Mobile Network
Comparison

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

Lenovo A820 review

a820-2

Welcome to our Ultimate Lenovo A820 Review :)

Contents

Introduction

A couple of months ago, we had our first taste of the rapidly growing Chinese smart phone market when we managed to get hold of a Lenovo A789. Although they produce a wide range of electronic hardware, Lenovo have yet to release a single mobile phone in the British market and we had to import it directly from China to be able to review it.

Importing phones from China is massively increasing in popularity these days as with the advent of the open source android operating system, it’s possible manufacturers to massively undercut prices for parable handsets available over here. Objectively, most Chinese phones offer unparalleled value from money understandably many consumers have concerns about buying from foreign sellers.

We set out to explore whether these grey market imports are as good buys as they may seem. Today, we’re looking at another imported Chinese phone again manufactured by Lenovo. It’s the A820 which is a newer model than the A789 and comes with the upgraded MT6589 chipset. You can currently buy the A820 for about £100 brand new.

Check out our in-depth video review or read on more information on our verdict about the Lenovo A820.

Specs and performance

a820 antutuAs with most of these phones, the chipset is manufactured by MediaTek and comes with an ARM Cortex A7 MPCore processor. ARM are a British company who make a huge number of low-power CPUs primarily for smart phones such as the iPhone. The chip is clocked at 1.2 GHz, uses a 28nm die shrink and is a powerful quad core model. Also included is a PowerVR SGX544 graphics chip.

There’s no denying that this is a powerful phone, and only the latest and most expensive smart phones will be able to beat it in the performance stakes. We ran several benchmarks on it and using AnTuTu we got scores as high as 13,500. There is no phone available on your even comes closest the at this price range and is about double scorches by the Samsung Galaxy S2 which currently retails over £200 compared to about half that for the A820.

Under the hood, the A820 also comes a hefty 1 GB of RAM and 4 GB of storage along with a Micro SD card expansion port. The screen is a IPS capacitive LCD touchscreeen that supports multi-touch. Coming in at 4.5″ diagonal, it is a comfortable size. However, it certainly does not compare to expensive high res “retina” displays currently available on the most expensive phones. We would certainly like to see at least a 720p resolution on the screen as the pixel density is only about 245ppi.

There’s no front facing camera for video calls and selfies but there is a shiny-looking eight megapixel sensor on the back of the phone. This can also take 720p videos. The phone also includes all the normal connectivity options, radios and senses. It offers wifi, high speed HSPA+ 3G mobile Internet, bluetooth, FM radio and assisted GPS. Of course it also has the usual accelerometer and proximity sensors.

Design and form factor

The phone doesn’t look much different from Lenovo’s other models but feels good in the hand and has a beautiful metallic purple-grey removable back cover. The speaker grilles look very smart and has a nice chamfered rim running around the perimeter of the phone.

The whole package isn’t the most svelte coming in at 135 mm tall by 68 mm wide. However, it is less than 1 cm thick and packs in a powerful 2000 mAh battery even though it weighs only 151 g.

a820 volume

There are only two physical button is on the phone: a volume rocker on the right-hand edge and a power button at the top which is positions next to the micro USB socket and standard 3.5 mm headphone jack.

The rest of the buttons are softkeys at the bottom of the screen which provide menu, home, and back functions. Again, Lenovo have used their trademark cloverleaf symbol instead of the standard “house” home icon. Compared to the A789, we’re glad that they chose the softkey layout they have as it is much more common for Android hardware.

a820 soft keys

Software and Android Jelly Bean

a820 dock widgetThe Lenovo A820 comes running Jelly Bean – the latest version of Android. This is a massive pro-as in our opinion, Android has grown with massive leaps and bounds in recent updates and Jelly Bean offers considerable advantages over previous iterations.

Our A820 arrived with only a Chinese language operating system installed, but it was simple enough – after wrestling with USB drivers – to flash a new recovery partition and install an English ROM complete with all the regular Google apps available in the UK.

In fact, the installer we used was pretty flashy and allows you to customise many aspects of your installation including which launcher and additional software to have automatically installed and even to choose whether to include Lenovo branding or not (although either way Lenovo customises several of the icons to fit in with its round aesthetic). This is an excellent feature that should really be available all phones in this day and age.

As a result of this, you aren’t lumped with loads of annoying Lenovo bloatware and end up pretty much with stock Android. This is awesome as any Cyanogenmod user knows. The only apps we chose to use were the excellent power monitor with quick access to different battery saving profiles and Lenovo’s useful widget in the notification dock that gives you quick and easy access to many common features and functions of your phone.

Lenovo have not used the stock Android camera app but what they’re offering is actually a bit of an improvement with easy access to information about common settings such as white balance, exposure compensation and ISO. A great feature is that you can use the volume buttons as a shutter action to take photos when holding the phone in landscape orientation. The camera also includes a built-in HDR mode which seems to work okay.

a820 lock notificationA pleasing aspect of the launcher is a really cool feature where notifications such as texts and missed calls automatically appear on your lock screen and can be accessed instantly simply by dragging them to the unlock icon. This can save quite a lot of time compared to unlocking your phone and then navigating to the appropriate app that will open the notification. The phone has a nice light-coloured theme which is easily customisable.

Overall, if you’ve used Jelly Bean you know what to expect. It’s probably the best operating system currently available for any phone and introduced some seemingly minor features which actually make a huge difference to productivity. For example, notifications are now expandable and retractable with single-finger swipes to provide as much information as you require and, of course, it already includes all the additions already introduced in Ice Cream Sandwich.

Another new feature of Jelly Bean is the Google Now personal assistant. While it still has some niggles and isn’t useful for all purposes, it usually outperforms Apple’s Siri and can be a real timesaver in many circumstances. More and more features are being added and it is already well integrated with other apps available in the Android ecosystem.

Android is especially powerful due to its ability to share information between any of its apps and display constantly updating information on your home screen through its extensible use of on-screen widgets. It also benefits from Google’s Project Butter which makes the whole interface silky smooth with no perceptible jerkiness or lag.

Using the phone

a820 storageWe’ve been carrying the A820 around with us for about two weeks now and have not encountered any major problems. In actual fact, it’s been a real pleasure to use and offers a great on-screen keyboard and excellent clarity in the call quality.

With the processing power crammed into this handset, we found it handles most tasks with ease and can even play intense 3D action games without breaking a sweat at all. We did have to use our Micro SD card though as we found that 4 GB of internal storage ran out very quickly and in fact was barely enough to install some of the most memory intensive games from the Play Store.

We were little disappointed by the quality of photos taken especially as the phone boasts an eight megapixel camera. We don’t know for sure, but wouldn’t be surprised if the sensor was actually a lower resolution than this and the resulting photos are produced by interpolating between pixels in postprocessing. It seems to be a common trend that most Chinese phones don’t have the best camera quality as the manufacturers are equally go for cheaper sensors and optics but the pictures it producers are still pretty good for a phone.

We also found that there are some issues taking videos as the camera tried to autofocus when moving between subjects resulting in some temporary blurriness. Also exposure wasn’t perfect at all times. It would also have been nice to have an LED flash too even though the results are usually far from great. However, these are all common issues with imperfect phone cameras and we have no complaints at all for Lenovo’s decision to keep the price down so low.

2013-09-30 14.20.53

2013-09-30 14.17.12

a820 crop

Using the A820 on a daily basis made us realise how much we appreciate three features of its in particular. The first was the massive battery life. If you are used to a normal smart phone such as an iPhone, you will be well aware that it often barely makes it through a working day. In fact many people carry their charger with them everywhere they go and we always ensure that we have a couple of spare batteries in our bag in case our phone dies before we make it back home again.

It may have made the phone a bit bulkier than some of its competitors, but we love the fact that Lenovo have included a 2000 mAa battery that easily lasts 24 hours. If you you’re going out for long night after work and need it to last longer, the flexible power saving options mean it’s easily possible to get two or three days usage out of the phone.

Even better than that, Lenovo have again included a fantastic feature that we’ve missed since ditching our Nokia 3210 many, many years ago. The phone can be set to automatically power on and off at certain times of the day and even on particular days of the week. This makes it easy set the phone to turn off when you go to sleep on a working day and turn on again just before triggering your morning alarm.

We find this an incredibly useful feature both to prevent you from being woken by notifications in the night and to help eke out the last drops of battery when you’re away from home. Smartphone manufacturers of the world please pay attention: we want to see this feature in more handsets!

a820 battery and power

Of course, as with the A789, by far our favourite feature is the dual SIM capability. There are two normal-sized SIM slots above the and you can actually use both simultaneously. One is 3G capable wjhereas the other is limited to 2G only. However, it is not something that should never cause an issue. It’s perfect for those of you who resent having to carry to phones around all the time and we can really see it coming in use for business users and international travellers in particular.

The SIM management software is superb. You can individually decide which seem to use for all of calls, texts, picture messages, and data usage. So, for example, you could find a cheap data SIM to use for your internet needs whilst getting a better value rolling contract to cover your calls and texts. Alternatively, we can see being fantastically useful when travelling abroad so you can still send and receive texts from your regular phone number but use a local SIM in the 3G slots to provide you with cheap mobile internet without having to shell out for hefty roaming fees. The dual SIM is a fantastic idea and is implemented excellently.

In fact, we found ourselves being continually surprised by how smart the integration of the two SIM cards is. For example, when calling or texting you can simply switch between the currently-active SIMs using a notification bar option. And you can even activate each one individually so you can run each separately, both at once or none at all.

You can colour code each SIM card as you please and Lenovo have set up the dialler and the texting app to make it easy to choose which SIM and which phone number you want to use. The software is even adaptive to how you use your phone so if you tend to call the office with your work number and your friends with your personal number, the phone will automatically pick this up and suggest that you use the appropriate SIM when initiating a call. It also has separate data allowances for each SIM card so you can keep track of your usage individually.

a820 dual :sim: card

Round-up

As ever, when looking at Chinese phones, the main selling points is just how much phone you’re getting for your money. £100 is incredibly cheap for a phone packing in these specs and these features especially as it is running Android Jelly Bean.

This is a phone that’s aimed at the budget end of the market but it means that consumers can get a mid-range phone for much less money than they would otherwise have spent. It certainly doesn’t aim to compete with the iPhone 5S, Samsung Galaxy S4 or HTC One, but then it comes in about five times cheaper than these alternatives.

As you’re buying a phone from abroad, it’s understandable that they are some things to be concerned about. For example, if you’re not happy with flashing your own ROM across, you might want to ensure that the seller has already installed an English operating system on there. Most UK sellers will have done this for you and if you buy from China you can usually pay a small fee to have this done in advance.

If you are importing the phone, another issue to be aware of is customs fees and import duties which can add a surprising amount onto the price especially as you have already probably paid quite a lot for international shipping. Also, you should be aware that even though, of course, you get a warranty, you might end up having to pay return postage to send it back to China to get fixed unless you’re willing to go with a UK-based repair shop should anything unfortunately go wrong.

The Lenovo A820 has some issues with the camera quality and may be a bit bigger than your friends’ latest, flashiest phones. However the positives vastly outweigh the negatives. We’re so glad to have a decent sized battery that easily lasts a full day which really makes a big difference to the usefulness of your phone. After all, how many of you have consciously tried to avoid using internet when you know you’re going to be out for a long while so that you have enough battery at the end of the night to get yourself back home again?

The dual SIM capability is a real revelation if you haven’t used it yet I can make a massive difference if you have to carry around to phones everywhere you go currently. Of course the software is excellent and all the additional features that Lenovo have packed in make this a great companion for day-to-day use.

Overall there is no denying the obvious: this phone beats almost anything else on the market value for money. It has 1 GB of RAM and a quad core processor but still costs just over 100 quid. If you don’t have hundreds and hundreds of pounds to spend on your mobile phone but still want all the bells and whistles of a smartphone without the lag of the cheapo models, this is a great choice to go for. There are a couple of compromises, as they are with any product, but the Lenovo A820 is a great handset and an utter bargain at this price.

Mobile Network Comparison‘s Lenovo A820 rating – 8/10 stars

cons

Main disadvantages

  • It can sometimes come with a Chinese language ROM and the phone is still not available natively on the UK market.
  • Even though the screen size is a comfortable 4.5 inches, it may be a bit bulky for some.
  • The videocamera doesn’t always produce the best results and there’s no LED flash.

pros

Main advantages

  • As with the A789, it offers incomparable value compared to almost any phone available on British high streets
  • Android Jelly Bean – a joy to use.
  • All the power saving features – scheduled on and off, battery profiles and a long-lasting, removable 2000 mAh power cell.
  • The amazing dual SIM ports.
  • A quad core processor and high benchmarks for only about £100.

Have you tried the Lenovo A820 or any other phones imported from China? Would you buy a Chinese phone? And which model should we review next? If you have any questions or comments about this review or about importing mobiles in general, please let us know in the comments below.

Share the Love
Get Free Updates

by Jon M

67 Responses to “Lenovo A820 review”

  1. Job CF 2 October 2013 at 20:18 Permalink

    A well balanced and detailed review.
    Which ROM are you using?

    • Mobile Network Comparison 2 October 2013 at 20:21 Permalink

      Thanks for your comment. We went straight for the most recent version of the Lamba ROM (v2.3.2). It seems that they’ve already released a new version again today. Very impressed with the whole thing, to be honest.

      Please do share the link to our review around and let us know if you have thoughts about the next handset to look at :)

    • Mobile Network Comparison 6 November 2013 at 17:28 Permalink

      Just to let you know our new phone review is freshly publish if you want to check it out and spread the word :)

      http://mobilenetworkcomparison.org.uk/mobile-phones/zopo-zp980/

    • Ronald 22 August 2014 at 19:43 Permalink

      Good review, most of which I fully support. I have the A820 now for 8 months or so and am satisfied. For me sound is not what I hoped for, my iPhone 4 was way better in that regard.
      Dual sim is the only things what gives me a headache at the moment. I van send but can’t reveive text messages. I deleted the original text or sms programm and whatever alternative I try, it doesn’t work. I am using Go SMS Pro now which did the job just fine at first but since a couple of months not anymore. If anyone has suggestions I would be grateful. Flashing the phone is what I am thinking about now but I fear this will leave me with a not working phone if unlucky.

      • Mobile Network Comparison 2 September 2014 at 03:01 Permalink

        What issue do you have with GO SMS?

        • Ronald 3 September 2014 at 15:42 Permalink

          I can send a SMS but cannot receive. Tested this with different friends, my daughter, to no avail.

          • Mobile Network Comparison 3 September 2014 at 15:58 Permalink

            What about other SMS apps?

            • Ronald 3 September 2014 at 17:29 Permalink

              I have tried about half a dozen others; Chomp, hangout are the ones I can remember. All had the same problem. I found an site were other A820 users reported the same problem and someone said it is Android and dual Sim that is the problem not the apps themselves. Hope this helps as far as explantions goes. Otherwise I’ll send you a sms ;-) Thanks a lot for responding thinking about the issue. Really appreciate it. Greetings, Ronald

              • Mobile Network Comparison 3 September 2014 at 18:38 Permalink

                Very strange but glad you got it sorted. Did you also try alternative SIMs/networks?

                • Ronald 3 September 2014 at 19:36 Permalink

                  No,I just used the sim two cards I have, work and private. With neither providers have I had any issues till thisfar. Hold it; just got another SMS from a friend. It shows the name Peter nut when I open the sms again there is no text. Weird isn’t it?
                  I have been thinking about rooting and installing a standard Rom (there wasn’t included when I bought the phone) but are reluctant since I haven’t done this before. Looks fairly complicated and might end up with not working phone alltogether.

                  Greetings, Ronald

  2. Peter 6 October 2013 at 22:51 Permalink

    Great review, helpful for someone considering an A820 purchase. What was the rom installer you used?

  3. Job CF 8 October 2013 at 00:14 Permalink

    Many thanks for this tutorial.
    Loads of A820 users at GiffGaff and many of them are having a go with rooting and often getting into trouble. I will post a link there and at the official Lenovo forum.
    Me?! My A820 is running smoothly but am very tempted. Might have a go when I get another phone.

  4. Job CF 8 October 2013 at 17:45 Permalink

    Don’t know if etotalk ROM is available to download anywhere.
    May be not, because it is a paid service.
    But here is one at Needroom that claims, “This is a multi language mod rom for your Lenovo a820 based on the etotalk rom.”
    http://www.needrom.com/mobile/lenovo-a820-14/
    Some posters there have reported problems.

    My A820 has been running smoothly for over a month now. LeCalendar is in Chinese. Can’t get rid of it. May be it is part of the Lenovo system!
    Could be the way they partitioned it, I can’t find much of the specified 1GB RAM and 4GB ROM.
    Antutu and the app ‘Android Assistant’ report 976.3 MB RAM and 670.1 MB ROM (total)
    ‘Settings’ show:
    Internal Storage: 1.44GB and
    USB storage 2.15GB

    • Mobile Network Comparison 8 October 2013 at 17:57 Permalink

      About the Calendar – that’s just a limitation of the ROM. It seems EtoTalk didn’t manage to remove everything. We take it that the ROM comes with Play Store and no other Chinese apps though?

      As for the discrepancy between the advertised storage/RAM and what you’re getting, it’s a matter of megabytes vs mebibytes. A megabyte (MB) is 1000KB but a mebibyte (MiB) is 1024KB (2^10 due to binary). Hardware manufacturers use megabytes but software usually uses the binary SI prefixes such as mebibytes. So 976.3MB is simply 1000/1024 of 1GiB. Likewise, you won’t get 4GiB of storage but rather, only 4GB. The remainder that isn’t available will be storing the operating system.

      Hope that helps.

  5. Job CF 8 October 2013 at 18:36 Permalink

    I have been confused before because hard drive and other storage manufacturers use decimal and not binary.
    Have not heard about mebibyte before. So thanks for explaining that and the way software calculates.
    Happy to know that my A820 did not loose some of its memory, on its journey, all the way from China :-)

  6. Job CF 8 October 2013 at 18:48 Permalink

    Quote, “About the Calendar – that’s just a limitation of the ROM. It seems EtoTalk didn’t manage to remove everything. We take it that the ROM comes with Play Store and no other Chinese apps though?”

    Looks like the LeCalendar is part of the The pre-installed app Ideafriend for Android. Seems that Ideafriend is also responsible for the dialer, Messaging, Contacts, Call Logs, etc. So might be best to leave it alone.
    Yes, the etotalk ROM came with Play Store and no other Chinese Apps.
    Saw this in the phone:
    EtoTalk Tools
    Root Explorer v2.19, Speed Software Ltd
    File Manager
    Phone > Ideafriend for Android ver. 1.8.259.0320.2cb7f

    • Mobile Network Comparison 8 October 2013 at 18:57 Permalink

      Strange. Although all those aspects were not stock and probably using Ideafriend too, it didn’t seem that the ROM we used had the LeCalendar app as well. Did you dialler etc. look the same as in our review photos and video?

  7. Harry S 13 October 2013 at 18:10 Permalink

    Thanks for the fantastic tutorial, was very benefical to me in installing the Lambda v2.3.3 rom on my A820 as soon as i received the phone.

    The phone has so far been running great only one problem i have encountered and gained no help on is that the mobile data connection does not work! i am on vodafone and i have tried all different APN, and phoned vodafone for ther input still no luck.

    have you had any success or is it that my phone may be dodgy in which case i will just have to make do as i cant send it back now that its been rooted.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 14 October 2013 at 13:22 Permalink

      Glad it helped you get started with the Lambda ROM. How are you finding it in general so far?

      We had no issues getting mobile data to work. Though it’s probably best you test with another SIM and APN settings to check for sure. Have you used the correct SIM slot and can you give some screenshots of your APN screens?

    • Juan Pedro 18 October 2013 at 15:43 Permalink

      I had the same problem. I´ve tried different roms and no issues on mobile data but with Lambda 2.3.x I was unable to use mobile data. In fact, I´m able to create new apn but not to modify nor to delete them, so I think is a rom related problem. Lately I updated to 2.3.4 and I solved the problem with a new apn that did not work on 2.3.3.
      I hope this helps you to solve your problems.

  8. weltysparrow 25 October 2013 at 14:10 Permalink

    Good review. Think you’re being a tiny bit harsh on the non 720p screen and camera issues considering this phone is about half the price of the nearest name brand competitor with similar specs.

    I have one myself and it’s a great phone though I’ve had a few issues with apps crashing presumably due to the ROM not playing nice with something.

    Such is Android . . .

    • Mobile Network Comparison 25 October 2013 at 14:13 Permalink

      We gave much more weight to the incredible value this phone offers in our final summary. But we felt it was worth mentioning these issues so that people would be fully aware of what they are getting with this device and also how it compares to the very top tier of handsets current available.

      How long have you had yours for and are you thinking of upgrading any time soon?

  9. khurram 7 November 2013 at 04:09 Permalink

    thanks for the great review!
    i’ve left few questions on your youtube review about rooting, somethings i wanted to know.

    i also wanna know that if i root this to stock (latest android), would i still have these dual sim feature, sim management and this power scheduling option?

    • Mobile Network Comparison 7 November 2013 at 11:48 Permalink

      Sorry – YouTube is messing around with the comments system at the moment so we can’t reply there at the moment. We don’t think there is a stock ROM working for this phone so we’re not sure that’s even possible for you to do. But all the ROMs we’ve seen do have these two options.

      • khurram 7 November 2013 at 12:20 Permalink

        i just want the default android look, instead of the one they have with icons with curvy edges.. i think in your youtube video you rooted it to a stock looking rom, didn’t you? and which version of android is that, the latest by any chance?

        • Mobile Network Comparison 7 November 2013 at 12:23 Permalink

          The Lambda ROM has options to be close to stock but it certainly isn’t stock Android! Then latest update was quite recent and was Android Jelly Bean 4.1.2 – KitKat won’t be available for a while if at all.

          • khurram 7 November 2013 at 12:45 Permalink

            ahan i see. any way i could maybe see a screenshot of the regular android 4.1.2’s interface (icons, menu etc) and that of lambda’s ?

          • khurram 7 November 2013 at 12:51 Permalink

            oh wait and the lambda rom is 4.1.2 or 4.2? and there’s this one last concern i have.. this phone won’t brick trying to root it, would it? like i remember playing with galaxy without any fear as it just doesnt brick…

            • Mobile Network Comparison 7 November 2013 at 12:56 Permalink

              It’s 4.1.2. It should be safe but we can’t ever completely rule out the possibility that something bad will happen to your phone (especially if you make a mistake). It might be worth buying an already-rooted A820 from Amazon.

              • khurram 10 November 2013 at 05:42 Permalink

                i havent bought from amazon before so this will be my first try. the link you gave me, i clicked on the link ‘12 new from £96.03‘ and that took me to a separate list of vendors.. is it okay (reliable) if i buy from one of those vendors listed there? like the PandoraTrading in that list (on number 3) ?

  10. khurram 7 November 2013 at 04:10 Permalink

    and whats the difference between lenovo a820 and a820c?

    one is cheaper than the other..

    • khurram 7 November 2013 at 04:13 Permalink

      the shop keeper says a820c is for china only and has lesser specs, but he seems to have provided the same specs.. what’s up with that..he won’t answer.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 7 November 2013 at 11:53 Permalink

      The cheaper C version seems to only have a 5MP back camera and an A5 CPU instead of an A7.

      • khurram 7 November 2013 at 12:17 Permalink

        thank you so much, i just found out its also just a dualcore with 512 ram.. most sites didn’t mention that.

  11. Stefan Kwong 17 December 2013 at 01:26 Permalink

    Thanks for the great review. I have purchased and rooted the A820 and it works great, except I found the Personal Hotspot not working now. I am using Lambda 2.3.3. Anyone has the same problem, or any suggestions? Thanks.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 17 December 2013 at 01:27 Permalink

      Did it work fine before? In what was is it no longer working?

      • SK3 17 December 2013 at 01:43 Permalink

        Yes, it worked ok before I install the custom Lambda ROM. Now, it just says it’s “Turning On” after I select the Personal Hotspot via WLAN option. Reboot and try again, and it’s the same.

        • Mobile Network Comparison 17 December 2013 at 02:56 Permalink

          Have you tried updating to 2.3.5?

          • SK3 19 December 2013 at 03:26 Permalink

            I can upgrade to 2.3.4 only, but after upgrade it’s working now. Thanks.

            By the way, anyone have this problem with earphones? If it’s earphone only, it worked okay.
            But if you use any other earphones with mic (excluding the one that comes with the phone, but the quality if bad), it won’t work with the A820? I tried the earphones from Apple, Samsung and HTC, and it’s the same.

  12. Matteo 30 December 2013 at 00:00 Permalink

    this review pushed me over the edge.
    buying this tomorrow for 150 euros!
    bye low-range samsung, hello high range lenovo!
    brands ain’t shit.

  13. Mike967angus 3 January 2014 at 09:32 Permalink

    Purchased a Lenovo S750 from china £135 all in with Google Play installed.
    Brilliant phone and waterproof every bit as well as my sons Xperia Z that cost 3 times as much plus you can swap batteries and use an SD card.
    Hopefully Lenovo will start selling handsets in the UK soon as they are excellent.

  14. Nikos 15 January 2014 at 17:12 Permalink

    Hi there,

    I’m seeing on different sites where they are selling the a820 that the phonebook capacity is 500. Does this really mean that you cannot have more than 500 contacts on these phones?

    Is anyone able to confirm this?

    Many Thanks in advance

    Nikos

    • Mobile Network Comparison 15 January 2014 at 17:19 Permalink

      What sites state this? It’s Android so you should be able to have unlimited contacts.

      • Nikos 16 January 2014 at 03:36 Permalink

        Thanks for the quick reply.

        This one for instance:

        http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lenovo-A820-4-5-MTK6589-Quad-Core-SmartPhone-dual-SIM-Android-4-1-8MP-Unlocked-/190889741437?pt=UK_Mobile_Phones&hash=item2c71ea4c7d

        If you scroll down to the features it says:

        Phonebook: 500

        Which I also found strange. I have used Android phones with lower spec and they can store > 700 contacts. Unless of course, the term Phonebook refers to something else.

        When I asked one of these sellers on ebay (trading from China) about another Lenovo (A760) which also had a feature of Phonebook with value 500, he admitted that he didn’t know and that they actually copy the spec from other sellers – lol.

        Many Thanks

        Nikos

        • Mobile Network Comparison 16 January 2014 at 04:57 Permalink

          Our suspicion is that it’s just one of the many errors introduced by careless copy-pasting of specifications. We can’t think of any way it would actually be limited as the contacts all come through a Google account.

          • Nikos 16 January 2014 at 18:06 Permalink

            Many Thanks again. Your help and advice is greatly appreciated. Excellent job. Well done

  15. ianpeters 10 February 2014 at 07:35 Permalink

    Hi! I have this phone, which is splendid but the supplied headset stopped working. Does anyone know which headset one could use to replace? Tried a Samsung and a HTC but they didn’t work. Suggestions?

    • Mobile Network Comparison 10 February 2014 at 12:39 Permalink

      What do you mean by headset? Headphones?

      • ianpeters 10 February 2014 at 13:35 Permalink

        Yes, headphones with mic. Does it have something to do with the OMTP vs CTIA standards? I’ve heard a rumour that Lenovo uses OMTP but I haven’t been able to confirm it.

        • Mobile Network Comparison 10 February 2014 at 14:18 Permalink

          Ah- didn’t realise that they used some sort of witchcraft to use the 3.5mm jack as a line-in as well as a line-out. Afraid we have zero experience with this. But any Lenovo one should surely work?

  16. Bill 20 February 2014 at 17:15 Permalink

    Where have a lot of the posts gone??? Getting a 404 error on my bookmarked page.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 20 February 2014 at 17:40 Permalink

      Which posts are you looking for? All the tutorials have moved to their own categories (links in the sidebar). And we’ve also started putting up A850 tutorials with more to come!

  17. Bill 21 February 2014 at 15:30 Permalink

    OK, the 404 error is now explained. Certainly all of my posts have gone. Infrared’s replies have gone as well, plus a lot of the others

    • Mobile Network Comparison 21 February 2014 at 15:34 Permalink

      You’re saying comments are missing? That certainly should not be the case! From which posts?

      • Bill 24 February 2014 at 12:56 Permalink

        Ooops! Sorry, it’s that 404 error that caused me to go to the wrong place! All explained now.

  18. SK3 17 April 2014 at 11:43 Permalink

    Anyone using Bluetooth earphone with the A820, and how’s the experience?


Leave a Reply