Mobile Network
Comparison

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

LycaMobile

LycaMobile is a virtual network operated by LycaTel. It was launched in 2006 and specialises in cheap international calls from mobiles. As a result, it has proved to be very popular amongst expatriate customers and signed up 1.6 million UK customers in its first year. Now, it has more than 6 million PAYG customers worldwide, connects over 2.5 million calls every day and has £1.1 billion revenue. It generates a total of 3 billion minutes of calls per year. LycaMobile operates on the O2 and Orange networks in the UK.

Free SIM

Get your free SIM here or, alternatively, click the image below:

LycaMobile review

LycaMobile is a specialist international carrier but, surprisingly, it’s still very competitive on domestic rates. UK mobiles are only 10p per minute while UK texts are 9p each. Amazingly, LycaMobile also offer UK landline calls at only 3p per minute and free voicemail too.

However, the real reason you would use LycaMobile is if you make lots of international calls. They offer incredible 1p/minute rates to tons of countries such as India, China, South Africa, Nigeria, New Zealand, Australia, Hong Kong, Pakistan and Egypt. However, you should check whether the countries you need to call are good value on LycaMobile.

LycaMobile now runs on the O2 network and coverage is generally fine. They also have a useful online account management feature. Although the customer services call centre is located in India, it does have the benefit of being multilingual. Unfortunately, LycaMobile currently don’t offer any MMS services at all which is frankly shocking. The rates for 0870 and 0800 numbers are also astronomical.

The main problem with LycaMobile is that the offers are very misleading and that there are tons of hidden charges. For example, although it advertises free internet, this is capped at only 10MB per day and is 2G only so no fast 3G speeds. Even worse, LycaMobile claim that calls to LycaMobile Plus numbers are completely free. However, this only applies to LycaMobile Plus numbers in non-UK countries and there’s actually a 15p flat connection fee for these calls. If that’s not bad enough, they are also limited to 30 minutes in length otherwise you’ll get charged extra. As you can see, it’s incredibly misleading to claim (in capitals, no less) that these calls are “free”. The tariff is also incredibly difficult to understand. Thankfully, we’ve done a great job at deciphering it and you can read about the details of the new LycaMobile Plus tariff later in this review.

Overall, LycaMobile offers a good service at a very cheap rate as long as you fully understand all of the pricing scheme and the total you’ll be charged. They have good customer service and charge fair rates for UK calls and texts. Their 3p/minute price for UK landlines is amazing and their cheap international calls to several countries is rather useful to many people. Just be sure to thoroughly read our pricing summary below and check the rates that apply to you before signing up.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

Calls: 10pTexts: 9p Data: 15p/MBMMS: n/a0800: 15p0870: 25p

Details

LycaMobile used to offer a service on Orange using 075 numbers but has now phased that out and only offers its new LycaMobile Plus tariff that uses 074 numbers and the O2 network. The rates can be quite confusing but we’ve done our best to explain them clearly below.

As previously mentioned, LycaMobile Plus hasn’t got the best UK rates, but offers amazingly cheap international calls and texts. Still, UK calls are very reasonable at 10p/minute and texts are only 9p each. LycaMobile Plus really offers something special on its UK landline rates though – at only 3p/minute it’s cheaper than even the best value budget networks such as Giffgaff and Tesco Mobile. LycaMobile also give each customer 10MB of data each day free.

Of course though, the best aspect of the LycaMobile Plus tariff is found when looking at the international rates. International texts start from 2p each and calls vary from 1p/minute to Europe to 4p/minute to the US and Canada. There are also 1p/minute rates to some countries. However, you should bear in mind that these are only the lowest rates – most countries will cost a lot more. Also, the call rates to mobile numbers are much higher than to landlines and most texts are 10p not 2p.

Deals

LycaMobile Plus offers tons of deals but be sure to read the relevant small-print before signing up. They offer free minutes and texts when topping up but these only work to UK LycaMobile Plus numbers. However, for £5 you do get 150 minutes and 150 texts and for £30 you get a massive 2000 minutes and 2000 texts. These allowances last for a month and afterwards calls to UK LycaMobile Plus numbers cost 7p per minute.

LycaMobile also advertise that if you call LycaMobiles in other countries, the call is completely free. While the deal is still quite good, it’s not exactly “free”. In actuality, you can call for a single 15p connection fee but the call can only last for 30 minutes otherwise you’ll start being charged the standard rate. Still, this is good value for the participating countries.

Another deal on offer is LycaMobile Favourites. This gives you 2000 international minutes to call your favourite 3 numbers for £10 per month. Finally, LycaMobile offer bundles that give you, for example, 250 UK mobile and landline minutes for £10 or 800 UK mobile and landline minutes for £20. You can also buy bundles of cheap international minutes to selected countries.

Price comparison

To compare LycaMobile’s latest pricing with that of other networks, please see our conclusive price comparison page.

Coverage

Summary

2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 80%

Coverage map

LycaMobile runs on the Orange network but the new LycaMobile Plus tariff is only on O2. Please see the our LycaMobile coverage page to learn the network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.

Rating

Give your own rating to LycaMobile below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.0/5 (52 votes cast)
LycaMobile, 3.0 out of 5 based on 52 ratings
by Jon M

87 Responses to “LycaMobile”

  1. Joe 29 November 2011 at 19:34 Permalink

    While the coverage is the same as O2 it has proved impossible to set up any of my many phones to use data.I’ve made 3 calls to Lyca to confirm that data is activated, and they assure me that it is.
    The APN they supply for Android phones does not work, and cannot even be properly entered as given.This seems to stem from the fact that the card is “Roaming”.
    Those sent by text to Nokia phones do not work either, and nor do any of the O2 APNs.
    As such it is not possible to use data on Lycamobile in the UK, whether free or not, and as such I cannot recommend them.
    I am not novice and am pretty sure that they are fibbing when they say data is enabled, it would be too much of a coincidence that all 5 of my phones did not work with just this one service!
    I’d love to know if anyone has got data to work on the Orange San Francisco/ ZTE blade or any Android phone.
    Lyca have not bothered to reply to emails, and although the call centre staff seem to try, it just does not work.

    Dissapointing

    • No Problem 20 January 2012 at 15:45 Permalink

      It’s strange, I never had a problem when I was in England. I’ve got a Samsung Galaxy running Android and it was pretty easy for me to set up and call home. What version of Android were you running? I know that versions before Gingerbread had some serious problems with anything in general.

      • Joe 21 January 2012 at 20:04 Permalink

        @NoProblem I was (am) running 2.2 (also tried on 1.6) and on several old Nokias. Always showed the roaming symbol and simple blanked the APN when entered as shown on their site, the combination of MNC and MCC simply seemed “wrong” for the base network (02) and would not be accepted. I notice that the reference to internet is sort of “hidden” on the site (or at least hard to find) 1.6 and 2.2 you can’t leave them blank, if you put in the MNC and MCC they suggest, it blanks on saving the APN, and if you put in O2′s , it just doesn’t work! Still got the card though so if you know what works, i’ll give it a try.

    • Angie 17 October 2013 at 23:04 Permalink

      I purchased a Lycamobile sim and was told a few days after having it that they blocked by Simcard randomly for suspected fraud. The stupid reason for the bar was due to my frequent top-ups over a short span of time. Obviously furious as I had’t committed any fraud the supervisor insisted to prove this and get my number unblocked that I send them a utility bill which I did.

      When I called them back to check progress another supervisor then said oh btw we now need a picture or scanned copy of the front of my physical bank card or if I don’t I would not get a refund and would loose all my credit. I ran a mile and told them where to go at this point.

      There was no discretion and all they seem to do is read from a script and repeat themselves.

      Do not go with Lycamobile or if you need to make sure you top up by voucher in cash and not card as they are not to be trusted and act like fraudsters!!!

  2. Abdul Hashim 17 December 2011 at 01:58 Permalink

    I was with Lyca mobile by they have lots of hidden charges. The service in general and customer service is crap, no wonder they’re so cheap!

    • James 20 January 2012 at 16:21 Permalink

      I had thought the same thing until I checked Lyca’s FAQ site, it’s all there, laid out there pretty well to. I’ll include the link

      http://www.lycamobile.co.uk/faq/en

    • riz 18 August 2012 at 02:14 Permalink

      u r right this is crap . its been 4 months things were ok . I was making intentional calls.Then there was no need to make those call and now just checking email n using viber and receiving call on talk tone cost me pounds.When im asking the same Q that ru u cutting for all these no reply.

  3. Arthur 19 December 2011 at 23:18 Permalink

    Hi joe don’t waste your time and effort you will not get data to work on their network they lie they don’t provide Internet I tried for weeks to get my Htc desire to work I’m not a novice doesn’t matter what I did it wouldn’t they kept saying they had problems it would be fixed next day work so I left they wouldn’t give me a pack code took me 1 week to finally get it complete con men

    • mahim ghoshall 13 January 2012 at 13:29 Permalink

      1 week to get your pac code? they wouldnt give it to me at all so i just gave up, i only got this sim cos my mum got one then realised the whole 074 and 075 thing and got caught out with there whole cross network calling charge

  4. Joe 20 December 2011 at 12:45 Permalink

    @ Arthur,
    Many thanks, did begin to wonder if it was just me. As you say, it seems to be a total con. I got it for my daughter as she only needs a few MB a day, never ever worked on any phone.

    Moved to Dialog-Vizz now and it works with no trouble at all including the 10Mb/day, so to anybody else reading, at the moment Lyca is not really worth the bother.

    Will re-post if it changes.

    Joe

    • mahim ghoshall 13 January 2012 at 13:23 Permalink

      i got there internet to work on an old nokia 8600 luna via gprs so it does work but it does drop the connection quite a bit which hasnt happened on any other network sim ive used in it

  5. Sony 29 December 2011 at 15:08 Permalink

    When I ring friends who have Lyca mobile phones I am charged 25.5p min. Which is excluded from my free calls bundle. Because 0740 numbers (Lyca) are non STD !!!!!! Why is this??????

    • Mobile Network Comparison 30 December 2011 at 11:02 Permalink

      What network are you currently on?

      • mahim ghoshall 13 January 2012 at 13:21 Permalink

        i think its because 074 is lycamobile and numbers beginning 075 are lycamobile plus which means they are different tariffs, so calling from an 074 number to an 075 even though they are both lycamobile would mean you are cross network calling sneaky i know but i learnt the hard way

  6. steve zeus 24 January 2012 at 02:16 Permalink

    Mahim,
    I think you will find that the 074 is the new Lycamobile Plus which is cheaper than the old 075 lyca standard which is being phased out

  7. Li 20 March 2012 at 00:34 Permalink

    Topping up your lycamobile incurs an extra £2. This charge is not reflected until you have finalised your payment. Beware, this happen to me when I topped up my line using my debit card. Never again will I use this method. Day light robbery.

    • Rahman 5 August 2013 at 16:41 Permalink

      One of the worse phone service ever seen, yes this is day light robbery.. i have bought unlimited plan by paying $59.00 after a week start saying 0 balance. ia m not able call anywhere. called them, those stupid ass people every time they raise ticket and saying will be resolved soon but it never happen,…it’s been a week. i am totally screwed.

      please don’t use this cheating phone line ever.

  8. Stevie 20 March 2012 at 01:21 Permalink

    They have never charged me infact if you top up on line they give you an extra £1……so top up by £5 you get £6

  9. Li 21 March 2012 at 00:09 Permalink

    Comparing with O2 international pay as you go sims, a £10 top up gets you additional benefits such as free unlimited UK texts and 500 mins calls to either UK landlines or O2 mobiles within a month. Also, O2 international call rates are slightly cheaper and much clearer than those of Lycamobile.

  10. Stevie 21 March 2012 at 18:02 Permalink

    I only use my lycamobile for international calls to Turkey 1p per minute….great value.

  11. JOHN 23 March 2012 at 17:01 Permalink

    biggest waist of my money. WILL NOT WORK OVER SEAS!!!

  12. Stevie 24 March 2012 at 00:23 Permalink

    It’s not cost effective to use overseas anyway because of the roaming charges, I think it’s over £2 per minute abroad. I only use it in the u.k to ring abroad,and phone our friends when in the u.k.as Lyca to Lyca are free, so is voice retreival and uk calls are only 5p per minute to land line or mobile. when we go to our holiday home in Turkey I have a Turkish Voda phone to ring back to the U.K. that only works out at 20 Kurs per minute, so works well for us.

  13. Ferdi Ay 25 June 2012 at 17:31 Permalink

    Lacamobile’s call rates are good but the service or the actual aims is zero and cheat.

    I bought a sim card and top it up with 20 Euro, 2 months later the sim card was defect, no coverage. I called customer service and I was advice to buy new sim card 2.50 Euro and call the customer service to swap the sim and that if i load 10 Euro credit that I will get the 2.50 Euro for the new sim back plus 300 mb internet free. So, i bought new sim and did exactly as I was instruct. After the swap I top up 10 Euro and my old sim card credit and the new one was merged together but the 2.50 Euro was not refund also, to my greatest surprise 5.81 Euro was cut from my credit 30 minutes later, I called customer service and I was told I will get the 2.50 Euro plus 5.81 Euro back, I waited for two weeks without any refund then I called again and I was told they can not make any refund. first, that i did not top up? I gave them my top up date and the card seri a number, then they say i top up on the new sim card that I should have top up on the old sim? then I ask how could i top up on defect sim? then they say I should have wait 3 days before top up that i top up before the swap? I then explained again how i bought new sim card and call for swap after swap then i top up and my both credit showed my both balance together and that had it been i top up before the swap my old credit wouldn’t be together? Again if we were to agree that i top up on the sim card which I am still using so why Lycamobile then charging me for data service because i was supposed to get 300 mb for free as I top up 10 Euro then the phone went dead.

    I called again and I was told to wait for 24 hours that the both 2.50 Euro and 5.81 Euro will be refund so, I am still waiting.
    Really, Lycamobile is not efficient or they have cheat in their blood so be careful or you should be ready to wast your money and time! I wouldn’t recommend it except their aims are straight forward.

  14. Jaffa 26 June 2012 at 10:48 Permalink

    yeh, lycamobile is one of the worst mobile phone networks, only use them for international calls, otherwise they are just a scam

  15. Jaffa 26 June 2012 at 11:13 Permalink

    Lycamobile are barstard, shit company they gave me enough trouble, so much headache its not worth mentioning plus the money i lost on top-ups.

    DONT USE LYCAMOBILE AND TELL EVERYONE ELSE ALSO NOT TO USE LYCA

  16. Chauhan 29 June 2012 at 21:09 Permalink

    The worst mobile server I ever used and even worst customer service.
    They coverage is poor and on top of that so many hidden charges. When you contact their customer service they keep you on hold for ages and than always come up with some unjustified explanation. They never accept your claim and no refund at all. I’m done with it,you make your choice.

  17. Stevie 20 August 2012 at 23:16 Permalink

    I rang a land line in Turkey today, and also my mates Turkish mobile from the U.k, I had £12:00p credit before I started, and talked for seemed ages to both, anyway re-checked my credit after the call now have £11:90p left, can’t fault that, and haven’t topped up since Xmas 2012.

  18. stevo 18 April 2013 at 04:46 Permalink

    i have been waiting 72 hours to get my old number to be ported from optus, lyca have sent the wrong information to optus twice,I have spent over 5 hours on hold being cut off after long holding periods many times and have sent three unanswered help e mails, number still not ported. Lyca! don’t do it its a fu@%#ng nightmare.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 18 April 2013 at 14:19 Permalink

      Are you planning to stick with them when it’s all sorted? Why did you choose them in the first place? And what have they said when you’ve reminded them of their legal obligations with regard to number port timescales?

  19. Shimul 7 May 2013 at 09:33 Permalink

    Hi, layca mobile so bad, don’t take this plan, if u face any problem, thay will not help u , if u call thay will tall u it’s take 24 hrs u call u get same answer 24 hours problem never gone be okay. If u don’t trust me get it.. I request them I want keep my previous phone number they take 7 days , after that I was unable to receive call from call phone, land phone was ok , I call Lycamobile customer care so far 10 days they didn’t fix problem… I call them everyday that don’t care same answer its take 24 hrs more, I talk to many layca mobile advisor .. Mark, Jonson some other people….sorry for that so bad they are … My lyca mobile number was 323 416 0934 thanks lyca mobile .. U didn’t give service i don’t want somebody get same problem like me…

  20. shazia 12 May 2013 at 13:33 Permalink

    Crap, liars, not happy with them at all , very dissapointed, need to make an official complaint .

  21. Bella 16 May 2013 at 09:22 Permalink

    I am having problem my sim card its not registering any network on it,i can’t make calls or text but it normally works perfect!what could be the problem or how do i solve the problem its been 3days now.Tried to put other sim cards in the same phone but it works with no problem,so frustrating

  22. Bella 18 May 2013 at 19:01 Permalink

    I tried is not working?Used it in the morning it worked made some few calls with no problem now it has stopped working saying not registered on network,basically its just playing up!pls help what do i do to solve this network problem on my sim

    • Mobile Network Comparison 20 May 2013 at 13:11 Permalink

      If the SIM doesn’t work in any phone it’s probably damaged. You’ll have to call Lyca and get them to send a replacement. Please keep us updated with how you get on.

  23. Bella 18 May 2013 at 19:03 Permalink

    meant tried in another phone but its not working same network problem,how do i solve this network problem on my simcard?So stressing and boring with out my phone!

  24. Jay Hapless 1 June 2013 at 13:08 Permalink

    I have had no issues with Lyca so far except for internet and number portability with 3 network. The rates are cheap and reliable and I have had network coverage available even in the remotest places in England, where 3, orange, and T did not have coverage. If Lyca offered 3G internet I would never leave Lyca.

  25. Vee 24 June 2013 at 01:12 Permalink

    I have a very strong mixed feelings about Lyca. But I know for sure their customer service was rubbish. They drop calls whilst you are on the phone with them. I gave them a hard time about that. The network was often good but frequently bad. Their website service is good, so no complaint there. The rates were fine too. They charged me money when I surpassed 3GB of data but they say their service is unlimited. I honestly would not recommend them as your reliable solution. I had issues to port my number over to them but they gladly passed the buck on someone else, but I knew they were lying about it. I had a hard time to get a PAC code from them, but now its all the past. I do NOT recommend Lyca.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 25 June 2013 at 00:28 Permalink

      Thanks for sharing. What was their excuse for charging you when you’d already paid for “unlimited” data? And can you go into a bit more detail about your issues trying to port away from them? For example, did you involve Ofcom?

  26. GILLIAN 5 July 2013 at 13:35 Permalink

    I purchased a Toggle (owned by Lyca Mobile)sim for my mobile (Samsung Galaxy Note), for use when I was on vacation in Spain in June. I did not need a UK number just a Spanish mobile number but was told I had to have one. I only needed it for 2 weeks but thought the rates and the fact that I had the number before I went sounded great. I paid £20 (credit), which I thought would be plenty for 2 weeks. I did not call any international numbers and I am a low user of data. After 2 days my credit was virtally gone. What I didn’t realise was that it was using the UK number and not the Spanish number, so charging me roaming. They told me I had to choose the Spanish number (manual toggle)in order to use it. I tried several times but the Spanish number never worked. I told them this but they kept insisting it was working. The call centre in India I found very frustrating, half the time I couldn’t understand what they were saying (due to their accent). My parter tried to call me on my Spanish number from his Spanish number several times but it wouldn’t connect. In the end I just gave up with them, I wish I had never seen the flyer and used them in the first place. Best advice don’t bother with this company/sim, useless!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 5 July 2013 at 13:42 Permalink

      What’s the advertised procedure for toggling to the Spanish number?

      • GILLIAN 5 July 2013 at 14:05 Permalink

        I did not see any instruction that I had to do this. All it told me was to register the Spanish number once I reached Spain, which I did. When I realised that my credit had disappeared,I was told that I had to select Toggle then Manual, then select Spain. Which I did but it still didn’t work either receiving calls or making them. I felt the instructions were very poor or non-existant on their website. They should have had information on their website or sent me an email for a step by step process on how to use the Spanish number before I left for Spain. I thought that £20 would have been plenty going on what I use a month (calls and data) through my provider 02 here in the UK. What I also didn’t realise is because we didn’t have Wi-Fi in the apartment (Spain), all the time I was using mobile data which chewed up the credit in no time. Hopefully, next year roaming charges will be sorted (as mentioned in the press) and not expensive as they are now, then I can just use my 02 connection, plus for any data download such as reading The Mail newspaper on my mobile, I will wait till I have Wi-fi connection. Also, I realised you need to shut off softwear upgrades too until you are connected to Wi-fi. Live and learn!

        • Mobile Network Comparison 5 July 2013 at 14:11 Permalink

          Stay tuned as we have an article about EU roaming rates coming up soon. We also usually recommend to buy a local SIM when travelling for cheap calls/texts/data.

          • GILLIAN 5 July 2013 at 14:18 Permalink

            I think the answer is to keep an old phone that can only make/receive calls and texts so no data involved. Buy a local sim and use an internet cafe to check your emails (50 cents 30 mins)once a week or whatever! Buy the Sunday newspaper to catch up on the news! :-)

            • Mobile Network Comparison 5 July 2013 at 14:22 Permalink

              It should only be one simple setting to turn off all roaming data. What phone do you have?

              • GILLIAN 5 July 2013 at 14:42 Permalink

                I HAVE A SAMSUNG G-NOTE II. YES I THINK ITS ON THE POP UP SCREEN WHERE POWER OFF, DATA NETWORK MODE, FLIGHT MODE IS. THE PROBLEM IS YOU DON’T NEED TO USE IT WHEN YOU ARE IN THE UK, OR I DON’T AT LEAST AS I AM NOT A BIG USER OUT OF THE HOUSE (WIFI ACCESS). SO NOT USED TO SWITCHING IT OFF/ON ON A REGULAR BASIS.

                • Mobile Network Comparison 5 July 2013 at 15:01 Permalink

                  The point is if you go to Mobile network settings there’s an option to turn off Data roaming which allows you to use data in the UK but prevents you from using it overseas.

        • Mobile Network Comparison 5 July 2013 at 14:12 Permalink

          Also, all Android phones should automatically block data roaming by default so that you don’t need to turn off background data services.

  27. Spike 7 July 2013 at 15:23 Permalink

    Could be a good network for people calling abroad. I got a Sim to used in my tablet which is a waste of time. No 3g access and no reply from customer services. I would recommend using them if you are going on holiday but nothing else. Why even offer data services in this day and age on 2g only

  28. Daisy 22 July 2013 at 18:34 Permalink

    The company is very fishy and dishonest. I used the 2 cents per minute pay as you go plan and when I recharged $50 to my account the system automatically signed me up for the $39 monthly plan. I found out when they texted me saying”my plan is going to expire and needs to be renewed.” I called the customer service three times and explained what was wrong. I was always told their manager/supervisor would call me back with a solution. However, they never called. I called back and was told the same thing “They can not do anything about it. The only thing they can do is to take my account off the $39 plan now.” This is a ridiculous solution. Stay away from this business. You’ll be trapped for sure.

  29. denisfry 1 August 2013 at 11:09 Permalink

    lycamobile is great ,,
    put £10 on ,got £12 ,texted my wife in russia from france many times , when i got back ,,had £12.50
    NICE ,,

    • Mobile Network Comparison 1 August 2013 at 11:19 Permalink

      How did you end up with more credit?

      • denisfry 1 August 2013 at 12:59 Permalink

        i do not know ,
        but i do know ,if it was tesco ,they would not send the texts ,and charge me ,plus money is soon gone..

  30. denisfry 1 August 2013 at 11:13 Permalink

    if you wish to use data ,, use GIFFGAFF
    3GB ,FOR £12,,
    And you can use data in france ,if you have some cash credit ,i use it for skype ,not cheap ,but always seems to work ,

  31. denisfry 1 August 2013 at 14:42 Permalink

    321 ,BY 3. Interesting ,BUT ,i think 1p per meg = £1 per 100 meg ,
    thats £10 per gig. i think ,
    thanks anyway ,

  32. funmi 13 August 2013 at 11:38 Permalink

    beware of fraud when using lycamobile make you know what you want and they did not admit they are fraud when you topup by online no message telling you it was successful but when you want your money back they will tell you it was in your phone but I think when you buying something with your bank card the money suppose to go strait to your account when you are asking for refound

  33. Louise 15 August 2013 at 14:36 Permalink

    I have an iPhone 5 and i can just say lycamobile is really hitting my last nerve. I can’t recive or make calls anytime i want, I can’t contact customer service or send texts even when at the top it says i am connected to my service. I have decided to move to T-mobile as their network seems to be working best for iPhone.

  34. Sonam 21 August 2013 at 17:27 Permalink

    hi
    I m having a lycamobile sim. LYCAMOBILE SUKS. Very bad service not able to recharge online. when you do call to customercare they give you the refrence number again and agian but not any solution.if u want to recharge your number online their site gives you error always and customer care says just go to retailer and recharge through voucher. And in starting lycamobile gives you very good plans but after 2 months thel ii change the plan and upgrade the price.

    SO PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE LYCAMOBILE SIM.

  35. denisfry 21 August 2013 at 18:34 Permalink

    i never purchase sims ,get many free

  36. Shaz 1 October 2013 at 20:54 Permalink

    I have been with lyca mobile now for 2 months , i have had nothing but problems, at first it was fine i could top up online but then for some reason i couldnt and i rang lyca once twice three four 8 times, i emailed them 4 times and the problem is still not resolved, they told me to register my card which i did, they asked me to add auto top up which i did , they told me auto top up woudln’t be actioned this month but it automatically came off my card , but hey , i have 7.00 credit for 3 days and it keeps tellig me i have no credit when i try to make a call, i ring again and some girl fobs me off, wait a day and i can make calls using the credit they took from my account but i couldnt use it for 3 days , i tried to top up as they told me that my card would be blocked temp becuase i trie to use it on line and it didnt go through but registering the card would sort it and the problem would be resolved after this, but it wasnt, i rang back they siad give it 48 hours.its now 5 days and i still cant top up!! i cant say i would reccommend them to anyone even if i was paid .

  37. Austin 2 October 2013 at 21:39 Permalink

    If you’re on any of lyca mobile international bundle, please check details of the tariff again before u renew it as they change the tariffs without communicating with their exiting customers on any changes they’re making, you’ld have bought it before realising that what u’re paid for is not what u’re getting. I call them (lycamobile) bunch of liars, deceiver, never consistent and never reliable. This sort of company should not be allowed to operate in the UK.

  38. Oleg 12 October 2013 at 21:36 Permalink

    1. It took 26 hours from bying SIM card to getting Internet working. Apparently they had some issues on their side, but before I learned that I spent few hours trying to figure out what I’m doing wrong with settings

    2. In Germany numbers look like 49 xxx xxx xx xx, and their website form for registration is one character short! It is designed for UK numbers that one digit shorter. I told them about this problem via website feedback form, and they emailed me back asking to call them because they don’t understand what I’m talking about.

    3. Although they advertise multilanguage customer support, when you call 322 all menus are in German and there is no way for non-German speaking person to figure out how to get through.

  39. OnTheGo 15 October 2013 at 16:32 Permalink

    Here goes my story with LycaMobile (.ie).

    Friend gave me SIM card, so I said to myself, why to bother and research all the options here, lets just go for Lyca. I activated SIM, but could not top it up online with any of my credit cards. Form available on LycaMobile.ie simply does not expect someone from other country (though cross-country bussiness is core of Lyca) and my cards are rejected (“probably I am providing address that do not exist in Ireland”, that is what support said. Well, yes, my banks are outside of Ireland, why then should I provide Irish address?).

    Ok, so I bought 20EUR top up in Spar, happy that I am about to connect to Internet. I am traveling a lot, and carry multiple devices with me, wanted to use a phone as a central place for all those devices to access internet. Then I realized only phone has the access to the network, rest of the devices – not at all. I checked Terms&Conditions, and yes, they do state that they do not wish my device to share internet connection.

    I just paid for data bundle, why they even care if I check my mail on mobile or on my laptop?

    Simply, I feel fooled and cheated, forced to read all the small notes under the product. You can’t just trust a seller nowadays. I warn all of those who want to share mobile internet to many other devices.

  40. mubin 16 October 2013 at 16:55 Permalink

    this is a service provider who claims they are providing best deals to internationaly . thats why i use lyca more than 6 months , i paid 39 pounds in A month for international calling to bangladesh. but without any notice or even a sms they are not providing that one right now instead they giving 3000 uk mins which is quite unnecessery.coz all know they are marketing as best int service provider.
    quite shoked

  41. Agnieszka 14 November 2013 at 15:40 Permalink

    I used to use SIM based services for cheap international calls being an expat living in the UK, I would have a second SIM in an old nokia phone that I used solely for calling home. Until I discovered an app for making cheap calls that can be used straight from a smartphone – it’s just so much more convenient. I’d like to recommend Vyke, they offer very low rates and great quality service. Calls can be made either via WiFi or mobile data (using the inclusive free local minutes) so it’s totally a mobile service. The app works on iPhone and Android as far as I know (friend uses it on a Samsung phone). Go check it out people

  42. Calico 3 December 2013 at 09:37 Permalink

    Lycamobile is pure fraud. DONT USE THIS SERVICE. I purchased internet bundle so that i can navigate my way through London. The service only worked for two hours. I have made repeated calls to customer service but each time all i get is a reference number and a promise to fix the problem. My time in London is up and problem is not fixed, neither did i get my money back. THIS IS A TOTALLY FRAUDULENT SERVICE. PLEASE KEEP OFF.

  43. Phil 27 December 2013 at 10:38 Permalink

    BEWARE of this company for their advertising is not that clear. Its easy to assume that a package will provide call minutes and texts, but this is often not the case. You may have to buy several packages if you want data, calls and txts to another country and the cost is no longer cheap – in fact it can be very expensive. Also be aware of their autotop up function, if you dont want them to automatically deduct from your bank account every month, you need to check a box, and even then, they send you a message to say that they will
    Lastly, any issues costs to call their customer services, even if its their fault and their issue, you still have to pay !!!
    If you just want to call back home cheaply, then its OK

  44. mike 28 December 2013 at 16:10 Permalink

    fuck of lyca mobile, worst company i have ever seen in my life
    Be away from this, otherwise u have to cry…

  45. danyboy 2 February 2014 at 12:39 Permalink

    I used lyca and lebara for international calls mainly, but problem for me was really bad coverage and bad call quality. Even lyca using O2, they have a worst signal than O2. Now I am using simplecall mobile, and for me is great. UK prices are good, 5p for sms, 4p for mobile, and 3 for landline,and you have free calls in same network. They are using Orange and I have good reception, International prices are good too, I am calling Serbia ( South East Europe) a lot and for landlines price is 13p,for example lyca, lebara are 9p, but I have much better call quality with simplecall. The bad thing there is no standard bundles, so this company is good for someone who dont use mobile a lot, and need cheap international calls. And I forgot to mention they customer service is great. Hope I help somebody.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 4 February 2014 at 11:44 Permalink

      How do you know they have worse signal than O2? This should be impossible…

      • danyboy 4 February 2014 at 23:47 Permalink

        I don’t know how, but that how is. I was comparing O2,lyca, and giffgaff, and I live in SW London, and here is signal for O2 good, not great but really solid, same is with giffgaff, but sometimes it’s happens that on giffgaff signal disappears on few minutes( even Telefonica is 100% owner of O2 and giffgaff) . But with lyca you never know. You see on your mobile there is 2 bars, and someone calling you and you are unavailable. I live with my sister and her boyfriend and they use O2 and giffgaff. If you want to check this you can go to Victoria Station and than you try to call someone with lyca and with giffgaff. I really don’t like big companies like Tmobile, Vodafone,etc, because of that I am using MVNO mobile. And I have researched and find some mobile’s which are not here, I would like to send to administrator of MNC, to put here, because I cant find any review of this mobile’s networks, and maybe someone used them or will use them.

  46. Lee 9 February 2014 at 14:21 Permalink

    Lyca is not good because they cut my sim wrong and made me run around trying to unlock my phone


Leave a Reply