebara steadfastly refused to give a detailed accounting of when, why, and how much they charged me. Nor did they offer to refund this credit.

        As a final point of agreement, I concur that Lebara verges on a fraudulent business.

  9. Hawkeye 22 October 2015 at 13:16 Permalink

    Horrible horrible service.

    Topup credit seemed to evaporate from my account without notice. Lebara still refuses to give me an accounting of how much and why the credit was taken.

    Also, after a few months they increased the price of my plan from £15 to £20, despite the £15 charge listed on their website.

    Furthermore, the network experience frequent outages, data is limited to 3G, and coverage was poor when I travelled around the UK.

    Poor service, and hidden fees make this service a total ripoff. Almost a scam!

  10. Alena Howes 30 September 2015 at 17:36 Permalink

    Lebara are scammers! They stole money from m y account and don’t want to reply emails and phone calls. Avoid them if you don’t want to lose your money

    • Mobile Network Comparison 5 October 2015 at 20:04 Permalink

      What exactly happened?

    • Hawkeye 22 October 2015 at 13:12 Permalink

      Had the exact same experience. Topup credit kept disappearing from my account without warning or explaination. After MANY emails w/ their customer service, it turns out they were charging huge amounts for data overages without warning or notification. There was no information on “My Lebara”, their account maintenance page showing where the topup went.

      Complete ripoff!

  11. Maria 24 September 2015 at 19:58 Permalink

    Lebara is the worst provider EVER! Just toped my credit with £40 and could get through to call my parents for an HOUR!!!! People, don’t get they sim cards if you want a good quality provider!

  12. GTR 22 September 2015 at 22:02 Permalink

    Avoid, a fraudulent company. Topped up, receipt received but they didn’t credit my account. Can’t contact helpline due to no credit and they don’t respond to emails or online enquiries. Beware this is unashamed fraud.

  13. Bizz 13 September 2015 at 08:36 Permalink

    I wanted to make an international call, then remembered I got a lebara sim, I bought a top-up credit and I ve been trying all day to use, it kept giving “network busy” and I can’t even send a message to top up either. I went on their website to seek solution, I saw a new sim must be activated, I tried sending text msg to the number provided, still with same wrong message, these network is crap, avoid…I can’t top up meaning my voucher is wasted and my money gone!!!

  14. Linda guyatt 31 August 2015 at 17:47 Permalink

    Worst company ever would not use them again total crab do not believe a word they say unhelpful full off ballshit never meet such a bad company do not buy there sim use another provider

  15. Sean 19 May 2015 at 16:05 Permalink

    The calls are ok, every now and then on some numbers I get regular beeping noises, it very irritating, also when I try to set the Auto top-up if the balance fails, the Auto top-up never works, looking into other options as that is a bit primitive

  16. lebaraworstcompany 1 May 2015 at 12:37 Permalink

    terrible compnay – they steal your pay as you go number and give it to customers who want more expensive packages. If you are a pay as you go customer do not use this Lebara. They also steal your top up if you do not use your phone even for a few weeks. Much worse than everyone else. UK regulators OFCOM useless.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 1 May 2015 at 13:47 Permalink

      Please could you elaborate on what exactly happened?

    • Andy 3 November 2015 at 08:49 Permalink

      I agree. I had a number that I didn’t use for about three weeks with a bit less than £10 on it and when I tried to make a call it said not enough credit. True, since I called *#1345# it displayed £0. I hope you choke on my £10, Lebara 😉

  17. Viji 25 March 2015 at 16:17 Permalink

    I had doubts on their charges. Had called customer service l, managed to speak with them after some wait time. They did clarify my doubts. I found they were charging as they claimed.

    Downside- my friend forgot the password after registration of sim online. Triggering ‘forgot passeord’ does not help as it does not work. No email is sent for reset of new password.

    And always i have yo login twice. The first attempt mentions password is wrong. But when i login again with same pw, it works.

    Online topup also has same issue. Only thing is we cant afford to top up twice and get only one credit for recharge

  18. dolapo akin 21 March 2015 at 06:21 Permalink

    Hi good mg,i loaded 20pound yday to call Nigeria For 30days,ve sent NGN1000 to 38885,bt its jst not going,pls how can I go about it,and as ur code changed.

  19. shahin 12 March 2015 at 03:53 Permalink

    Hi everyone. I am regreting buying lebara simcard. Because back in August I have bought lebara so I can get the call history from them when I apply for my wife’s visa to show that I was in contact with her. ..I have registered the sim online. Now I am getting closer to get her application ready so called up lebara customer service to request my call history they took some details only to be rejected saying my details don’t match the one on the system.i have explained how important that call history is for me but they say to check all my details again and call back. .my details are correct and let’s me sign in online. So now I am moving to lycamobile. ..avoid this network

  20. philip 8 March 2015 at 08:33 Permalink

    If I live in uk and a friend lives in say philipines and we both have lebara sim cards will we still get free calls and txt to each other?

  21. Christine 5 March 2015 at 11:19 Permalink

    I have top up online and waited for two hours and still don’t have my top up bought online paid thru paypal. I did call the customer service but it takes time for them to answer. I hope my top up of £20 is not been wasted. Anybody can help me to get my top up?thanks

  22. Kit C 4 January 2015 at 17:20 Permalink

    I’m a Lebara user for a few years. Lebara just doubled the local UK rate to 19p/min without any notification (admin please update the info). And it drained 4 pounds off my newly topped up credit without any records. AVOID LEBARA AT ALL COST!

  23. D smith 12 December 2014 at 16:05 Permalink

    Can you use bundles whilst roaming with lebara?

  24. Dredger 2 December 2014 at 23:52 Permalink

    On Wednesday 26th November, I came across a stand at London Victoria station with two men handing out Lebara leaflets.
    I spoke to one of the men and he offered me a sim package for £5. he then oppened a sim and put it in his phone to activate it and told me it was ready to use. I put the packet in my pocket and left. When I got home, I came to use the sim and found the packet to be still sealed and unopened. It seams I have been scammed by someone saying that they were representing Lebara

    I thought that Lebara was a genuine company, but when I sent this report to them, I heard nothing back.

  25. Eagleeye 11 October 2014 at 08:47 Permalink

    These value networks are of a good value if you are not after other features.They don’t have call waiting facility and conference calls on their network.
    The good thing is that they give free minutes to call some countries with each top up as long as you have registered that option on their website.The auto credit never arrives automatically and had to remind them twice via online chat.

  26. Freddy 8 August 2014 at 00:19 Permalink

    I’m using Lebara in London since a month, it is by far the most terrible provider I ever had! Internet works very bad, I cannot access Windows store and download apps. Synching the emails works sparsely. Voice quality is awful. Takes a very long time to connect a call. My friends often ask me why my phone was turned of – it wasn’t, but with a lebara sim I apparently loose the signal/connection randomly. I tried to reach customer service, but the call was dropped. Low price, lower quality. Btw if I try tu use Skype, they block my internet for an hour or so… DON’T BY A LEBARA SIM CARD IF YOU HAVE A WINDOWS PHONE, IT DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY! / Nokia Lumia 1020 user

  27. Murali 27 July 2014 at 10:12 Permalink

    My experience with Libera is very bad. I’ve purchaged it with 15 GBP top up and called India for about 40 mins and it’s all over! I was told it will cost only 1ppm to call India but that is not the case. When I approached the booth where I purchaged the SIM and top up they asked me to contact cust serv but there seems to be no email address. Either I’ve to call them which will again cost me 10 ppm to talk to an agent or I’ve to send the very old fashioned royal mail by post! When I called the customer service using their 0870 number they made me wait almost 10 mins and suddenly the call got disconnected without addressing the problem. I feel its a total fraud.

  28. Ultratech 21 July 2014 at 19:09 Permalink

    Feedback on Lebara Customer Service –
    If there is a place to learn “How a Call Center should not Operate”, please try calling Lebara Mobile.
    I have been using Lebara for International Calls and I have to admit there is no problem what so ever.
    If they improve the customer service and website, there is no stopping for Lebara Mobile.

    The worst part of any customer service call is when you ask for a Supervisor and the Supervisor is not available.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 21 July 2014 at 19:43 Permalink

      What is the main issue you’ve had with them?

      • ultratech 23 July 2014 at 22:37 Permalink

        I called up for an enquiry and wanted to know some details about the promotions that I had expected to reflect on my account.
        The Customer care consultant TROY was very annoying and kept interrupting. As a result he never understood the main reason for my call.
        He blatantly refused me from engaging a Supervisor and said there is no reason for me to speak to the Supervisor.
        I was advised that a call back from the supervisor shall be arranged within 2 days. Its been a few days now and no callback has ever been received.

  29. Abracadabra 11 July 2014 at 21:55 Permalink

    I signed up by mistake to 3gbuk instead of uk1003web I wanted to add the second but there is no chance in hell to do that,
    Any advice from customer service??
    I am happy to buy it again as I topped up £50 so I am very disappointed at the moment thinking to go back to lyca mobile
    Solutions please?

  30. Mick 25 April 2014 at 18:43 Permalink

    I have just been on to top up as I get 100% free extra calls if direct. I usually do it through a shop or via my bank but only get 50% free extra calls.
    Having filled in the 5 page process I got to a CONFIRMATION PAGE !!!
    This stated that my phone would be credited with deposit and it also gave me an order number which was generated by lebara. No credit came through ! I called there so called customer service and after 11 minutes finally got through to someone. He insisted on having my passport number first, after holding now I am on 18 minutes, he then said he could find nothing about my credit. I gave him the lebara reference number they created and he came back and said nothing here, you will have to check with your bank online take a screen shot email it to them and they would give me my money back !!! Having hung up 22 minutes later to no avail !! I went to my bank website, no charge had been been taken. I ended up putting credit on via the bank thus only receiving the 50% free calls. I want to know why a ref no. Is generated that has no details attached and why was it all confirmed but no money taken ?
    Is it lebara do not want to give away there extra 50% ?
    Just found this very annoying and time consuming and unhelpful customer service.
    I will now be considering my Telefonica free mobile option attached to my home phone and internet !!!!

    • Mick 25 April 2014 at 19:31 Permalink

      Unbelievable all credit come through together !!!!! But lebara ?customer service ? So called !!! Could not find a trace of it even with there own reference number !!!! Very frustrated and feel as if I wasted my time with the poorest customer service centre I have known in a long time !!!!

  31. Lee Murray 8 March 2014 at 08:56 Permalink

    And now in the uk . Not working at all

  32. Lee Murray 5 March 2014 at 05:52 Permalink

    I have txt for the offer of 1gb free for the month.
    and no internet at all

  33. Lee Murray 5 March 2014 at 05:49 Permalink


  34. Lee Murray 4 March 2014 at 17:45 Permalink

    My lebara Spanish sim will not go on the internet ?

  35. Joe 31 October 2013 at 09:30 Permalink

    Why did my lebara not work in Spain

  36. Prem 4 October 2013 at 10:49 Permalink

    Hi, DO any one know why skype and other voip calls are not working with Lebara Data connection. Did the operator blocked these services intentionally. Please let me know which is the other best operator who allows these services too with their data connection

    • Mobile Network Comparison 4 October 2013 at 14:13 Permalink

      It does sound like they are blocking them. Have you confronted customer services? Or tried a VPN?

      If you find out any more details please report back here and we’ll try to create a database of the status of all the networks…

  37. Tam 30 September 2013 at 13:33 Permalink

    I bought a lebara sim only 3weeks ago and have been using and topping up a lot, for some reason today it seems to have gone dead, when people try and call me there’s a message saying they’ve dialled an incorrect number, and I cannot make any call from the sim, it simply just cuts off and goes dead, I used the phone with the sim only 3days ago, can anyone help??
    Customer services have been rubbish as I cannot even get through !!!!

  38. nur marheliansyah 25 September 2013 at 05:24 Permalink

    I I bought lebara pay as you go simcard and £5 voucher 3 days ago. I also took 10 MB/day dat

    Yesterday, i did a £10 top up, my total balance was £13. After that I texted ‘FREEDATA’ to 65088 to get freedata as advertised in ybrochure. And their answer was “You already have a Data Pass active, to auto-renew it for FREE, just top up between now and the expiry of your Pass”. I thought I already got the free data service. At the end of the day, i checked my balance, and i was shocked because all that i have was 90p.

    What’s the explanation on this?

  39. MICHAEL 10 September 2013 at 17:42 Permalink

    After exchanging several emails and draining every single pence (over £20.00) just talking with Lebara customer service to solve a triggered auto topup which was not excused, I’ve decided to give up Lebara.
    Please be kind enough and delete my account – Phone Number – Profile and etc from your all your database.
    My experience with your company was the worst I’ve ever seen!!
    P.S If any of you cares I am sure you can search my emails sent and email replied and even calls mate to Lebara service.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 10 September 2013 at 17:50 Permalink

      Hi, we aren’t Lebara but please can you share some excerpts from your emails so we can see exactly what went wrong in your dealings with them? Thanks.

  40. kofoworola 7 August 2013 at 01:45 Permalink

    please make sure u reply my message and kindly make solution to it, after using my lebara sim here in Nigeria to call one or two people i couldnt use it again to call out nor receive,please what will i do to continue using it here in Nigeria, because i have an official contact on it please help me…

  41. matematyka Szczecin 27 July 2013 at 21:32 Permalink

    Thank you for a very informative blog. What else may I get that type of info written in such an ideal way? I have a challenge that I am just now running on, and I have been at the look out for such information.

  42. lai 20 July 2013 at 17:49 Permalink

    i loaded 10euro for my lebara sim, then just three of 4 days after i got a message from lebara saying i need to top up, then i check out my balance it already.66 already..feeling so bad and dissapointed….

  43. Aziz 18 July 2013 at 22:22 Permalink

    I bought lebara sim from UK, then I moved to France and used all my credit
    I bought a voucher worth 10 € and try to top up but following instructions in the voucher *133*voucher no # ….but nothing happend, is there a way to use this voucher since it is not refunduble

  44. merve 18 June 2013 at 20:40 Permalink

    Hi. I buy a pay as you go sim card lebara in UK. and i want to use internet. On their website they said that send a message settings to 40127. i sent it 3 times.But never came any message! and my phone isn’t a smart phone. I checked their websites several times.And i called custemer services and i never take a response from them!!!

  45. Lyse madel 7 June 2013 at 23:03 Permalink

    I baught a new SIM card and top up £10.
    I went for 150uk (u pay £7.50 and u get 150 min and unlimited texts in the uk)
    I started to text my friends giving them my new number and suddenly the sim stopped working when I called customer service I was told that the card was barred because I made about 50 text in short amount of time and that is against the t&c when I asked how do u want me to inform my friends with my new number she said that I should email my friends (unbelievable ).
    When I asked for my refund she said it is nothing they can do.
    I am taking them to the small claim court ( matter of principle)

    Stay clear of lebara it is a shit network with a shit customer advisors

  46. myra 15 March 2013 at 00:51 Permalink

    If i top up 10 pound to my lebara sim card, can i get the unlimited calls to international country?

    • Mobile Network Comparison 15 March 2013 at 14:14 Permalink

      Yes, but you have to buy the Unlimited £9.95 bundle. And the only countries included are Canada, China, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and USA.

  47. nadia 24 September 2012 at 20:26 Permalink

    just wanted to know if I could use my PAYG libara sim card in Germany.and if yes ,what are the rates? thanks

    • Mobile Network Comparison 24 September 2012 at 23:41 Permalink

      We’re pretty sure Lebara allow roaming by default but there’s no harm in calling them to check? Texts from Germany start at 8p each and calls start at 28p/minute.

  48. Craig 25 April 2012 at 12:43 Permalink

    Many thanks “Mobile Network Comparison” for your advice this was my thought that it would be a “Roaming” call.Will just need to hope that I can easily locate a spanish lebara SIM card, as when I checked the Lebara Spanish web site it seemed few suppliers existed in the near vicinity of the part of Majorca I will be visiting.

    Many thanks

  49. Craig 24 April 2012 at 20:57 Permalink

    Will be travelling to Spain soon and was wanting a sim card to get cheap calls back to the UK as my ICARD sim will not work abroad, what I was trying to find out was that Lebara do cheap calls for Spain>UK but to get these do I have to purchase a Spanish Lebara sim or will a UK one do?

    Many thanks

    • Mobile Network Comparison 25 April 2012 at 10:23 Permalink

      If you use a UK Lebara SIM in Spain you will be roaming and have to pay 36p/min for outgoing calls to the UK and 11p/min for incoming calls. It will be cheaper to get a Spanish SIM on Lebara or another network.

  50. John 5 March 2012 at 13:55 Permalink

    If I use my UK Lebara to call my friend using a France Lebara sim card, would I still have free lebara to lebara call?

  51. ian 22 February 2012 at 17:29 Permalink


  52. ian 22 February 2012 at 17:19 Permalink

    WARNING stay away from labara ,there reception is poor at best,there customer service terrible ,they suffer constant breakdowns.i would sooner not have a phone at all rather than use THEM DONT SAY YOU WERNT WARNED

  53. Orlane 20 February 2012 at 19:38 Permalink

    There were a problem when I wrote the message.
    My question was: are they paying too when I call them?

  54. Orlane 20 February 2012 at 19:32 Permalink

    Good morning,

    I had a question. I just bought a Lebara mobile and pop up to can call my family who lives in France. I call them on mobiles but are too paying too when I call them? Or I am the only one one too pay?

    Thank you for the answer!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 20 February 2012 at 19:34 Permalink

      They won’t pay a penny if they are using a French SIM card. If they are roaming in France with a non-French SIM they probably will pay.

  55. Praveen 20 January 2012 at 15:05 Permalink

    I’m currently in Germany and have been using Lebara in every country I was and Lebara was/is. I don’t have any complaints at all.

    I’m coming here after an year and I’m surprised that Lebara doesn’t offer internet on mobile now. I got a response from them for a request, asking for settings on mobile. I’ve used it earlier, sometime in 2010. 🙁 I’m wondering if they got my question correct?!?

  56. Ogemdi F.I. 14 January 2012 at 10:12 Permalink

    For immigrants like me coming to the UK from Nigeria, the Lebara is the preferred, because thats the network we hear about back home- because of your amazing offer/sprice regime.Since i came over in September, 2011, i have been calling home at 1p/min to landlines. To my amazement, i made a call today(14/01/2012) and was shocked to discover i was charged 8p/min. i had no prior information that there will be an increament and will like this anomaly to be corrected, please.

  57. eric 17 October 2011 at 21:22 Permalink

    Hi. Customer service does not answer e mails also ive tried to use lebara in china and it dos.nt work infact it only works in england .ive tried all the network serches etc . It just says sim wont let me . And no internet access anywhere .ive also tried to use it in europe en route. Again it dos.nt work and guess what no reply when ive complained to customer service . Dissapointed YES.

    • Pooja 8 December 2011 at 10:00 Permalink

      Hi Eric,

      First of all, I am really sorry about your experience and do understand your frustration.

      We do offer international roaming in a a lot of countries (including China). Anyhow, if you are still facing problems please could you contact me on and we can take it from there.

      Sorry once again

      (Lebara Customer Service)

  58. Marc 10 September 2011 at 19:25 Permalink

    My wife and I have been using Lebara for a year; we were attracted to them mainly because they gave 10mb of free internet per day.

    At the beginning we were quite happy because we would spent an average of 20 per month -max.

    However a couple of months back they started to charge for the internet quite arbitrarily and we’d constantly ran out of credit just for checking email or the occasional google map while on the go.

    There’s also the fact that the online top-up system doesn’t work.

    So in the end, our experience has become annoying and expensive.

    Now we’re thinking in moving our business elsewhere.

  59. Stephen Pollard 1 September 2011 at 00:37 Permalink

    I’ve used Lebara for about 2 years now as a very light pay-as-you-go user and my main critisism is the unreliable on-line top-up facility and poor customer service. I’ve lost count of the number of times that the top-up facility has gone wrong and when you try and phone customer service you are just told that it “should be fixed by tomorrow.” I don’t believe that customer service has any interest in solving your problems or that they are even interested in them – they just want you off the phone.

  60. Sam 9 August 2011 at 11:55 Permalink

    I have used Lebara for over 2 years, I top up when needed, get all the free texts and minutes I “earn”. I call overseas often with good reception, I use it in Africa too when on holiday. My own experience is that it is good. Reception all over the uk without a problem. I have no cause for any complaint. I have suggested to many to go with Lebara, they have and they too are happy. Maybe I’m just lucky eh! Why are people using banks? Top up as you need it. My only gripe is that they say they cant cancel my pay as you go Sim, other than by me not topping up, I have some unwanted texters I want them to know its not a valid line rather than it simply expire.

    • Pooja 18 August 2011 at 12:52 Permalink

      Hi there,

      Very happy to hear that you’re enjoying Lebara services.

      There is an option of ‘freezing’ your Lebara SIM card if you won’t be using it a for some time (and you don’t need to top up). You can e-mail me your details at pooja.moolchandani and I will help you with this if you want.

      Thanks and regards,
      (Lebara Customer Service)

      • Ronnie 28 July 2014 at 00:06 Permalink

        Hi Pooja.I am glad to see you are taking an interest in your company’s customer worries.
        It is good to see someone personally trying to rectify problems for them.
        Well Done,keep it up.

  61. Bernhard Jones 29 July 2011 at 12:18 Permalink

    I’ve just bought a Lebara sim for my mother to make oversea’s calls, they had a special offer that you purchase a sim card at 5pounds & get 2pound 50 free extra when you register your sim card online,so I did so.
    After registering online my balance showed up as 5pounds only, so I sent the e-mails to customer service with contact number & the problem, I got no response,I than called customer services( at 10p/per min) was told to hold, after waiting for 5 minutes I was told customer services was too busy & was cut off there & then.
    So not only did I not get the Extra call credit, my mothers balance is now less by 50p, trying to sort out the problem with Lebara.
    Now if it only cost 4p a minute to the USA, why we paying 10p a minute to call customer services here, not really Low cost calling when you think about it….

    • Pooja 18 August 2011 at 12:45 Permalink

      Hi there,

      I just came across your post and I extremely sorry to hear about it.

      Please can you e-mail me your name and phone number to and I will see what we can do for you.

      I am sorry once again

      Best Regards,
      (Lebara Customer Service)

  62. Allen Peters 30 June 2011 at 14:14 Permalink

    I grew up in the UK and now live in Germany. Looking for a pay-as-you-go card to slip into my unlocked LG Mobile phone whilst visiting family in the UK, I stumbled across Lebara. I bought my Lebara Sim card for 5 Pounds in a mobile phone shop – Topped Up 20 Pounds in a neighbouring shop and away I went.

    4p/min to talk to German landline is unbeatable. My Father only has a mobile, so calling him from Germany is quite dear. I have left the card in the UK with him and he has put it into an unlocked phone – now I let his mobile ring – he sees my number and phones me back through the Lebara card. Saves me loads and works fine.

    My father lives in Essex near the Coast – Connection was always brilliant. Once or twice in 2 weeks there was a kind of scratchy noise whilst phoning, but hanging up and phoning right back did the trick.

    I didnt have to phone up customer services so I cant say anything about that – but for me its a great service at a great price – hope we had that kind of thing in Germany – we dont – so ill just stick to the way it is now. I can still pay the costs by topping up through the net.

  63. Diane 29 June 2011 at 12:18 Permalink

    hi i have jst bought a lebara sim card and having it be the same coverage of vodafone, does that mean that i can pop the sim card into my Vodafone Locked Phone and it will work, without having me to pay £15 to get it unlocked in the high street. thanks…

Leave a Reply