Mobile Network

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

Dialog Vizz Mobile

Dialog Vizz Mobile was launched in the UK market in January 2011 at a glitzy event at the Natural History Museum in London. It is a partnership between Sri Lankan mobile operator Dialog and QiComm, an established telecoms company with offices across the world including locations such as London, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka and India.

Vizz Mobile will target ethnic populations in the UK specialising on the Sri Lankan market and aims to carve a niche out of the hypercompetitive market by being especially transparent in its dealings. The partnership with Dialog allows tremendous cost savings to UK residents phoning family and friends who are Dialog customers back in Sri Lanka. The CEO of QiComm, Pat Nabhan, has also stated that they have “differentiated” their offering in order to help win market share and that they aim to be an “upfront and ethical company”.

Free SIM

If you are interested in trying Dialog Vizz Mobile, you can order your free SIM from here.

Dialog Vizz Mobile review

The first thing to realise about Dialog Vizz Mobile is that they are excellent value. Their prices are far, far lower than high street networks such as Orange, T-Mobile and Vodafone. For example, compared to 3, if you just make 2 hours of calls and 100 texts a month, you would save well over £20 every month (£19.80 on Dialog Vizz instead of £42.20 on 3). In fact the PAYG tariff is so good you’ll usually save much more than this due to the reduced rates to other Dialog Vizz numbers and the lower rates for landline calls. Unlike high street networks, they also have far better international rates, especially to Sri Lanka.

They use the Vodafone network so coverage is exactly the same as if you were paying Vodafone prices. Coverage in the UK is generally excellent but we have found their customer service to be rather hit-and-miss – their representatives are very prompt and polite by email but some of their call centre staff can barely speak English let alone assist in solving problems.

Unfortunately, Vizz Mobile does not offer any MMS services at all at present. When asked, Vizz were unable to a give a date for the introduction of this feature. Also, if you mobile is carrier-locked, bear in mind that you might need to unlock it to use on Vizz Mobile. Another problem is that you can’t use features like topping up at ATMs although the website interface is great and you can use credit/debit cards and e-vouchers.

The combination of low prices, free internet and cheap international calls makes Vizz mobile a very tempting prospect. They are backed by experienced international companies and it shows. However, we do have some issues with the limits on the free Vizz-to-Vizz calls, dodgy customer service, the lack of MMS and SMS texts which can be had cheaper elsewhere. Despite this, they are easily one of the cheapest networks in the UK and a good choice to switch to if you want to save money on your phone bill.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

Calls: 9pTexts: 9p Data: 15p/MBMMS: n/a0800: 10p0870: 25p


As you can see, Vizz Mobile have some really competitive pricing with calls to UK mobiles only 9p/minute at any time. Voice prices are actually where they really excel because calls to UK landlines are incredible value at a paltry 4p/minute. And it doesn’t stop there – calls to other Vizz Mobile numbers plummet down in price and are actually absolutely free as long as you top-up £5 or more. Not bad, eh?

Texts aren’t amazing value as they are priced at 9p each but, again, SMS are cheaper to other Vizz Mobiles at just 5p each. Voicemail isn’t too bad either at 10p/minute. Even the data charges are amongst the best value available. Every customer with at least £2 credit still remaining automatically gets 10MB of free internet use every single day and after that the prices are some of the lowest around at only 15p/MB.

As for international calling, there are also some really cheap rates available. Landlines cost only 1p/minute to call in countries such as Australia, China, Turkey, Nigeria, India, Pakistan, Poland and Bangladesh. And there are cheap mobile and landline rates to India which is just 0.5p/minute too.

Overall, Dialog Vizz Mobile is easily one of the cheapest mobile networks in the UK. Its voice calls to UK mobiles and landlines are about as good as it gets and free calls and texts to other Vizz Mobile numbers is a nice touch. It would be great if the standard SMS charge was slightly lower but with 10MB of free data a day, you can’t really complain.


Not only that but Dialog Vizz Mobile also has a couple of special deals. For a start, you get £1 free credit on your first two top-ups. And, as mentioned earlier, as long as you top-up at least £5 you get completely free calls and texts any time to other Vizz Mobile customers. There’s 100 minutes and texts for a £5 top-up and £30 gives you 2000 minutes and unlimited texts to other Vizz numbers. Then there’s the 10MB free data a day offer that we’ve already mentioned. Just don’t forget that it requires you to maintain at least £2 of credit.

On the international calling side, Dialog Vizz Mobile is a Sri Lankan company so it’s not surprising they have some special rates for Sri Lanka. All weekend calls to mobiles in Sri Lanka are only 3p/minute which is great value compared to other networks. Not only that but they give away up to 300 free international minutes a month when you top-up £5. Even though this offer is limited to just 10 minutes a day and only 40 countries qualify, this is still a fantastic deal.

Price comparison

To compare Dialog Vizz’s current pricing to all the other mobile networks, please see our price comparison page.



2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 80%

Coverage map

Dialog Vizz Mobile runs on the Vodafone network. Please see our Dialog Vizz coverage page to learn about Dialog Vizz Mobile’s network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.


Please give your own rating to Dialog Vizz Mobile below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.2/5 (45 votes cast)
Dialog Vizz Mobile, 3.2 out of 5 based on 45 ratings
by Jon M

29 Responses to “Dialog Vizz Mobile”

  1. Derek 9 January 2015 at 17:37 Permalink

    I tried contacting Dialog Vizz, by phone, no answer, by e-mail, no answer, I contacted Ofcom, all they said, keep ringing the same numbers, !!great!!. I see all the customer service staff have been made redundant.

    This company has two other websites still online all with the same address as Dialog Vizz, but don’t answer the phones at all, They are called Vizz Roshan, and Vizz Africa. now if you ring the numbers all you get is.. “Please hang up”. I think we all have lost our old numbers, and their seems to be no way to get the pac code,
    I have decided to join 3mobile and get a new number

  2. Pandy 9 January 2015 at 17:06 Permalink

    I tried from vodaphone and they said, they cant see the Vizz numbers on their system so they cant provide the pac code. If anyone can get the pac code please let us know.

  3. Vizz Victim 6 January 2015 at 19:57 Permalink

    Perhaps we can contact Vodaphone to get the PAC codes? They provide the network so maybe they allocated the numbers too. Does anyone know more?

  4. Prasanthi Mirihagalla 4 January 2015 at 22:53 Permalink

    I have been with Dialog Vizz for few years now. On few occassions they had problem with top ups but generally the service was alright. But since few weeks time i was unable to send text messages outside the UK and was unable to get direct calls to outside UK as well. I was able to check my balance by login to Dialog Vizz website and also through the number that the Dialog Vizz provided. I had a balance of GBP 5.39. Since mid December 2014 I was unable to take any calls and send text including calls and text within the UK. too I have tried to call their customer service on serveral times but no answer. I have sent emails to the customer service contact and other than the automated replies i did not receive any response back from them. Now (January 2015) their UK website has disappeared as well. I need the PAK number for me to transfer my service to a new provider and i cannot even get it. Lost my remaining balance as well. I would recommend people to stay away from Dialog Vizz as they probably are bust.

  5. Derek 27 December 2014 at 10:37 Permalink

    The Company that ran Dialog Vizz was called Qicomm, and that company is now in liquidation, and you can read this about the guy who ran the Company,……

  6. Thilina 27 December 2014 at 10:19 Permalink

    Same as Derek, Mines dosen’t work, Looks like they are gone with out money and numbers, cant transfer my number.

  7. Derek 25 December 2014 at 23:29 Permalink

    I see that their website has disappeared off line, I think they are finished, my sim card does not work either, and I had just topped up as well, so I have lost that money as well, and I cannot get PAC CODE, so I cannot transfer my number.

  8. Andrew 25 December 2014 at 21:59 Permalink

    I’ve also been unable to contact Dialog Vizz – my phone receives calls but can’t make them – seems it maybe because I haven’t made a call for a while so I will try to contact them after new year.

  9. rajesh 25 December 2014 at 12:17 Permalink

    why is my vizz sim not working., please call me on my other uk mobile 07958334382. no one is answering at your end.

  10. Derek 23 December 2014 at 11:38 Permalink

    I have been trying to contact customer services for the last 6 days and have been on hold for 50 minutes at a time, 2-3 times a day, but still no answer, sent e-mails but still no answer, is this company closing down??.

  11. Ram 19 May 2014 at 18:10 Permalink

    How do I top up? 263 disconnects me after saying arrange a top up..the customer service numbers don’t work..the key in process says error..very frustrating..I am a new customer

  12. Hitesh 2 March 2014 at 20:33 Permalink

    Continued to above:
    Please don’t Use the DIALOG sim.
    When I left Sri Lanka I was unable to utilise my credit and was told customer services will make contact and refund my rs1300; they have my details and no attempts have been made by them to make contact. I would strongly recommend that you utilise another provider besides DIALOG. Because you will get no DIALOGUE at all from their customer services and I would rate them in negative 3 digits.
    I was assured that I would get my 1300 Rs and compensation for when I was unable to use ANY of the additional features. They are terrible and I urge you not to use the service.

  13. Hitesh 2 March 2014 at 20:26 Permalink

    DIALOG Mobile Sri Lanka
    IF travelling to the area whatever you do don’t connect with DIALOG;
    Sadly they are the worst when it comes to customer services and provide a sim that locks your mobile into a package that is not suitable;
    On speaking with a DIALOG re was advised to activate a package via text service and thereafter my IPhone became inoperable and could jot use web/whatsapp or any other services. I was sold BBM services and could not use to deactivate.

    I called the customer services line at least 20 times and was told once activated couldn’t change and would need to write in or send email!!!!!!

    They were happy to charge me immediately and when asked for refund at airport spoke with 2 representatives and they had little authority and needed to ask before they could visit even the washrooms!!!!!

    They both made promises to refund but couldn’t do that unless if I write to them; I did this whilst waiting and agreed that I should go for a coffee and return for my RS1300 refund; I returned but they than turned things around again;

    I also asked if I could use the same sim whilst travelling to Maldives and was told yes and therefore foolishly accepted their word and went;

    Once there the sim displayed NO SERVICE for the entire duration;

  14. AJ 23 January 2012 at 10:58 Permalink

    Hi Darren

    Its free, you get limited free calls based on your top up amount.

    Top-up Free Mins Free text
    £5 100 100
    £10 300 Unlimited
    £20 750
    £30 2000
    £50 5000


  15. darren gilbert 15 January 2012 at 19:47 Permalink

    can you let me know is it free to call to the same network, like other services.

  16. AJ 6 January 2012 at 10:03 Permalink

    Hi Joe

    Billing day is GMT not Sri Lankan time.


  17. Joe 26 December 2011 at 15:47 Permalink

    Just a thought, the free 10Mb works well, but remember that it is “billed” in units of 25.6kb, so if you have a lot of low volume activity, the allowance will run out quicker than a couple of big downloads-hope you see what I mean.
    Also, it seems (unconfirmed) that the “billing day” is on Sri Lankan time, not GMT, although the account page shows GMT.So at 16:30 it is 00:00 in Sri Lanka and your new billing day starts.
    I’m not 100% sure of this as it’s tricky to tell exactly, but from my usage and the odd data bill, it seems to be the case.
    Not withstanding this minor complication, it’s still excellent for low volume data users like my daughter and I.

  18. Joe 21 November 2011 at 18:37 Permalink

    I’m white, English, and use this service.Customer service speak English and are polite so no problem. The 10Mb free works fine with VERY easy set up.Forget where they are from, it’s just using Vodafone.

  19. pobb 13 November 2011 at 08:12 Permalink

    typical of these “ethic” things.. they forget that its using OUR networks and OUR land, that they never even built or paid for..

    You know, I do have an issue with this, because they are actually very derogatory when it comes to helping out.. us other people..

    BAD NEWS, just like the other “ethnic” bollocks in this country.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 14 November 2011 at 14:42 Permalink

      Actually the networks and land are privately owned or leased by individuals. It may also interest you to know that all but one of the UK networks are owned by non-UK companies. Luckily we are not interested in baseless xenophobia or bigotry – only whether the network service is any good and whether it offers decent value.

    • JFC 20 May 2013 at 19:38 Permalink

      You’re an idiot.

  20. renu 23 August 2011 at 15:01 Permalink

    i need more cheep call rates for newzealand. please do, if you can

Leave a Reply