Mobile Network

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK

iCard Mobile

iCard Mobile has gone into administration as of 27 June 2014. For full details please see here and also check out our comparison table for alternative networks to switch to.

iCard Mobile is a new virtual network that was launched in September 2010. They are run by iCard Telecom who are a major European provider of prepaid phonecards. They are already very experienced in the telecoms industry with their products in over 20,00 UK outlets and connections to tier 1 and 2 carriers as well as many VoIP and TDM links.

iCard Mobile is their latest product as they move into the mobile phone industry. They are specialising in the ethnic market with low-price international calls to a variety of destinations. But they also aim to position themselves as a general low-cost mobile network by offering some of the lowest prices available for UK calls to mobiles and landlines. iCard Mobile runs on the the Vodafone network and infrastructure.

Free SIM

If you are interested in trying iCard Mobile, you can order your free SIM from here.

iCard Mobile review

iCard Mobile is a great virtual network that really excels on being competitively priced. In fact, we have to admit it’s pretty much one of the very cheapest mobile networks in the UK if not the world. The website looks worryingly budget but it really just reflects the no-frills simple-but-cheap thing they’ve got going. With calls to UK landlines at just 3p/minute and UK mobile calls charged at about a quarter of the price of some of their rivals at 6p/minute, they are pretty unbeatable on price.

However, the service is a little basic. There’s still no ability for roaming whatsoever so your phone becomes a useless brick if you leave the UK. Beware of customer services too – although email support is usually completely fine, their call centres are based in India and are pretty poorly trained from our experiences. They do however offer itemised billing free of charge. And you’ll be relieved to hear that their data charges are very reasonable as are their international rates. Even voicemail is completely free.

iCard Mobile are based on Vodafone which means they have a solid 2G and 3G signal in most parts of the UK. However, for some reason, you still have to unlock your phone to use their SIMs even if you have a Vodafone handset.[1] Also, watch their rates because some of their international call charges have crept up and none of the prices are guaranteed to last. It’s also worth knowing that their e-voucher option is hidden away on PayPoint terminals as “icmobile” so it can be hard to get top ups.

However, despite the minor flaws, there are no hidden charges and the service they offer is more than solid. For prices like this, they are more than worth a punt and they are bringing welcome competition into the PAYG market. iCard Mobile are a great choice of network for UK and international calls and can easily save you a huge sum of money.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

Calls: 8pTexts: 10p Data: 10p/MBMMS: n/a0800: 10p0870: 25p


There’s no doubt about it – iCard Mobile’s UK tariff is probably the best we’ve ever seen. The low prices are pretty much unparalleled on any PAYG or contract deal with only companies like Giffgaff coming close. Even after some price rises, standard calls to UK mobiles are already pretty much a record low at just 8p/minute but the UK landline rate of just 5p/minute is even better. Not only that but you also get absolutely free iCard to iCard calls albeit with a fairly severe restriction of only 10 minutes per call and an obligatory minimum balance of 10p.

Voicemail is somehow 100% free too making iCard Mobile the best value network for heavy voicemail users. In comparison SMS texts seem very expensive at 10p each but it’s worth bearing in mind that this is still about half as cheap as the main network providers. Unfortunately freephone numbers are 10p/minute but this really isn’t too bad and the 25p/minute charge for 0845 and 0870 numbers is fairly standard. Mobile data is also incredibly cheap charged at just 10p/MB.

The great value pricing doesn’t stop there though. Several foreign countries are very cheap to call too with mobile calls to Thailand, Pakistan, Bangladesh and China all coming in at just 3p/minute for international calls. For landline calls to international numbers, they have 1p/minute rates to Thailand and China too.


With fantastic prices like these, we suppose that iCard feel they don’t need any special offers or bundles and so they don’t currently offer any, just cheap calls and texts all the time.

Price comparison

To compare iCard’s current pricing to all the other mobile networks, please see our price comparison page.



2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 89%

Coverage map

iCard Mobile runs on the Vodafone network. Please see our iCard coverage page to learn about iCard Mobile’s network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.


Please give your own rating to iCard Mobile below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.2/5 (91 votes cast)

  1. Psilas has let us know that ASDA Mobile-locked phones do work fine on iCard Mobile and we are interested in hearing from more people about whether they have managed to get Vodafone-locked handsets to work. []

iCard Mobile, 3.2 out of 5 based on 91 ratings
by Jon M

91 Responses to “iCard Mobile”

  1. John L 22 November 2015 at 00:34 Permalink

    Called their balance line on Thursday – 32p call in credit.
    Sent a three word text to friend on Saturday.
    Then attempted to call someone, but was told that no credit was left.
    Bunch of crooks!!!

  2. KE 26 November 2014 at 13:05 Permalink

    I received no reply whatsoever. Last week, I sent a follow-up complaint and still nothing.

    This morning, I asked for and received my PAC. Next step in the complaints process is Ofcom (Trading Standards having been dissolved by the Coalition Government in effect), but I won’t be sticking around for the next 2 years while Ofcom diddles. I just need to find an alternative in the next few days.

  3. KE 20 November 2014 at 11:30 Permalink

    Well, I’m still with iCardMobile, but hopefully not for much longer.

    I officially complained to them in July about their deceptive practice (aka FRAUD) of advertising UK Voice Mail rates as free (£0.00), but actually charging customers 5p per minute. This is now mid-November and nothing has changed! The FRAUD continues!

    Lately, they have been PUSHING a new promotion urging (or is that begging?) you to buy a top-up and they will boost it by 20% credit. Initially (22 October 2014, I still have the text) it stated you could get this by purchasing at “any PayPoint or PayZone.” I’m sure many did. Sadly, we have now been receiving almost DAILY TEXT WARNINGS that only PayPoint-purchased vouchers would be honoured… seemingly at all. In other words, if you followed their advertisement and bought a top-up from PayZone, you get no credit at all!

    My local PayPoint supplier warned me in July that they were disappointed with iCardMobile and that the manager had urged them to stop selling iCardMobile top-ups, because their practice of not providing retailers with duplicate receipts was causing problems with customer disputes. I suspect this may be behind iCardMobile’s claims that some retailers were not forwarding payments to them. If a beleaguered seller coughed up cash out of their own till to an angry customer, whose credit was not being honoured by iCardMobile for whatever reason or who discovered (other) deceptive practices, who could blame the seller from withholding that cash from iCardMobile? The customer did not get the credit and the retailer was out of pocket.

    Now, it seems voicemail messages are taking 8 hours plus to show up!! And they’re still charging us for them!

    STAY AWAY FROM ICARDMOBILE!! That is my clear ‘recommendation.’ This company is headed down the drain–the 20% boost offer makes it obvious they’re desperate for cash to close their debt hole and keep suppliers from pulling the plug. The management seems to think that cheating customers is the best strategy. It isn’t.

    Stay away, switch ASAP! You have been warned. Now, I just need to follow my own advice…

  4. Graham 18 September 2014 at 17:47 Permalink

    I changed to Sainsbury’s about a month ago as I need to go on the vodafone network. My requested (via email) PAC code arrived within 24 hours. The changeover to Sainsbury’s went without a hitch as well. Pity icard can’t be more honest with its customers as their package suited me perfectly.

  5. craig 4 September 2014 at 10:02 Permalink

    When my Icard credit runs out I will be changing to White mobile.I am sure it is a legal requirement to be informed of price changes Icard have my number and email and have told me nothing. I would not even consider asking for a PAC code as I am sure this would lead to problems.

  6. KE 31 August 2014 at 06:04 Permalink

    Beware and Please Update Your Network Comparison Table!!

    As of 21 August 2014, I can confirm that iCard Mobile are charging at least 8p per minute for basic UK calls and 10p (not 5p as posted on this website) for SMS/Texts. Worst of all, for some time now, iCard Mobile have been charging for voice mail message checks at 5p per minute, but not disclosing that fact on their own Website!

    Experience they may have, but apparently it is in conning their customers. I will no longer recommend iCard Mobile to anyone! For those like me who have stuck by them, get out while you still can!

  7. craig 10 July 2014 at 15:23 Permalink

    Wonder if any other provider will wade in and offer to port over to them with the carrot of a freebie?

    • Mobile Network Comparison 13 July 2014 at 12:33 Permalink

      Yeah, let’s hope so. The only thing at the moment is Giffgaff’s standard £5 free.

      • craig 13 July 2014 at 13:24 Permalink

        Sorry you state “Giffgaff’s standard £5 free” what exactly is this?

  8. craig 9 July 2014 at 22:41 Permalink

    Thanks KE for the information very interesting. I have just checked the Icard website and for calls to UK Mobile Three they have 2 inserts one states calls @ £0.00 and the other £0.08.How confusing!

  9. KE 9 July 2014 at 14:11 Permalink

    I have been with iCard Mobile now for nearly 2 years, after a horrendous forced departure (due to systems errors from a failed migration) from O2, despite 12 years loyal customer service!

    I have not had any complaint save when trying to get online help from staff (call centre in India I believe).

    I must say that I am disappointed to see that my text rates were doubled without notice! On the other hand, calls to users of various mobile providers are now free of charge.

    I don’t know about financial difficulties with the company, but it seems they have changed from being a Vodafone MVSN to a Hutchison Three MVSN. While else would their rates be free?

    I just added a small top-up to mine and everything is still working fine. Being in administration does not mean the company will go under, particularly if there are assets worth purchasing. It just means they are restricted in how they spend their money (rather like a naughty teenager on punishment).

    They have also completely revamped their Website in the process, so it may have seemed down for awhile–companies just won’t hire decent IT these days, when they can exploit inexpensive bods off-shore.

    Your phone number should be portable regardless, so even if you decide to switch providers, you are entitled (according to Ofcom) to take your number with you. Of course, that doesn’t mean the migration will be smooth, just that you can complain if the companies refuse.

    I agree about the baffling Website rates. What a mess! if they have been acquired, let’s hope fixing that is a priority project.

    Bottom line for me: I now pay in a year what I paid O2 in a couple months! 8p per minute for most of my calls (others free, voice mail free) is why I’m staying put. But I will be doing less (or shorter) texting!

  10. Phillip Sear 8 July 2014 at 10:00 Permalink

    Out of curiosity I have just looked at their website. The list of UK call rates is quite baffling (with two different rates showing for each mobile operator), and generally much more expensive than, say, Three.

  11. craig 7 July 2014 at 23:08 Permalink

    Thanks Ian, I am moving house in the next weeks and have given all and sundry my mobile number I hope it lasts that long!!

    I read the MAYBE Darren Mikail CEO of ET Telecom may have purchased Icard and it will continue running.

  12. ian 7 July 2014 at 16:03 Permalink

    iCard Mobile website seems to be back up, but there are rumours that the company is in administration (try words like icard mobile administration debts, pages from the past week or so, in a search engine). I’ve only been with them a few weeks, having abandoned Asda, and have just realised that their charge for texts has very recently changed from 5p to 10p, with no warning.

  13. craig 7 July 2014 at 11:34 Permalink

    Hi guys thanks for the advice the Icard web site is still down! Although my mobile is working (Fingers crossed) I wonder what the situation would be regards a PAC code to keep my number I suppose OFCOM would advise.

    I have given my number to numerous people jobs etc so would be at a loss to lose my number.

  14. John Brown 7 July 2014 at 09:23 Permalink

    Try ” White Mobile” they have been around for years, offer great pricing and call quality . . I have switched and never looked back

  15. Phillip Sear 6 July 2014 at 23:23 Permalink

    I’m sorry to hear about the problems with Icard, having endorsed them on this site two years ago. I actually switched to Ovivo in March 2013, and when that folded went to Three. I guess it makes sense to stay with a big name, but Icard’s online call and data usage information was far better than Three or Ovivo.

  16. craig 6 July 2014 at 22:34 Permalink

    Hi I contacted a friend whom tried using the didicalling card arm of Icard on their live chat and he sent me the rather bizarre copy and paste of the ‘Chat’

    Call accepted by operator Customer Support. Currently in room: Customer Support, Colin.

    Hi I have an enquiry can you please respond?
    Customer Support:
    yes what
    Is Icardmobile still trading? I noticed that their website seems to have disappeared.
    Customer Support:
    voucher or calling card
    I was going to check my account,but as I say the website seems to be defunct.
    Customer Support:
    Can i have your User Name Please ?
    I have the details saved on my pc I was really enquiring as to the availability of the Icard website
    Is Icard mobile still trading?

    As we can see not much of a response only willing to take more money!

  17. John Brown 5 July 2014 at 10:51 Permalink

    I See some of cards calling cards have stopped working, and card charges are going up. i suspect this is a mobile operator about to go bump

    • craig 6 July 2014 at 22:08 Permalink

      I have just checked and their website is down, I emailed them and received no reply! I suspect it may not be around much longer.

      • craig 6 July 2014 at 22:10 Permalink

        I should add *Worringly* myself and my partner have quite a few ££s on our cards so hopefully it lasts a bit longer!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 8 July 2014 at 01:39 Permalink

      What have been the price changes?

  18. craig 2 July 2014 at 13:49 Permalink

    Icard have ended the FREE Icard to Icard calls and not even an email to let the customer know!

  19. craig 2 July 2014 at 13:26 Permalink

    I see Icard have stopped the FREE Icard to Icard calls!! I just noticed when I logged into my account and noticed I was being charged for calling my partner a quick check on the website confirmed an 8p p/m charge is now in place.

    Although I am registered with them they did not email me this change so perhaps others do not know.

  20. Job CF 8 March 2013 at 04:56 Permalink

    I bought an iCard SIM last year. Unlike others at that time, their pricing was free of frills and competitive. Did not have probs at all with the service; either to UK or abroad.
    Though one of the cheapest, prices have no longer competitive.
    So I haven’t used it for many months. Sill got some credit left, so put the SIM in a cheap phone and keep it in the car for emergency use.

  21. Warning 1 February 2013 at 14:08 Permalink

    Caution: iCard doesn’t support Call Forwarding or Call Diversion.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 1 February 2013 at 14:11 Permalink

      Thanks for confirming this. That is a shame – have you asked them whether they have plans to introduce it? Unfortunately, not all networks do offer these features especially not many of the cheaper ones.

  22. Craig 22 December 2012 at 21:16 Permalink

    Wonder if the new ‘Whitemobile’ will up it’s prices after an influx of new customers from other network’s. I know people will proclaim that this is business,but from a customer point of view dam annoying!!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 11 January 2013 at 16:15 Permalink

      Let’s hope not. Maybe they’ll realise that will be shooting themselves in the foot – it’s just as easy to get a PAC and move away again if they try bait-and-switch.

      We’ll be keeping a close eye on the pricing page over the coming months…

  23. Phillip Sear 6 December 2012 at 19:46 Permalink

    Thanks for that. White Mobile look very professional in the design of their site. My attention was drawn to their very attractive data rates: 2.5p per Mb. However, I am not sure they offer the online account management that icard do so well!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 11 January 2013 at 16:14 Permalink

      We hope to be offering a full review of their service shortly. You’re right – that’s got the be the cheapest PAYG data rate we’ve seen. If you end up trying them out, please also let us know how you get on 🙂

  24. ioscorpio 5 December 2012 at 16:43 Permalink

    There’s a new competitor to the market that is cheaper than icardmobile and allows roaming.

  25. ioscorpio 29 September 2012 at 14:56 Permalink

    Also just noticed the increase in price, when I checked my balance online. As soon as I have used up my credit I am moving my number to Ovivo as I have already got their SIM, 50 mins, 50 texts and 100 bb data free per month.

  26. Craig 27 September 2012 at 21:57 Permalink

    Yes Phillip I received neither text nor e-mail regarding this.Although I must say their prices are still VERY good!!! I have never had any problems with the service they provide,and others could learn from their online record of calls etc…

  27. Phillip Sear 27 September 2012 at 14:18 Permalink

    Thank you for that. This was the first I had heard of it, even tho’ I have an account with them. They should have texted me at the very least. I have been an enthusiastic supporter in the past, but now…….

  28. Craig 27 September 2012 at 13:21 Permalink

    I see ICard have increased call charges to landline (5p) mobile (8p) from 3p& 5p respectively.Strange though how you can call a Thailand landline for 2p per minute and a mobile for 3p per minute using ICard but it cost’s more to call someone along the road!!!!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 28 September 2012 at 00:49 Permalink

      Thanks for the heads up – the pricing has now been amended. Not sure about the legality of changing pricing without proactively contacting users though.

  29. Chongles 26 July 2012 at 20:50 Permalink

    Great comparison site – thank you – but one way you could make it even better would be to add minimum top-up amount and credit expiry (or ‘chargeable events’ conditions) into the comparison table.

  30. Craig 23 June 2012 at 13:50 Permalink

    Hi Folks,

    Well I have now tried Icard for the last 4 weeks and have found no issues with it (Although once my partner called me and the phone did go straight on to voice mail – I think it was in a reception null at the time)
    Much cheaper than Asda and just as good with the addition of free voicemal and free Icard to Icard calls, I am well pleased.

    Although I do seem to think this site has a bias to Giffgaff.

  31. Arora 23 May 2012 at 20:57 Permalink

    Icard has sorted the problem and now callers are not getting charged for network message.Not a bad network for low user .

  32. Mike 20 May 2012 at 19:13 Permalink

    Further to my earlier comment perhaps someone from icard mobile could advise if they intend to provide roaming. For at least a year to my knowledge their FAQ’s has said they may do in the future!

  33. Mike 18 May 2012 at 10:14 Permalink

    Have used icardmobile for 9 months now to make occasional international calls with no problems. Only thing that stops me from moving my ‘regular’ number to them is the lack of ‘roaming’ facility.

  34. Arora 14 May 2012 at 20:43 Permalink

    It’s free to retrieve messages but not free to leave voice messages.So that’s why i deactivated the voicemail but still icard charges the caller for listening to network message last for 5seconds.This is something new in UK and Icard hasn’t responded back as per their promise .I gave them proof as well but now they don’t want to know or comment.

    Their coverage,voice quality and connectivity is lot better than vectone/delight .The waiting time to get connected to cs is also better than Lyca and vectone.No doubt in this apart from this dodgy way of making money from network messages.

  35. Graham 14 May 2012 at 11:31 Permalink

    Well, I’ve been using iCard now for 6 weeks after trying out giffgaff and 3, neither of which were bad apart from useless coverage here. The 3 lack of coverage peed me off as i can see the mast from my house, but the signal doesn’t like stone walls and I discovered that 3 have pulled the 2G fall back to Orange! Pity as the unlimited internet was great for streaming Radio Caroline in the car and skype over 3 a real luxury.
    Anyhow, as I’m not a heavy user on calls I opted for a cheap call company and am giving iCard a go as they piggy back onto Vodafone. Absolutely no problems with coverage or connections (Vodafone and T Mobile ok here), topping up and customer services. I managed to wipe out my web site account log on pins so sent an email to support and within minutes got both a phone call and an email with fresh details. So far no complaints and first class at bargain call rates with no contract or credit expiration.

  36. Phillip Sear 14 May 2012 at 00:10 Permalink

    Thanks Arora – that’s an interesting comment. As it’s free to retrieve messages, I have always had voicemail activated, so therefore have not had the problem, nor any adverse comments from anyone who has tried to call me (I’m in Sussex).

  37. Arora 13 May 2012 at 18:27 Permalink

    Cheapest is not always the best.
    Icard is making lot of money by diverting calls to network message which shouldn’t be chargeable when voicemail is deactivated.

    The phone is off the network 80% of the time though i have got vodafone as well which rarely goes off line in same area .The call is connected and charged for exactly 5 seconds for some reason.I complained to icard about this but they washed their hands off as they say it is the other network .I have tested it from uk orange,uk vodafone and three uk network . As a result, the callers has to pay for minimum call charge which is totally illegal practice.

    I had a complaint from a friend in India who got stung 18rs three times then i tried myself from UK networks and was surprised.In my experience you never get hold of icard user in first try.I always end up calling at least three times to get connected.The icard user areas are kent,east london and essex with which i had this experience.
    All areas i tried my vodafone and it worked fine.

    You might be buying cheapest for you but not for your friends who ends up paying connection charges to call you on deactivated voicemail!

  38. ioscorpio 4 April 2012 at 21:16 Permalink

    Taken from icardmobile FAQ

    Q27. The duration of an incoming call is short, can i change this? – Click to open
    You can set your ring time to 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 seconds.

    Dial **61*265*11* into your phone as if you’re making a call.
    Enter a time between 5 and 30 (the number of seconds in multiples of 5)
    Press # and then the call button. Do not put the phone to your ear – just look at the display until you see a message confirming your ring time has been set.
    For example, **61*265*11*25# followed by the call button would set your ring time to 25 seconds.

  39. Craig 9 March 2012 at 13:15 Permalink

    Was wondering if anyone had poor “Coverage” using Icard? Read a few reviews whom said that they received a poor signal,however I find this strange as it uses Vodaphone?

    I was thinking of changing from Adsa,and as my partner and myself make the odd short call to each other the free “Icard to Icard ” calls would be a money saver.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 9 March 2012 at 13:18 Permalink

      The coverage is exactly the same as Vodafone’s so check out their coverage checker for your area.

      If you’re attracted by the free calls though, Giffgaff would seem to be a more attractive and reliable deal especially with £5 free credit.

      • Craig 12 March 2012 at 12:16 Permalink

        Thanks guys for your advice.I had seen the Giffgaff deal free calls up to 60mins, In reality when either I call my partner or her likewise it is only a 2 minute call – adds up over time though but the 10min Icard limit would be fine.

        Noticed the Giffgaff needed I believe a top up every three months for the free calls though,but Icard did not.

        I was wondering if you might know the answer to this question? I believe a user “Owns” the mobile number they have? What would happen if you were to port over a number and the mobile provider went bust could you still have entitlement to that number?
        The reason I was posing that question is the fact I have a “Distinctive” number which I am told has value.I have noticed that Icard had not lodged any accounts at Companies house for the last couple of years when I checked a few months ago.

        This could be a worrying factor although I am sure there many be innocent reasons for this. Any views?

        • Mobile Network Comparison 12 March 2012 at 12:51 Permalink

          It’s worth noting that with Giffgaff, the 60-minute limit is per call, not in total and you can just hang up and dial again immediately.

          Regarding your number, we would have expected there would be a mechanism to recover it although it might be a bit of a pain having your network go under. Ofcom should have a conclusive answer.

        • KE 19 April 2012 at 14:59 Permalink

          After discovering iCard Mobile (previously Trinity Telecommunications Ltd.) on this site, I went checking. I am very sceptical these days, after being royally sh*fted by O2 after more than 10 years as a loyal customer, never once missing a payment.

          Anyway, iCard Mobile has lodged accounts with Companies House ( ) on 31 March (their apparent year-end). You should also note that small companies are only required to lodge accounts every two years. Add a bit of a delay for Companies House processing, and you might get the delay you saw.

          In any case, I ordered their free SIM to see how things go. With prices like 3p to UK landline (majority of my calls), 6p to other mobiles, and free to iCM mobiles (doubt I’ll have many of those), that’s exactly what I need so that I get calling again (thanks O2). Top-up can be done at about 4 stores within 5-minute walk of my home in London, so it really was a no risk option.

          I had tried Talk Mobile from Carphone Warehouse, but none of their in-stock Essential SIMs actually worked in the store! Given complaints lodged over delivery problems, I wasn’t prepared to go that route. Seems like TalkTalk all over again. 🙁

          I had also considered GiffGaff, until I discovered it was actually an O2 subsidiary (wholly-owned with shared staff). So no, given my O2 sh*fting, I wasn’t prepared to go that route. Sorry if that offends this site’s owners–some posts seem like you’ve been drinking the GiffGaff ‘cola’ 😉

          I’ll post here when/if my iCard Mobile SIM arrives.

          • Mobile Network Comparison 19 April 2012 at 15:06 Permalink

            Thanks for sharing your experiences, KE. Please do keep us updated on how you get on. iCard certainly looks like a tempting offer.

    • Phillip Sear 9 March 2012 at 13:41 Permalink

      I myself switched from Asda, and ‘haven’t looked back’. I have had no problems with coverage. The only difficulty I have had at all is that when someone rings it switches to voicemail quite quickly if unanswered (I have seen other comments on that) but at least the voicemail retrieval is free!

      • Mobile Network Comparison 9 March 2012 at 13:44 Permalink

        Is it not possible to use shortcodes to alter the timeout before going to voicemail?

        Something like **61*443 *10*[time]# might work with time being specified in increments of 5 seconds.

  40. George 29 February 2012 at 14:54 Permalink

    were most helpfull setting up internet on my phone but,you have to do a lot of digging to get internet service settings and some phones are not covered but a quick email to them got a good response so well done icard

  41. Phillip Sear 23 January 2012 at 17:26 Permalink

    Thanks for sorting that. iCard is a generally an excellent service, and I should have added in my first message that their online breakdown of all call and data charges is superb – I had nothing like that from Asda (my previous supplier).

    • Hugo 23 January 2012 at 17:30 Permalink

      Philip – so they have free itemised billing on their website?

      • Phillip Sear 23 January 2012 at 17:40 Permalink

        Yes indeed, although it is strictly not billing as you have paid via vouchers upfront – but it tells you what your balance is and lists all the individual charges in great detail.

  42. ioscorpio 23 January 2012 at 15:30 Permalink

    I have received another email confirming that there is not a connection charge to all UK calls and they have removed the message from these call rates.

    Yes that is correct, all UK calls, to landline, freephone, 0845/0844/0870/0871 are not subject to the connection charge.

    Have a great day.

  43. Phillip Sear 19 January 2012 at 20:29 Permalink

    That’s good to hear, but iCard Mobile should amend the rate pages shown on their UK website. If you look at the Call Rates page for “UK-Freephone” on the drop-down menu it shows at the foot the text ‘All calls over 2 minutes are subject to a 3 minute connection charge’. That text is not shown for “UK” but it is shown for “UK-xxx”. I think this just needs making totally clear!

  44. ioscorpio 19 January 2012 at 18:48 Permalink

    UPDATE Email receive from iCard Mobile

    “Our UK rates have not changed, its just the international rates that have changed since 16th Jan, data and SMS charges remain the same also.”

  45. Phillip Sear 19 January 2012 at 15:12 Permalink

    I checked with them – it applies to most things, but not to calls within the UK to normal landline and mobiles. However, as you suggest, it does seem to apply to 0800, 0845, 0870 etc numbers. Thank you for alerting me – a 3 minute call to an 0800 number would seem to cost 3+3x10p which is 60p, which is pricey!

  46. ioscorpio 19 January 2012 at 13:12 Permalink

    Newly added to their website

    “All calls over 2 minutes are subject to a 3 minute connection charge”

    This makes calling 0800, 0845, 0870 etc numbers expensive, but not so bad on cheap international calls. The message does not appear on the UK standard rates, so not sure if it applies or not.

  47. Phillip Sear 10 January 2012 at 13:22 Permalink

    I switched to iCard Mobile from Asda in December and am very pleased with the service. The online breakdown of charges is really excellent (I never had that from Asda), and the data charges (at 10p per Mb charged pro rata (minimum c26Kb) are very competitive for small data users who do not want to pay fixed sums per day. With this service it costs me about 0.2p to check an online train departure board.

  48. sam 3 January 2012 at 17:48 Permalink


  49. pobb 13 November 2011 at 08:15 Permalink

    absolutly hideous!

    I asked for a couple of sims, and the envelope has my address scribbled on, it wasnt even straight and they couldnt spell manccster… yea.. Very professional!

    Also, it was stinking of hashish, so you can bet your ass I wont be having anything to do with this company.

  50. Nigel 12 November 2011 at 09:13 Permalink

    I’ve been using icard for a few weeks now without any problems, including internet date access.
    Does anyone know how to get the “content control” “resticted access” turned off for websites where you need to be over 18? (the icard customer services didn’t seem to know what I was talking about!)

  51. paul 30 October 2011 at 14:03 Permalink

    works on iphone 4

  52. Jabba 18 October 2011 at 13:03 Permalink

    Icard mobile works fine in a vodafone Nokia. Customer services fine when I called them to ask about rates for calling France. call was answered in a minute and chap found the “3p” mate answer quickly.

  53. Psilas 8 August 2011 at 22:01 Permalink

    Could you please correct this article.

    iCard ‘DOES’ work on Vodaphone handsets,maybe not all of them,but it works on 2 of my cheapy 340 handsets from Asda.

    The reception is fine but iCard does cut off sometimes.

    However,for the price its a GREAT provider and perfect for both occasional and fair use payg customers.

    Compared to schemers like T-Mobile,icard is a bargain.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 9 August 2011 at 19:18 Permalink

      It’s not clear whether ASDA Mobile-locked handsets are the same as Vodafone-locked handsets but we’ve added a note to the article. Have you noticed any difference between iCard Mobile reception and Vodafone reception or had any issue with customer service?

      • Mr Downs 20 August 2011 at 13:01 Permalink

        I’m about to join iCard Mobile from Vodafone. The reception from my house does appear to be the same as with Vodafone (as you would expect), but calling customer services is hit-and-miss. Sometimes you are placed on hold and then cut off with the message “thank you for your call – goodbye”. The calls to CS are however free. The PayPoint cash top-up worked fine also.

Leave a Reply