Mobile Network
Comparison

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

T-Mobile

T-Mobile started life on 13 September 1993 as Mercury One2One, later known as just One2One. It was was purchased by Deutsche Telekom in 1999 and rebranded as T-Mobile in 2002.

In 2009, T-Mobile and Orange announced a proposed merger and by March 2010, the European Commission had approved the merger with the new parent company being called “Everything Everywhere”. Both the Orange and T-Mobile brands were retained while the company is now the UK’s largest mobile operator with 37% of the market. It also acts as the backbone infrastructure for the first ever virtual network, Virgin Mobile.

Free SIM

To try T-Mobile, get your free SIM today or click the image below for an unlimited free texts offer.:



T-Mobile review

T-Mobile are one of the cheapest main mobile networks although better deals can be had by considering virtual networks Their texts and premium rate calls are very expensive but calls to UK landlines and mobiles are decent value at a flat rate of 20p/minute.

Their call centres are outsourced to foreign countries and users have reported difficulties in dealing with them, especially when trying to cancel contracts or sort out billing issues. Also, their retentions department is often unable to offer competitive rates. However, staff in their stores are usually more helpful.

Now that they have merged with Orange they have one of the best 2G networks in the country so you are unlikely to experience any signal problems. At 93% of the UK, their 3G coverage is also fantastic so you should always be able to get the fastest speeds.

To conclude, their tariffs are reasonable for a standard network and the Boosters offer good value for month but, although the network coverage is very good too, the customer service might let you down.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

Calls: 30pTexts: 12p Data: £1/day (500MB/month)MMS: 30p0800: 40p0870: 40p

Details

T-Mobile’s PAYG tariff is cheaper than most other network operators with calls at 30p/minute but better deals can certainly be found elsewhere by using a virtual network. Unfortunately, its texts are quite pricey at 12p each and it is the most expensive UK network for non-standard calls with 0870 numbers costing 20p and, inexplicably, 0800 numbers being exorbitantly priced at 20p too. Even internet is not good value at £1 every day (although you do get a fairly generous allowance of 500MB a month for this). However, with the Talk plan, you get 100 free UK minutes if you top-up £10 every month.

They do have two other plans as well – Text and International. Both have more expensive calls at 25p/minute but Text gives unlimited texts when you top up £10 a month whereas International gives you 60 free international minutes. The other bonus is that you can send SMS on Text for only 10p and you get low cost international calls on International no matter how much you’ve topped up.

Deals

The T-Mobile Rewards deals are pretty underwhelming with the Weekend Talk reward giving you free calls all weekend but only to other T-Mobile numbers and only after you’ve topped up £10. The Weekend Texts also requires a £10 top-up and only works at the weekend but does provide unlimited texts.

Thankfully, the Boosters are more useful. The Text Booster gives you 30 days of unlimited texts for only £5 while the Internet Boosters give you flexible data rates. For example, you can get 5 days “unlimited” internet for only £2.50, a month for just £5 or 6 months for £20 which is only £3.33/month or just £40 per year. But before you get too excited about this, you should realise that a fair use policy is applicable – you might find better options by looking for other unlimited data offers. T-Mobile also have Talk Boosters but these are less useful as they only apply to calls to T-Mobile numbers. Still, £5 gives you 200 minutes which expire after just 5 days. There are also Blackberry Boosters and Euro Boosters.

Price comparison

Please see our price comparison table to compare T-Mobile’s latest pricing with that of other networks.

Coverage

Summary

2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 93%4G coverage: 73%

Coverage map

Please see the our T-Mobile coverage page to learn the network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.

Rating

Give your own rating to T-Mobile below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.8/5 (62 votes cast)
T-Mobile, 3.8 out of 5 based on 62 ratings
by Jon M

34 Responses to “T-Mobile”

  1. Zoe Morgan 16 May 2012 at 22:11 Permalink

    T-Mobile used to have a great deal with their talk 250 booster. It actually gave 250 real minutes of talk time charged by the second i.e 4hrs 10 minutes of talking for just £15.

    Suddenly, last November, they stated charging calls by the minute, so that even a 1 second call to a number that didn’t reply was charged as 1 minute of your allowance. This was all done with no notification and no warning so the sudden change came as quite a shock especially when 250 minutes suddenly became less than 100.

    I suppose it is because they want to end that particular booster offer as I see that it is no longer advertised (though you can still get it).

    The GiffGaff charges look great but you can’t get top ups from the local shops and you need a bank account or credit card to get on the system – so it’s not truly PAYG.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 11 January 2013 at 17:06 Permalink

      Actually you can get Giffgaff top-up from thousands and thousand of local shops including Post Offices. And you can even use O2 top-up vouchers as well if you want. So it’s very easy to get started with. The £15 goodybag would seem to suit your purposes very well.

  2. Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 13 April 2013 at 15:40 Permalink

    I Have Been With T-Mobile For 2 Years and They Have Cheap Prices, Friendly Customer Service and Excellent Coverage. On A Scale Of 1 To 10 I Give T-Mobile 10.

  3. Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 2 May 2013 at 08:12 Permalink

    I Am On Pay Monthly and I Get 100 Mins,100 Texts, Unlimited Calls To Landlines, Unlimited Internet Browsing and 500MB YouTube and Downloading Data For £10.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 2 May 2013 at 08:22 Permalink

      What is that supposed to mean? How do they differentiate between “Internet Browsing” and “Downloading”? How much upload allowance do you get? What about other protocols/services?

      • Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 2 May 2013 at 09:58 Permalink

        Web Browsing is Unlimited and Every Else is 500MB.

        • Mobile Network Comparison 2 May 2013 at 10:02 Permalink

          Then how do they define what is “web browsing” and what is not?!

          • Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 2 May 2013 at 10:10 Permalink

            Web Browsing is Viewing Web Pages On The Internet

            • Mobile Network Comparison 2 May 2013 at 10:16 Permalink

              The point is that’s ill-defined. If I use the YouTube HTML-5 viewer is that web or YouTube? If I run a speedtest or use a PDF viewer what does that count as? How can they even tell the difference?

              • Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 2 May 2013 at 10:23 Permalink

                The Only Things That Use The 500MB Of Data is YouTube, Downloading, Watching TV Programs On Your Phone and Watching Films On Your Phone.

                • Mobile Network Comparison 2 May 2013 at 12:30 Permalink

                  The point is that the distinction is meaningless.

                  For example, is SSH downloading or web browsing? What if I tunnel through SSH? How about FTP – downloading or web browsing? Is an animated gif watching or browsing?

                  And in any case, how could they possibly differentiate?

                • Jonathan Jeffrey Cox 3 May 2013 at 23:55 Permalink

                  Sorry i don’t understand what you mean

                • Mobile Network Comparison 4 May 2013 at 00:45 Permalink

                  1. If you understand how the internet works, it’s meaningless to differentiate between “downloading” and other web traffic.
                  2. In practicality it’s also more or less impossible so we struggle to understand how they could do what they claim to do.

                • One T-Mobile User 8 July 2013 at 14:54 Permalink

                  Sadly, customer reps at T-mobile call centers also does not understand this.

                  I was after an upgrade when the very helpful lady from the T-mobile mentioned that – I will have unlimited data and 250 meg of data allowance on the contract she was offering me. I was confused (knowing that she does not know what she was talking about) asked her three times and asked her to explain how do they differ but no joy.. she just repeat the same thing twice, last time in the tone to make me feel that I am the dumbest person in the world..
                  Anyways, in these new internet friendly days, not sure how these fundamental things are kept secret from even the customer advisers who passes on the completely WRONG information to existing / potential customers!!

              • Phil 7 July 2013 at 22:23 Permalink

                With regards to how do you differentiate between web browsing and downloading: well, the obvious way would be to check for HTTP traffic (possibly just on ports 80 and 443), and then check for the Content-Type of the traffic being text/html and related ones (probably including style sheets, PNG, GIF, and JPEG files). Video (including HTML5 embedded video) can be distinguished from the rest of the page (because that will be something like an MP4).

                Yes, this means you can’t distinguish between downloading lots of images over HTTP and visiting a website with a page containing lots of images. However, it would allow you to distinguish HTTP downloads of ZIP, EXE, PDFs, etc. And, of course, every protocol that wasn’t HTTP. It won’t be perfect, of course, but probably 95+% effective, I’d have thought…

                • Mobile Network Comparison 8 July 2013 at 12:01 Permalink

                  Of course, so that’s possible for a certain about of downloads (though of course far from infallible) but do you think for a second that they do this? Let alone in real time? And what if you browse over HTTPS or through a SSH tunnel?

                • Phil 8 July 2013 at 19:36 Permalink

                  I have no opinion on whether it is *actually* done or not, just whether it is technically possible.

                  The issue about real-time is a bit of red-herring: they can log whether the traffic is on port 80/443 easily enough. Parsing the HTTP header and recording the content-type can also be done. You then do the accounting processing at your leisure. And, don’t forget, if the UK government get there way, there will be considerably more logging than *that* being forced on ISPs.

                  Anyway, clearly, they *can* distinguish between HTTP/HTTPS and other protocols on their standard IP ports (e.g., FTP, SMTP, POP3). And with HTTP they can even (if they wanted) distinguish the content type. I’m not saying they do – just that they can!

                  [It's easy enough to get round completely if you control both ends of the connection, but most people won't do that.]

  4. Derek Smith 18 June 2013 at 16:27 Permalink

    Having been a customer with T Mobile UK for over a year I decided to end the contract early, as there was better deals on the market.

    I duly paid the remainder of the contract on two handsets and £60 to get the unlock codes for the two handsets, this is when my woes really started.

    Codes were requested in 18th Dec 2012, heard nothing from them so contacted them on 13th Feb 2013 got told some mistake had happened and the codes were not ordered.

    Still hadn’t heard by 8 March so called again, most apologetic will get it sorted.

    11 Apr comes round and still no codes, phone again got told there has been some mix up again, promised it will be dealt with, I wanted to talk to supervisor and was told none are available, one would phone back. They never did.

    14 Apr receive email from them with one unlocking code, ffs what do I have to do??

    Left it until 10th Jun before contacting them again as work had prevented me from keeping on at them, was told that they we sorry but there seems to be some problem again, by now I’m furious and want to talk to supervisor, none available, no call back either despite it being promised.

    Call again 18th June as have not received a call yet from the elusive supervisor, after a long call with customer support, I am promised a code within 24hrs, believe it when I see it.

    Supervisor did call back after a few hours but wasn’t prepared to even admit blame on their part and would not offer a refund on the unlock code that I have not received, never mind all the cost of the calls to the customer services trying to get the issue resolved or the depreciation of the handset.

    After this carry on I would never use T mobile again, and would advise others to pay heed to the overall rating that T Mobile has received, its low for a reason.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 25 June 2013 at 00:38 Permalink

      That sounds like a total nightmare. We would suggest refusing another other outcome than a full refund of all costs and an apology. It might help you get somewhere by getting Ofcom involved too.

  5. Chloe 25 June 2013 at 21:22 Permalink

    very unpleasant service. “rules” which they’ve made which are not helpful to customers. Even though their sister company orange provides such service. I guess this is what you pay for cheaper service. hey ho, money’s tight. but for those who have spare cash, stay away!

  6. Eva 24 July 2013 at 21:49 Permalink

    I have been a loyal T-Mobile customer for years 2004 onwards , customer service and phone used to be excellent, it has gone down a bit since end of 2010, but what is happening since merge with EE- is just appalling, from lack of customer care and retention amongst the sales / retention team, to misinformed e-commerce order processing staff and lack of network availability in central London not to mention 3G and the fact you can’t e-mail T-Mobile.

    Here in more detail: 23.07.13
    I checked my T-Mobile account to see if there are any offers on my about relating to broadband connection and discovered that I am being charged £15.0 per month more than I should.
    I rang billing team and was told that they will credit that on my next bill and that I need to speak to retention team about renewing my contact- they put me thorough to Alicia who informed me that they cancelled my loyalty discount as my contract expired, I explained that at my last renewal it was agreed that my contract will be rolling with the loyalty discount included shall the contract duration end, I asked her to access these notes, she informed me she can and if she can’t do that and it doesn’t matter, she also said she can’t put me trough to the person who did that contract for me at the time. I asked how come I was not informed of any of these changes, and also why nobody call me when my contract was coming to the end (which I was told was in May) .As a long term T-Mobile customer I am used to certain level of service, upon till now I always received a phone call about the month before my contract was due to end even if it was rolling contract. – I was told this is not how thing are done now.
    I was also told I am not eligible for any loyalty discounts or upgrade offer whatsoever. I can keep my contract at full price tariff that’s the best offer, I asked to speak with supervisor – I was told there isn’t one available and call back will be arranged within 48 hours.

    I logged into my T-Mobile online account again and I noticed that there are two upgrade options available online, first one if I want handset £359 for IPhone and keep the tariff at the standard price. Second one £5 loyalty discount without handset.
    I rang retention team back spoke with Shaun, – told him I can see upgrades options available online and explained what I was just told by Alicia, he said he can see offers available no my account including loyalty discount. I wanted to know what that offer was, he was going on and on for ages without telling me what the offer is, almost like he was just trying to keep me on the phone, I kept insisting for him to tell me he said he can give me £6.00 loyalty discount, and he can’t offer me anything with iPhone. I said that is all I need to know and pressed confirm on my T-Mobile account to upgrade. One other interesting thing that got mention when I said the quality of service has gone worn the drain since merge to EE (January onwards – no phone signal in central London, 3 G dropping of constantly – the only way to get it back is to re set network settings sometime several times per day) was told this is my fault for not switching to 4G! Absolutely appalling since my contract with T-Mobile for 3G, so just because T-Mobile has 4G now that means that they can just abandon customers who have a contract with them to deliver 3G services? Shortly there is an obligation to deliver contracted service.

    Shortly afterwards I received the following e-mail – by the way is has the wrong name on the top

    From: T-Mobile Web Sales
    Date: 23 July 2013 20:17:42 GMT+01:00
    Subject: T-Mobile order confirmation - Order number

    Thank you for staying with T-Mobile. Your order reference is

    WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?
    If you've ordered a phone we'll check that stock is available and email to confirm your phone has been sent. If we need more information, we will phone or email as soon as we can. If you've asked for a change to your service (e.g line rental discounts or extra texts) without a phone, then these will be applied to your account from your next bill date. We'll email or text you to confirm the changes have been made.

    DELIVERY?
    Orders for phones placed and accepted before 4PM Monday to Friday will be delivered to your billing address within the next 2 working days by Royal mail special delivery. There are no weekend deliveries

    DELIVERY DELAYS?
    We will e-mail or telephone you as soon as we can if your order is delayed. A delay may occur if there are unforeseen stock shortages or if we cannot get immediate security clearance for payment if you've used a credit or debit card. The security of our customers is paramount and these checks are essential to combat fraudulent use of payment and address details.

    CAN YOU DELIVER TO MY WORK ADDRESS?
    No. All items delivered by special delivery must be signed for at the address used for billing.

    WHAT HAPPENS IF NO-ONE IS AT HOME TO SIGN FOR DELIVERY?
    The package will be returned to your local Royal Mail sorting office depot. A card will be left with details to organise redelivery of your order, or how you can collect it
    Thank you for continuing with T-Mobile, Kind regards T-Mobile

    And the next one

    From: websales@t-mobile.co.uk
    Date: 23 July 2013 21:01:19 GMT+01:00
    Subject: Your T-Mobile Order - please contact us

    Thanks for placing an order online with T-Mobile.

    We are in the process of completing your order; before we can go any further we need some more information from you.

    Please can you call us on 0800 956 2208 option 1, you’ll need to quote your order reference number 3929525.

    We’re available between 8am and 10pm, Monday to Friday and 8am-8pm on a Saturday and Sunday.
    We look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Kind regards,

    T-Mobile

    I rang the number straight away, I asked if this the phone was definitely going to be deliver my royal mail if not them I have to change delivery address to my office address, I was assured it was going to be royal mail. (So I can pick my parcel up on Saturday for their local 10 minutes walk office) The lady tried to process the payment first on my Halifax card- it got declined, and then on my Barclays debit card- also declined, she finally managed to process that on my MBNA card. – £359

    Shortly afterwards Barclays and Halifax fraud teams suspended my accounts it took me hours to get this sorted last night and today.

    I received the text for UK mail saying my parcel will be delivered tomorrow, the only thing I could think of was my new phone, but that supposed to be delivered by royal mail.
    I trying to salvage this situation checked their website, couldn’t change the address for the office address, or do Saturday delivery (which I suspected already as that is what happens with these cheap delivery services) and of course their depot is outside of London (15 miles away from my address)
    I rang the 0800 956 2208 option 1, they put me through delivery team, I was told that just because the lady said if was going to be royal mail it doesn’t mean it will be- I said I am looking at the order confirmation e-mail stating it will be royal mail, I was told that is not possible. I asked if possible to get this delivered by royal mail- since royal mail is what I paid for, alternatively change delivery address to my office. None of this is possible, I was told I have to wait for UK mail to try to deliver this and then return it to their warehouse before the phone can be re send by royal mail of to another address. – This can take weeks.
    I said in this instance I have to cancel my order “Orders for phones placed and accepted before 4PM Monday to Friday will be delivered to your billing address within the next 2 working days by Royal mail special delivery. There are no weekend deliveries”
    And get immediate refunds as t mobile is not able fulfill it,
    I was told that I can’t, I have to wait for the phone to be returned to them first – again it will take weeks. I stated that this in not in line with consumer law in the UK, and Ofcom regulations. I asked to be put through a supervisor; I had to demand several times. I was finally put through I was told address can’t be changed, I said this doesn’t have to be done I just need this order fulfilled according to my contract ““Orders for phones placed and accepted before 4PM Monday to Friday will be delivered to your billing address within the next 2 working days by Royal mail special delivery. There are no weekend deliveries”

    I was put on hold whilst Nel B – 1016 got on the phone to Consumer Connect she told me nothing can be done. I also said that the only way I can get this phone from UK mail is if I take leave from work- which will result in loss of earnings around £200 per day- I asked if T-Mobile is prepared to cover that- I was told no. Another option I asked for this order to be cancelled straight away and new order issued with the correct delivery service “ royal mail “ – as that will fulfill my contract / order and T-Mobile can sort this mess out internally later.
    I was told that is not possible until this phone comes back to them. I said again I have e-mail stating this is going to be royal mail, I was told to take it to T-Mobile shop, as they can’t receive e-mails. I said according to the law costumers in the UK must have an e-mail option available to complaint so shortly there must be some generic inbox everyone can access, I was given cust.rel@t-mobile.co.uk
    I forwarded my order confirmation straight away

    I received the following auto reply:

    Subject: Re: Fwd: T-Mobile order confirmation - Order number

    Please accept our apologies, we are in the process of improving our e-mail service, and cannot deal with your e-mail enquiry at this time.

    For the moment, can we ask you to use one of our alternative Customer Service channels, where our advisors will be happy to answer any question or resolve any enquiry you may have.

    You can contact us, between 8am to 10pm by :-

    • dialing 150 from your T-Mobile handset or
    • calling us on 08454125000 from a landline*
    • If your abroad you can also contact on 07953966150**
    • You can manage your account online, 24 hours a day at My T-Mobile
    • You can also manage your account and get answers to most questions, using our T-Mobile app, available to download for all smartphones
    • You can talk to one of our agents using our Click to chat services on our website
    • Alternatively, our team are always ready to provide support if you visit our social media sites @TMobileUK on twitter or search for T-Mobile UK on Facebook

    Apologies once again, but we hope to be back soon with an even better email service, so we appreciate your understanding at this time.

    *calls are charged at local rates if you're a BT customer, but if you're with another provider it may cost more so do check
    ** calls are charged at international rates.

    T-Mobile (UK) Limited

    Nel didn’t believe me when I read above e-mail to her -she said this was the e-mail they were told to give if customer is complaining. Again that is not in line with the regulations in the UK. Nel told me to ask my bank to stop transaction – she said it is the quickest way to get my money back- not true as transaction has been processed and this will only put it in dispute will no actually give me money back until dispute is resolved.

    Since it looks like there are not other options available to resolve this I will have to complain to ofcom and communications ombudsman.

    I wish I was with another provider from the start!

  7. CSGL 8 August 2013 at 14:45 Permalink

    Just trying to help others to avoid my mistake.
    T-mobile is running a shaddy business…they input charges without informing you and have the worst customer service ever.
    1st- Call you offering a good deal for an aditional line
    2nd- you accept and after one week when you call to confirm they inform you there is no order
    3rd- when you finally get your phone…you incur in a payment of double the value as they charge you one month in advance…which they say they will refund in the end of the contract (2015).
    Was this informed on the friendly and happy “I want to offer you a greeeeaaaatttt deal” phone call? Of course not.
    I asked to speak to a complaint service agent and what did they answer? “Have a nice day madam.(hung-up)”.

    If only I would have known…

  8. Reviewer 21 August 2013 at 12:55 Permalink

    I have been with them for 12 months now (out of the 18 months of the contract and I can’t wait for it to be over).

    Despite me on an unlimited data plan, they have fair data usage policy that restricts me to 500GB maximum, after which, they state “I won’t be able to use straming serivces, but I won’t be slowed down on browsing and checking emails”. All fine till here, it is their policy and I accepted it when I signed up.

    The issue is that they do not stick to their word. The moment I hit the fair usage limit, every month (after a few days because I use it heavily, for business and personal reasons, otherwise wouldn’t have gone for unlimited), the data signal slows down. Even opening a Google or any other internet page is a pain. The signal is not there or drops. I have to go through a painful set of 5 or 6 steps into my settings to try and get it back. And it won’t always work.

    Every time I try to call their customer service to explain the point I get to speak to some useless, uneducated customer assistant who spend at least 15 minutes repeating a script “I am sorry, madam, you have exceeded your fair usage policy and you won’t be able to use streaming services”. It takes me at least half an hour to explain them that I know that and I am not complaining about streaming, but normal browsing. They would go through useless, painful steps and still not resolve the issue.

    Talking to them, for this or any other reason is a pain. People at the customer service don’t know anything. They read scripts. It’s like talking to machines. They do not listen, do not seem to understand.

    A painful company. An appalling service.

    Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 21 August 2013 at 17:35 Permalink

      That’s because it’s too complicated for them to differentiate between different types of traffic. It was completely dishonest of them to make that claim and you should vigorously pursue them regarding it.

      Our best advice is to get escalated to the highest tier of customer service you can and strongly make your case. You should even be able to get out of your contract if you were made that promise.

  9. Laz 10 September 2013 at 18:15 Permalink

    T mobile in Selsey area is rubbish, ca not get any coverage at all. DO NOT BUY T MOBILE FOR THIS AREA !!!!!!

  10. Robert Gibson 6 October 2013 at 02:26 Permalink

    Perfect. I’ve had my T-Mobile dongle fourteen months now & haven’t encountered one problem. Excellent coverage!

  11. Tmobile user 4 March 2014 at 09:06 Permalink

    Dissatisfied with TMobile and will never use them again. Was a victim of price rises within my 12 month contract. Signed up for £9.50pm which rose to £13pm without justification. Called them 5 times over 4 months to get the price put back to my contract price. Terrible customer service – their database seems broken.
    Called them today to cancel and guess what – their database is down so cannot help me. 0/10

    • Mobile Network Comparison 4 March 2014 at 17:52 Permalink

      What excuse did they give for not honoring your price?

      • Tmobile user 5 March 2014 at 18:03 Permalink

        Hi. Firstly the offer discount hadn’t been applied correctly. (The £9.50pm was a major advert on their website so unsure why they had to treat it as a discount). Next month my bill was still higher, they told me they would reduce back to £9.50. Two following months my bill was still high, they told me on both occasions database had a fault. Finally it was reduced but then had VAT price rise. Uugh painful. I did get a refund after asking (had to ask twice).
        Just cancelled today after the contract end.
        Going to GIFFGAFF for monthly sim – easy, reliable, no price rises!


Leave a Reply