Mobile Network

Use this comparison site to pick the best and cheapest mobile phone network in the UK


TalkMobile is a virtual network operated by the Carphone Warehouse. It replaced the existing Carphone Warehouse virtual networks Mobile World & Fresh Mobile and one in five Carphone Warehouse prepay sales are now on TalkMobile. There are already well over 300,000 customers.

The operator launched in 2007 and offers both low-cost short-term contracts and PAYG deals which can be augmented with add-on rewards of voice minutes and texts. Its contracts are often attractive as they are shorter than its rivals. As it is part of Carphone Warehouse, TalkMobile often has attractive deals on new handsets. TalkMobile uses the Vodafone cell towers and infrastructure for its network backbone.

Free SIM

Get your free TalkMobile SIM here or click the banner below:

TalkMobile review

TalkMobile is a relatively new virtual network that intends to compete on price. As well as having some great contract deals on new handsets, its Essentials tariff is an extremely good value PAYG option with voice minutes just 8p each and text only 4p. These rates make it easily one of the cheapest networks operating in the UK. They also give a small amount of internet for a cheap price daily and it’s still quite cheap even if you go over the limit. The Rewards tariff is much worse value for regular use but does give you the option of free minutes, texts or even international calls.

TalkMobile uses the Vodafone network and the coverage is great in most areas of the country and they have a decent 3G signal. They operate a good, well-informed phone customer service which rarely forces an automated system on you and has short waiting time. The impressive customer service also means that they provide very fast number transfers once you’ve got your PAC. One of the best things about TalkMobile is that all their handsets come from the Carphone Warehouse so are not loaded with bloatware and are fully unlocked for any network. A great example to other carriers.

Overall, TalkMobile offers a good service at a very cheap rate using its Essentials tariff. As well as offering good value, they have decent customer service and fast number porting. On all their PAYG tariffs, the half price calls and texts between TalkMobile customers is a huge boon too. While they are not the very cheapest network, they offer much better prices than the majority of their competitors.

PAYG Pricing

At a glance

TalkMobile Rewards

Calls: 25pTexts: 10p Data: 10p/MBMMS: 30p0800: 20p0870: 20p

TalkMobile Essentials

Calls: 8pTexts: 4p Data: 10p/MBMMS: 30p0800: 20p0870: 25p


TalkMobile offers PAYG customers two options – the Rewards tariff or the cut-price Essentials tariff. Both include mobile internet for only 25p per day (with a fair use limit of 25MB per day) and both tariffs also provide half price calls and texts to other TalkMobile customers. These are all great deals we’re delighted to see offered as standard.

The Rewards tariff is quite interesting as, like the Vodafone Freebees offer, you get a bonus allowance every time you top up. These include free minutes, unlimited texts (subject to a fair use policy of 3000 every 30 days) or even included international minutes. Some rewards are better than other but, for example, if you really need effectively unlimited texts, they can prove to be great value.

However, unfortunately, the call charges are very expensive even for a regular mobile network let alone a virtual one. Calls are 25p/minute to UK landlines and mobiles and texts are quite pricey too at 10p each. MMS is also quite expensive as it’s 30p per message and they even charge 50p per call for talking to customer service. The good things are that calls fall to 10p/minute if you’re calling other TalkMobile customers while texts drop to 5p each, voicemail is free and mobile internet is 25p/day for 25MB.

The more attractive option is the Essential tariff which offers some of the lowest prices available. UK calls are only 8p at all times while texts are just 4p each. And it gets even better as these prices are slashed in half when you’re communicating with other TalkMobiles. Yes, that’s right, texts are just 2p each and calls are 4p per minute. You still get the 25p internet deal but voicemail is 8p per minute and MMS are still 30p each.

Even so, these are some great rates and the Essentials deal makes TalkMobile one of the best value networks going.


The Rewards tariff offers four options for your top-up bonuses.

Textmania is the best which gives you unlimited texts for a set period every time you add new credit. The way it works is the more you top-up, the longer you get free unlimited texts for – £5 buys you 7 days, £10 gives you two weeks all the way up to a whole month for just £15.

Another option is Chatterbox which gives you 30 UK minutes that last 7 days for a £5 top-up, 60 minutes for 14 days for £10 and 120 minutes that expire after 30 days if you buy £20 credit.

The FamilyFusion reward gives you landline minutes and unlimited SMS for your top-up – £5 gives you texts and 50 minutes calls for 7 days while £20 gives you texts and 200 minutes for 30 days.

Finally, the Globetalker reward gives you free international minutes for a variety of countries for 30 days. The number of minutes ranges from 75 for a £10 top-up to 300 for a £50 top-up.

As ever, please carefully check all the terms and conditions before signing up to these rewards.

Price comparison

To compare TalkMobile’s latest pricing for both of its tariffs with that of other networks, please see our conclusive price comparison page.



2G coverage: 99%3G coverage: 89%

Coverage map

TalkMobile runs on the Vodafone network. Please see our TalkMobile coverage page to learn the network coverage in your area. For more information, compare it with other mobile phone networks’ coverage.


Give your own rating to TalkMobile below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.7/5 (210 votes cast)
TalkMobile, 3.7 out of 5 based on 210 ratings
by Jon M

127 Responses to “TalkMobile”

  1. SGUM 21 September 2016 at 19:42 Permalink

    Never had a credit rating problem in life and experian shows excellent. first time failed from talk mobile.. logged in to see any issue in my experian.. everything looks except talkmobile… no clue of why failed.. probably they need 999/999 (that means no one)

  2. pike 12 September 2016 at 10:40 Permalink

    Talkmbile is cheap , no doubt, but the continually get things wrong.
    I have an ongoing issues with them concerning the amount of data I have used : ie they say that I have used a lot more ( more than twice as much) data than I actually have.After many, many calls to their customer service this is still not sorted out and asking to speak to a manager is asking to the impossible.
    THey continually inform me that their system is 100% correct… etc .
    It isn’t.
    Last night I recieved a text from them saying that I had exceeded my out of tariff charges. I had only recently reduced this from £120.00
    to £30.00, which they informed me was the lowest possible amount on my cotract.
    I had a grand total of £1.90p of extra charges and they cut me off until I was able to contact them this morning.
    This £1.90p was for sending photos on a text….is this normal?And also for writing a long text over a certain number of characters.
    Advice please.
    PS. I made a comment on this site about talkmobile, it appeared on the site immeadiatly but has now disappeared.I promise it was not rude or offensive. Can you explain ?
    So… talkmoblie cheap, but you get what you pay for…not good…Avoid it and pay a bit more.

  3. pike 10 September 2016 at 10:21 Permalink

    Very cheap bundle on a contract.
    HOWEVER……..talkmobie constantly get my data usage wrong ( ie every month for the past 6 months)THis month for eg. they say that I have used twice as much data as I actually have, even when I counted up every single MB. on my account. After a ridiculous amount of phone calls to try and put things right I eventually found a cus. service person who agreed with me.She give me 500MB. in compensationbut it still did’nt add up to the correct amount.
    Peveviously I emailed al my details to their ‘help desk’ thing.
    The reply came back as a failed email, from vodaphone written in the German language…?
    So.. cheat but dodgy.

  4. John Beattie 11 August 2016 at 09:05 Permalink

    Talk mobile Will Destroy your Credit Score even over A One Pound Sim only contract that they shut off.

  5. Colm Canavan 11 July 2016 at 00:16 Permalink

    Has to be best network out there had a £7 contract for years with 500Mb of data. Recently I did something stupid and ended up with £118 of extra data charges. The next day my phone was locked because I had went over the limit for unbilled charges when I phoned to get it reactivated they offered to drop the charges if I agreed to a new 12 month contract £7.50 for 2GB of data. I wasn’t expecting there to be any way to remove the charges as it was 100% my fault and even the full cost of the new contract (£90) is less than the extra data charges they dropped.

    I went with them after I got false roaming charges on vodafone and haven’t looked back not only are Talkmobile cheaper than large networks they offer much better customer service.

  6. Agile 8 July 2016 at 23:24 Permalink

    This page on TalkMobile is way out of date!

    They were bought by Vodafone during 2015 although Vodafone complaints will not handle anything to do with TalkMobile.

    They seem to have the best deals, £10 for a 30 day sim only with 1500 min, 1500 texts and 4Gb of date per month.

    But they also seem to have the WORST customer service as well !

    I thought that I had bought a sim but their credit department blocked the sale and have not replied to my emails.

    Their complaints procedure regularly ensures that the Ombudsman regularly upholds complaints and so they have to pay out!

  7. Natasha 1 May 2016 at 00:44 Permalink

    I have had no problem with them as of yet….thier customer service is very helpful and polite…my bill i check online and it is low…it is not high nor extortion…nice and affordable and a lovely handset which is still fully working…no problems at all what so ever..i thank this company talk mobile as they give me the chance i deserve to help build up my credit rating when many companies declined me…iam happy now iam able to build myself a nice credit rating thanks to talk mobile…i love this company and would recommend them to others…i will be staying with them as a customer even after my current contract expires…ill definately be renewing my contract when the option is available.

  8. MRS AN GRY 4 April 2016 at 17:48 Permalink

    Talk Mobile are just about the worst mobile phone company out there. They have held onto my refund after closing my account for nearly 5 months! I have had 2 contracts with them and had problems with each. Their customer service is appalling! Do yourself a favour and walk away from this company no matter how tempted you are by their ‘great prices’. In fact, don’t walk, RUN!

  9. Kay Ali 18 February 2016 at 11:34 Permalink

    I wouldn’t trust this company. They messed up my porting, and had to wait 2 weeks to have this. It was disconnected in the interim time, and they kept promising revised dates, and would not engage in conversation until that date came and went. I grew increasing frustrated. As compensation they only offered the time I was without my number, which again is completely unacceptable. If you want an easy life, don’t choose this company. I’ve now switched to another provider! Good luck to you if you choose these people.

  10. Anthon 1 January 2016 at 19:32 Permalink

    Data is only £0.10 per MB now when exceeding the 25MB per day.

  11. Cristina 19 October 2015 at 19:35 Permalink

    Very unhappy with Talkmobile and their service. Very unhelpful customer service. I have been with them for a few years on SIM only contract and then wanted to upgrade. They sent me a handset which I have returned straight away (but took ages to come to collect it from me and then been told many times that it doesn’t show on my account as handset return). But all this time I was been charged the new tariff as I would have and use the handset even now I have to pay the extra charges!!! Then wanted to ccancel the contract and been told to give 30 days notice which I did and then receive a message to say that my new bundles are ready to use on 18th of each month which shows they had done nothing. I rang again yesterday when of course I have to wait another month to have contract cancelled. I do not trust them anymore!!! The horrible thing is that I have bought a handset I really like through Mobile direct but I have to have a contract with Talk mobile for 2 years as part of having this handset. Though I am paying monthly charges on new number I can’t receive any messages. I am running two contracts with Talk mobile at the minute because I canot cancel the old one and not able to use the new one. Great!!! Avoid Talkmobile !!

  12. Arash 14 October 2015 at 18:43 Permalink

    I had a contract with talkmobile before and it was very good for the price I was paying. However, after upgrading my contract everything changed.
    – First they mistakenly delivered my new phone to my previous address and then asked me to go to my previous address (about 300 mile away!) to get the phone! It took about 3 weeks to convince them that I need to have my phone with my home address!
    – They accepted to pay compensation because of their mistake. I never received it.
    – Terrible coverage. There are several areas in midlands and south east UK with very poor coverage. There is a coverage in several areas in with your phone shows internet access but their proxy does not let you to connect.
    – The delivered phone is SUPER terrible. It started being switched off frequently after a while. Today I missed an important meeting because of that.

    I would not suggest it at all. It is cheap but believe me it is not worth it.

  13. Elemer G. 1 September 2015 at 22:01 Permalink

    Wife had a Virgin mobile. Switched to pay as you go Talk Mobile, kept number from Virgin …2
    Then contacted webchat on the website and wanted to upgrade from Pay as You go to Pay Monthly, OK , They sent a new SIM card with a new number.
    We called them 10’s of times and explained that somebody on their side screwed up something, and that we want the number from the Pay as you Go on the Pay Monthly.
    they transfered us several times and put us on hold until the robot said “Thank you for your call, Goodbye!” and hanged up.
    This happened a few times.
    When we were finally able to talk with somebody they kept saying to us that we can’t move a number from TalkMobile to TalkMobile but only from outside to TalkMobile. I was VERY shocked, this company doesn’t make sense. Remind you that they screwed up in the first place.
    Now we will be moving again, thanks ONLY to the CUSTOMER SERVICE, and we are having a real struggle getting the PAC code.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 16 October 2015 at 01:06 Permalink

      Did you get this sorted? A polite reminder of their legal obligations with respect to PAC codes often helps 🙂

      • Elemer G. 16 October 2015 at 06:05 Permalink

        Yes, eventually they gave us the PAC code.

  14. Quentin Alsop 12 August 2015 at 10:33 Permalink

    Appalling company, over charge and then Black list you so screw your credit rating.They admit making the error but wont /cant be bothered to correct their error with credit rating company.40 years perfect credit rating down the pan and can’t move house because of these NUMPTIES. Truly shocking you cant do anything about it. Even OFCOM cant do anything.
    Give them a wide berth.

  15. D Black 31 July 2015 at 14:37 Permalink

    Awful, awful customer service on multiple occasions. Many calls, usually transferred to several people, still nothing in writing/email to confirm my cancellation request… avoid, avoid, avoid

  16. Pet 20 March 2015 at 18:49 Permalink

    Finally I am done with them but I must say if there is a problem sent your complaint to Sir Charles Dunstable there is a link on carphone warehouse website whatever the problem it will get sorted all the best

  17. a 15 March 2015 at 12:09 Permalink

    be warned they take all the money
    and does not confirm what u bought

  18. Charlie Wilkes 7 March 2015 at 16:35 Permalink

    Avoid at all costs or it will cost you alot! Talkmobile’s customer services is the worst I have ever encountered. I got billed £300 for excess data charges. I actually had a £10 cap but this means nothing as they ‘piggy-back’ off vodaphone and this can take upto 72 hrs so you can easily run up massive bills. They could not specify why these charges occurred and I have basically been forces to pay the charges. I fought this for 5, very long and stressful months with the most unhelpful, incompetent customer service representatives I have ever encountered. I went to the ombudsman bit they are pretty toothless; although I did get a goodwill gesture as they agreed talkmobile’s customer services have been sadly lacking. I begrudgingly tried to pay the outstanding balance only to find out they had sent it to a Debt Collection Agency, even though I was I dispute. They have added £30 as an admin fee and not credited my goodwill gesture. Looks like its going to be another 5 months before this situation os resolved. My question to anyone is: What happens to my credit rating now even though I am willing to pay the amount owed, minus the goodwill gesture and the admin fee. PLEASE HELP, I’VE HAD ENOUGH!!!!

    • Mobile Network Comparison 20 March 2015 at 14:09 Permalink

      Take them to small claims if you had a cap they didn’t correctly administer.

      • Merk 14 April 2015 at 10:37 Permalink

        I’d be careful with this, as the 72 hour delay in clearly written in their T&C’s, unbilled limits are never a sure thing and you’ll find these delays with ANY network.

  19. Pet 24 February 2015 at 19:41 Permalink

    Disgrace is such a nice word for a company that rip off lie deceit people and their costumer service staff sleep at night

  20. marianne white 12 February 2015 at 15:12 Permalink

    I tried to get a pac code to keep my 9old number from Carephone warehouse. I was told I could not get it as contract had been cancelled. I rang talk mobile and wasa given a pac code. O took it to the O2 shop and the girl sorted it out. Now talk mobile tell me it was cancelled on 10th Feb the very day it was sorted out??? Why would I do that?? someone at talk mobile has done this. They are a disgrace.

  21. denisfry 3 January 2015 at 16:09 Permalink

    do not go near them ,talk talk are just crooks ,,once they have access to you bank ,they just take what they wish ,,they were fined 3 million ,for over billing,and have not stopped ,,and expect you to pay for it ,,

  22. a 29 September 2014 at 17:47 Permalink

    So so difficult to leave their contract. Asked cancellation 4 times but still charging me. I cannot understand their inefficient and rude customer service centre.

  23. Jess 11 September 2014 at 18:41 Permalink

    Is vodafone phones unlocked to talkmobile?

  24. Miriam A. 13 July 2014 at 13:02 Permalink

    Well, apparently it is very possible. I have a Samsung Galaxy S4 and they say the emoticons provided are from the internet, so they get converted to MMS. Call them, find out about it yourself. It cost me £45 this month and I thought I’d put it out there to warn others.

  25. Miriam A. 10 July 2014 at 12:55 Permalink

    Choosing Talkmobile was a mistake.
    Whenever my data allowance was used up, they just completely shut my phone’s functions down without even notifying me. No text, nothing. My final bill was really high, so I called them to ask why that was and they said that I had continued using the internet on my phone. Yeah, that is right: I had bought a bolt on and therefore could use my phone again. What they didn’t mention was that this time around they did not make the effort of just shutting down my phone and preventing me from using more data, they just let it happen without me knowing.

    I’m with O2 now and they charge for emoticons in texts, because they class them as MMS. Beware! They all screw you over.

  26. J.S. 29 January 2014 at 20:03 Permalink

    One word on choosing Talkmobile – MISTAKE!
    I was sold a contract phone on Talkmobile via Carphone Warehouse. I made it totally clear that this was for my young daughter who had learning difficulties, and asked about what data charges control service was included so a huge bill could not be run up. I was told the data service would be controlled at £50 and we would be alerted if it went over that. We weren’t. The bill in month 1 was £240!

    I contacted Talkmobile’s Customer Services number to ask why I wasn’t alerted or this over-use controlled as we expected it to be – and it seems there is time lag between the real Network (Vodaphone) and Talkmobile’s virtual network.
    How do they deal with complaints? I spoke to a singularly unhelpful manager in Customer Services ‘Kevin’, who tried to point the finger at Carphone Warehouse, despite the fact that the bill was from TM. He proceeded to refuse to give me a surname, team/dept name and he also refused to tell me where the Talkmobile Customer Services Office was located, ‘just in the UK’.

    In summary Talkmobile’s service is deficient, unresponsive, and their customer service has all the charm and appeal of a bus station toilet. AVOID!

    • Glen 6 May 2016 at 22:26 Permalink

      I looked at this when I was looking at their terms and conditions that there’s a £50.00 cap or more to that affect anyway. I telephoned 5888 and there was an option for the limit spend so I pressed it, it’s completely different to the 5888, mine is £127.00 pounds and to increase press 0. I think up to now Talk Mobile are ok but, it’s not for me because I wanted a live duration usage, meaning that whatever you use, such as, minutes text and data would be there straight away, so I telephoned Customer Services and asked for my P.A.C code and got it instantly so I don’t know why people are complaining really to be honest with you. There’s terrible reviews on there and I’m guessing people are being bitter and spiteful.

  27. Andy 14 January 2014 at 18:26 Permalink

    Absolutely rubbish customer service, cancelled my contract in April 13 and then received letter in Aug saying i owe £100 called them and they promised to sort but its now Jan 14 and I’ve just opened a letter from debt collectors.

    Stay away 🙁

  28. will 26 December 2013 at 10:52 Permalink

    I never write in capitals like this but I have to shout it….


    …end of shouting!

  29. yubraj 23 December 2013 at 14:38 Permalink

    It is the worst company that charged me 92 pound extra.

  30. Michelle Chapman 26 November 2013 at 23:40 Permalink

    No I haven’t had any luck with the customer service department will be seeking advice from Ofcom,I am appalled at the amount of complaints on the review centre wish I had read these before signing up with Talk Mobile!!!
    Anyone had any joy with complaining with similar issues ??

  31. Michelle Chapman 26 November 2013 at 01:26 Permalink

    Not at all happy with these con merchants,4 months into my 24 month contract £18 a month,I have been billed between £22 ad £25 a month,and have not exceeded my allowances,they also restrict which websites can be viewed which I have never seen before.

    Vat has been added, also voice mail charges (even though I was told these are free when I purchased the phone).

    I should have stayed with Tesco Mobile which was capped at £12 a month including voice mails and vat and had o problems at all for 2 years.
    Will be going to ofcom for advice on cancelling this contract.

    Terrible company to say the least.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 26 November 2013 at 13:44 Permalink

      Have you got anywhere pointing all this out to customer services?

      • denisfry 3 January 2015 at 16:12 Permalink

        they just charge what they like ,,i did not use mine at all .and it was doubled ,,

  32. simon 3 November 2013 at 21:57 Permalink

    was told by sales assistant when I took out my 24 month contract with them that the handset was unlocked. Just tried an Orange SIM in it & it doesnt work! Watch out for porkies!
    Im a bit annoyed as Im going on holiday & was going to buy a local sim to keep costs down but now im stuck on my network! ( talkmobile)

    • Mobile Network Comparison 4 November 2013 at 14:04 Permalink

      What have they said when you’ve confronted them about this? At the very least they should be able to unlock it free today in the shop or give you a replacement handset. Let us know if we can help in any way.

  33. J.M 22 October 2013 at 23:31 Permalink

    I have been with Talkmobile for about 2 months and have gone over my limit suspiciously on both occasions. I have not made much of it. I’m just surprised that since Aug 2012 no one has really posted any problems with this Network.
    Could it be that they have learnt their learnt their lesson and are now much better with billing and their Customer Service, I wonder.
    Any comments out there?

  34. Luca 4 August 2013 at 22:54 Permalink

    Since the end of December last year I’ve had a contract with talkmobile and about 1 month later my phone broke so I took it to carphone warehouse where I got the contract and they sent it for repairs I got it back 2 weeks later and not long after the phone broke again! So it was sent off waited another 2 weeks it came back and not even a week later it broke so we took it back and it was sent off and 2 weeks later we got it back then a month later it broke for the 4th time so we took it back and we then got a change of phone to a htc so we waited 2 weeks and it came but about a month later that broke! So we took it back and we got a different phone we got a Xperia E and not so long ago it broke and its in repairs at the moment and we rung up talkmobile and we talked and complained for ages and we got £20 credit but it never went into the bank account it just put my phone bill from £15 to £20 for 1 month and then returned to normal. We keep asking for a better quality phone but they won’t give us one

    • Jon 21 August 2013 at 13:10 Permalink

      Jeez.. you’ve had some bad luck with phones! I change mine around 3 times a year (I am a developer) and I haven’t ever had 1 breakdown (touch wood) and I use them a lot under testing conditions. I think you either have extremely bad luck or you don’t look after them. Just saying. I have to admit having used Carphone Warehouse for many years I never had a problem with them. The same could not be said for dealing with O2 however.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 21 August 2013 at 17:36 Permalink

      How did all these phones “break”? What was the first model you had?

  35. Prat 9 August 2012 at 13:32 Permalink

    Dont take a talk mobile contract ever. this is not just my experience but a true problem which will affect you all who take a contract with them.

    When your usage crosses the monthly limit you have bought, their automated system or even their customer services dont tall u the exact details. they keep charging you and when you recieve your bill, it will be a shocker as it will be a huge amount. they dont allow you to set a credit limit as well, beyond which you will be informed. Trust me i have sufffered so much for a 12 month contract i cant tell u guys.

  36. jb 2 August 2012 at 17:49 Permalink

    Ordered a £12.50 24 month contract, advertised phone would be delivered within 3-5 working days. After around two weeks of waiting i requested an update and was informed that my order had been cancelled due to security / credit checks. I keep an eye on my credit history and know that it is currently rated as good as it can be. Talkmobile didn’t even contact me to let me know they had cancelled the order. No further explanation from talkmobile – a complete waste of time.

  37. Rick 23 July 2012 at 10:32 Permalink

    So far so good! I need a second line for my business so I’ve taken out a 2 year contract at £7.50/pm which gives me 250 minutes, 5000 texts and 500mb of data. This deal came with a free Samsung Galaxy Y! More than adequate for my needs and an excellent price.

    I have used GiffGaff, who were useless to say the least. My phone was stolen (not their fault) but it took them over 2 weeks to switch my replacement SIM card on. Their ‘online only’ customer service is hopeless as they don’t actually read the full message and so don’t understand the full problem, then send a copy and paste reply.

    Moved to Vectone – Got my PAC from them within 48 hours! These con-artists promised me a new customer offer of bonus minutes, which they then refused to provide. They then blocked me from making/receiving calls after I complained! When I called back to speak to a manager, they passed me to 4-5 of their colleagues and then back to the first person who laughed when he realised he’d got me back! Most could barely speak English and one apparently did not know what a PAC number was!

    TalkMobile are (so far) efficient, in that my account was switched on within minutes of leaving the store. The staff were helpful (in Carphone Warehouse), however my only criticism is that I was told I could provide my PAC number to customer services after purchase. This is not correct as the code can only be process at the point of sale.

    A quick call to customer services and they’ve arranged it so that I can pop back into the store and get this fixed.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 24 August 2012 at 14:31 Permalink

      Glad they are working well for you 🙂 Did you have any other issues with Giffgaff? – we’ve heard they have speeded up the replacement SIM process and it would be interesting to see how it compares to the other networks.

    • Glen 6 May 2016 at 22:36 Permalink

      Think you’re wrong there, you can use a P.A.C code anytime after an order is placed just putting it out there! Maybe that’s what you thought but it’s wrong.

  38. PashDa 12 July 2012 at 16:29 Permalink

    I’ve been on a PAYG “flexible” SIM with them for quite a while. Fitted it into an umlocked Samsung Galaxy W and its worked fine. Never needed customer support. Signal strength is good, 3G in towns/cities, 2G in country. Tarrif is costing me less than £5 a month as I’m not a heavy user.

  39. Joe 7 July 2012 at 20:58 Permalink

    I’m surprised to hear so many negative comments re customer service. I’ve had a SIM only with them for a year and on the four or so occasions I’ve called them I’ve spoken to a young woman who very clearly knew her stuff and sorted things out instantly.
    Last time i called was to up the contract back to £8/month from £5/month (i’d changed it as I was in a bad signal area and couldn’t use it much), when I did they upgraded me to the 6 month deal (300/1000/500) rather than 1 month (200/500/500), but on the 1 month agreement. They did this WITHOUT ME ASKING THEM TOO, THEY VOLUNTEERED IT!!!
    I have SIMs off various MVNO’s and TalkMobile is one of the best to deal with. Never had a billing issue at all.

    • Natasha 4 April 2016 at 13:01 Permalink

      Thanks for some possitive…i decided to read a review on talkmobile as i have just signed up for a 24 month contract…i was getting a bit worried after seeing all the negativity so its a relief to see a possitive review…ill be honest and say as my credit rating is not the best it is hard for me to obtain a mobile contract but talkmobile are giving me the chance i deserve to build my credit rating up..iam currently a P.A.Y.G 02 customer and although ive been with 02 for years they wont even give me a chance on a monthly contract yet they can see how much i top up each month so they no im more than capable of paying a monthly bill..i have no debts so dont owe no money to no one yet my credit rating is not good enough…maybe due to declined credit putting a dent in it each time iv tried to get credit…so i thank talkmobile for at least giving me a chance…i can now start building my credit rating up with thier help.its nice to see there is a company who are willing to give people chances…so far i like them…i will see what the overall experience with them is as a customer and will post my review in due course…i hope my experience is as smooth as yours…thank you once more for at least 1 possitive review…iam a bit less worried now

  40. Mr tickle 5 July 2012 at 19:41 Permalink

    Thanks for all this reading I was going to take a 24 month contract out but not now am off to 02 many thanks for people who’s took the time out to write these reviews cheers mr t

  41. Mann 3 June 2012 at 11:22 Permalink

    Thanks a lot all you folks for saving me from Talkmobile and their follies, I almost ordered for a phone from them.

  42. paul 26 April 2012 at 00:20 Permalink

    wish id found this site before joining for a 24 month contract with talkmobile didnt know they were carphone warehouse until phone came,
    im getting a large bill again paid £25 for what is says is £12 a month but then they add VAT, so its £16

    got a bil today for £120 but when you try to make calls it blocked and says i owe £5 which is more acceptable ive used the phone a lot.
    do they charge if app is connected? and it seems to have a £75 credit limit,
    not sure what to do
    was on Gif GAf should stay i with them and cancel talkmobile?

  43. Rachel 28 March 2012 at 10:36 Permalink

    I would recommend that when you call them, get there name and each time you call back ask for the same person, this is how I got my problem sorted,I spoke to about 9 different people who kept telling me different things so I asked for the last person I spoke to and he sorted it all for me, and has even caled me a couple of times since to make sure that every thing is ok. But I must agree that as a company as a whole the customer services are rubbish!!!

  44. kay 27 March 2012 at 02:51 Permalink

    was thinking of getting a contract with them but am off to giff gaff.

  45. kay 27 March 2012 at 02:49 Permalink

    how the hell are these guys in the top 4 by the looks of things they are as bad as vectone mobile would have thought of them being a carphone warehouse network that they would have had better standards what a shame….

  46. Sophie 21 March 2012 at 16:01 Permalink

    Had the WORST experience with this company. They provided me a faulty chip, assured my contract had been cancelled as a result, and then charged me the full contract rate for the past sixth months. When confronted, I was informed they had ‘no recordings’ of any conversations I had with their representatives so refused to refund me.
    I took out a 6 month contract.
    Im on the 7th month and they are still charging me.

  47. Annie 20 March 2012 at 12:54 Permalink

    Go to Giff Gaff, much better value for money

  48. Frank 1 March 2012 at 15:04 Permalink

    Offers a cheap monthly rate. But hidden charges for voice and when you stop the contract they are shitting on you.

  49. Andy 23 February 2012 at 21:24 Permalink

    I have just given 30 day notice to talk monile after only 2 months- they are terrible!

    My initial sim only contract charged for voicemail calls- not suitable for me. after extensive email and telephone contact with customer service I changed my contract.

    Next they charged a £100 deposit held for 6 months to enable international roaming…. why can’t they just pre authorise a credit card like the car rental companies.

    Lastly I too had problems accessing some sites. I tried to sign an online petition and it would not let me access it. I contacted customer services to all this content. I was advised that they needed ANOTHER deposit of £50.

    This was the last straw- this company wanted to hold a total of £150 in deposits just to use their mobile network- I have never had this problem with any of the major networks.

    I’m off to Giff Gaff!

  50. Alan 12 February 2012 at 12:40 Permalink

    Do Not sign a contract with these jokers! Talk mobile is without doubt the WORST company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I won’t bore you with the details, but I have been a customer for just three months and in that time I have been repeatedly ignored or hung-up on by their call centre. They do not reply to emails. BEWARE – They charge 0800 numbers as PREMIUM rate calls – I recently was charged £17 for a call which I assumed would have been cheap if not free! They will not replace a broken handset after 28days, my top of the range smartphone broke after a month and they and gave me a nokia phone worth 5.99 as a replacement, whilst they sent it to be repaired. If you think you will get a 3G signal anywhere, forget it. I use my phone for mobile internet all day everyday across the midlands, and would estimate that I get a 3G signal about 1% of the time. I was on the three network previously with was much better all round. I can’t wait until my contract has finished with these crooks. A complete joke of a company.

  51. Rachel 7 January 2012 at 14:12 Permalink

    Ive been with Talk mobile for the past 24months and have never had a problem…untill I called them to upgrade on the 29th de.
    They offered me a good deal and a good fone so agrred to go with it, they said the phone would be with me the following day(fri 30th) so waited in all day, no delivery so waited in all the next day(sat 31st)still no delivery but couldnt get hold of them due to the bank holiday untill Tues 3rd Jan, they said there had been a problem and the phoned hadn’t been sent but said it would be with me the following day(wed 4th), waited in all day again and still no phone so called them again, they said again that there had been a problem and the phone hadn’t been sent, again they promised it would be delivered the next day (Fri 6th) so that morning I called them to see if it had been sent and got a tracking number, waited in all day and still no delivery so checked the online tracking, which said that at “6.47pm customer refused to sign” ????? I couldnt call Yodel untill 9am this morning so when I queried the fact that I had been here all day and certainly did not refuse to sign, they then confirmed that Talkmobile had sent my phone to the wrong address!! GIVE ME STRENGTH!!
    Called Talkmobile(again) who couldnt understand how it got sent to the wrong address as every time you call you have to confirm all your details, and have now said that they cant send me another phone untill Yodel send the other one back. Totally unaceptable!! Even when I threatened to cancel they couldn’t care less.
    God only knows when I will receive this bloody phone!! if it wasn’t for the fact that I was getting such a good phone and deal I would have told them to stick it by now.

  52. gerry mccanny 6 January 2012 at 16:42 Permalink

    Had a 12 month upfront phone contract from dec22 2010 till dec22 2011, gave adequate notice to terminate and they disconnected on time.they acknowledge this to be correct. Now I am getting threatening letters and warned of debt recovery for £8.38 ,they assure me this is a mistake but another letter came today, Their letter gives a contact number to call ,once dialed it asks for mobile number concerned with call ,inputting the now defunct number meets with number nor recognised no other options and eventually times out. Cowboys is too gentle a word to describe them and their customer (dont) care team are not to be trusted.rather worried and very very annoyed with this company.

  53. Morci 3 January 2012 at 19:19 Permalink

    been with talkmobile for a while with no problems, but today none of my texts would sent, later i tryed to call someone and there was a message saying ”you have £98.18 of unbilled calls to pay for, you must pay for these calls before making any calls”. but i know for a FACT that i dont use my phone anywhere near enough to go that far over a bill, i came on here and read some of the other stories and saw that talkmobile have messed up peoples bills before. i have also been suggested to call customer services but each time i try to call customer services it trys to make me pay for this outstanding bill. also i tryed to log online and check my bill, but i need my account number, and the only way to get that is to pay £1.50 to text for paper billing, which as you can guess talkmobile will not let me do. i am just going around in circles now, anyone got any ideas? thanks

    • Ben 5 April 2012 at 19:37 Permalink

      I have the same problem. I left the country and I convienently get a bill of over 69 quid when my usual bill is 20 to 30 a month.

    • yubraj 23 December 2013 at 14:33 Permalink

      I also have got same problem. my contract plan was 7 quid but this time they have charged me 99 pound. I talked to the customer service, but they told me that I have used extra internet. In fact I don’t use internet from that mobile since it is samsung galaxy y mobile and the internet doesn’t work properly in this mobile. So I use another mobile for the internet. Further I told them to put 0 limit in my account but surprising they charged me 99. They are not ready to review their mistake and they keep on forcing me to pay that over charge. I don’t know what to do now?

  54. Anne 3 January 2012 at 16:57 Permalink

    Has anyone used the talkmobile tarrif with an ipro i6 phone. I have been making enquires for my son, but no one seems to know if the internet will work with the phone as they dont know the settings. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 4 January 2012 at 16:01 Permalink

      It should work fine and the settings for internet will be the same as with any other handset. Let us know if you need any more help.

  55. Mike 2 January 2012 at 00:02 Permalink

    TalkMobile certainly do offer cheap contracts. I am going to focus on the SIM only plans.

    Their SIM Only plans are very cheap indeed and offer excellent value for money. They run on the Vodafone network.

    However, if you wish to run a SIM Only contract on the TalkMobile network using an iPhone, then be prepared for relentless “Welcome to talk mobile…download your settings” black screens ALL THE TIME. This is because TalkMobile do not have a formal contract with Apple to run their phones on their network (thus when you try to download settings, it doesn’t work and you’re stuck with these black screens)! Very annoying, but still…the plans are very good value!

    There are other forums on the internet with people experiencing the same issue. iPhone users, beware. If you could deal with the black screens, the sim plans are a bargain.

    As far as I know this does not affect other phones (i.e. android etc).

    Hope this helps!

    (p.s. I’m still with them…£8 PCM for 6 month contract is so cheap)

  56. Phil Clothier 7 December 2011 at 11:11 Permalink

    I just tried to join TalkMobile with a PAC code from o2.

    I ordered a sim online (which took 2 weeks to arrive) and inserted it into my phone. I then rang TalkMobile to retrieve my old phone number from my PAC. …turns out they can’t do this. After a loooong conversation with a confused customer service rep, I managed to cancel my contract (which apparently you can’t do over the phone? you normally have to go to a carphone warehouse!).

    Oh yes, I also received an email from Talk Mobile saying I failed my credit check …I queiried this on the phone anf they said they don’t know why it was sent out. …slightly worrying.

    Needless to say, I cancelled my PAC and renewed with o2.

  57. Attila 13 November 2011 at 00:46 Permalink

    I am a Talkmobile customer since Mobile World finished and switched me to. I am satisfied with the tariff, the coverage, the services but not the thing they called ‘Customer Support’. First, my SIM card went partly wrong and despite of the clear error message on any phone I and Carphonewarehouse expert put it in they tried to convince me that the problem is in my phones. After 3 month fighting they sent a new SIM eventually and it works.
    Even I had top-up successfully a couple of times, now I cannot top-up my card because the Talkmobile webpage gives error to anything I want to do: top-up, change details, add debit or credit card, register or anything.
    SMS top-up does not work either.
    Can you help me telling other ways to top-up?

  58. adam 10 November 2011 at 20:12 Permalink

    Do not go with Talkmobile. They use the Vodafone network so their coverage is fine, not amazing or anything, but nothing to complain about. However, they have a habit of randomly charging me. I had wrongly been billed £35 over my £18/month contract and was forced to call them up as they blocked me being able to make calls, send texts or use Mobile Internet. So I called them up and asked what the problem was. They apoloigised for wrongly billing me and I asked what date my allowances get reset. They said the 21st of every month. I specifically remember this as my birthday is on a 21st so that’s how I remembered it. I had 3 minutes left of my contract on the 19th of October, so I didn’t make calls until the 21st at 11pm. The call was 1h50 long. I get a bill through a week later saying I owe them £66? So I called them up and it was the same person as before. I told him he’d said it was the 21st that I got topped up on and he denied it. He said he’d get his manager to listen to our conversation from the previous call, and that he’d call back within 3/4 working days. That was two weeks ago and they’ve still not called. I have called them a few times and they said that the first guy would get back to me, still nothing… Oh, and as I said, they have a habit of not letting you make any calls, send any texts or use mobile internet (of which I’m meant to get unlimited). It seems like they are just waiting for an excuse to cut you off…

  59. ali 28 October 2011 at 20:04 Permalink

    talk mobile is the worst service i have ever used.
    dont buy it.

    they say 97 % coverage i dont understand how much area is in the rest 3% because where ever i am it says out of service area even on the high street while other networks are working in the same location.

    i am trapped for 2years plz guys make a sensible chioce dont fell into there teap just for 4 or 5 quits per month

    • Mobile Network Comparison 28 October 2011 at 20:08 Permalink

      They have exactly the same coverage as Vodafone. Have you looked what their coverage map says for your town and where is it that you can’t get coverage?

      If you’ve been with them for two years, what’s stopping you from switching away? We have great guides to changing mobile network easily.

      • ali 29 October 2011 at 07:36 Permalink

        i have completed only 7 months till now n thank u for the advice i will check for the switching plans.
        i hope the plans are good as stated. because i have seen the great 97% coverage.

  60. Belinda F 2 October 2011 at 15:27 Permalink

    I am so bloody sick and tired of this network and l have only been with them for like a month.

    I took out a contract because it was a short contract, only 12months and I really liked the phone l was going to get with it, had recently lost a similar phone.

    But taking a contract with TalkMobile is the biggest mistake l ever made. Firstly I had to find out after my phone was blocked that I couldn`t get my accurate allowance when I rang Customer Services. It was all 48hrs or even more delayed.
    now I was furious about this -WHY DIDN`T THEY TELL ME WHEN I WAS GETTING THE CONTRACT??

    I have had to pay more than £60 in my first month that`s more than twice than what I should be paying for my contract.

    Yesterday I rang Customer Services and was told I had about 75mins left, even though there is a 48hr delay l am pretty sure in the last 24hrs or 48hrs l made calls of more than 20mins at the most. But only to call today and be told l have 0mins and a bill of £10 -extra after my normal bill. EXCLUDING Tax…………….

    NOW seriously seriously how can thid be???


    • TalkMobile Representetive 9 December 2011 at 17:29 Permalink

      dont worry my friend, this happened to me.

    • TalkMobile Representative 9 December 2011 at 17:39 Permalink

      Dear valued customer, on behalf of Talkmobile we apologise for any inconveniences caused. Allow me to offer you a renewed mobile phone contract offer. Please contact us on one of the following numbers
      Call 5888 from your Talkmobile phone.
      0870 071 5888 from landlines or other mobiles
      (call charges may vary)
      Pay Monthly Sales
      0800 049 4401
      Pay As You Go Handset Sales Queries
      0844 873 0333
      Please ask for ADAM GRIMES and i will be able to assist you personally.

      Here at talk mobile we thrive for 100% customer satisfaction.

      Thank You

      Adam Grimes

      Talk Mobile

      • Wayne Jones 20 March 2012 at 12:28 Permalink

        I think you mean strive Adam…

      • alastair 13 May 2015 at 18:51 Permalink

        i really hate talk mobile as well i cant take another year of this crap please someone get me out of this cotract

  61. Amar 23 September 2011 at 21:12 Permalink

    Hello there (apparently) today i switched my phone on to make a phone call then while it was ringing its said ” im sorry but your currently unable to make any calls as you have an unbilled balance of £65.56 ” i was terribly shocked i found out through my call log i only used 50 mins when i get 200 mins. So i decide to switch my phone off take the sim card and leave it … 3 days later I WAS UNBILLED BALANCE OF £80 can anyone please tell me what to do what action should i take ?


    • Mobile Network Comparison 1 October 2011 at 15:26 Permalink

      What have customer services said to you? If you can’t work out anything with them, it’s worth contacting Ofcom.

      Please let us know how you get on with this.

    • Corey 29 April 2013 at 22:37 Permalink

      That has happened to me loads! I have had about 3 or 4 bills that were over £60 and I don’t understand how it could get that high!

  62. mario 23 September 2011 at 14:15 Permalink

    i have very mixed feelings about them. i chose them because the phone i want, on a 12month contract, was cheaper by more than £70 to any other company.

    i was a customer for one week and had to cancel my contract because they messed up my number porting (it took nearly 2hours of phone time to speak to someone and establish the problem). had to return my handset. had to call them up again in order to get a refund of a £100 deposit they took (they don’t automatically refund it). just found that this contract wasn’t immediately cancelled and so they debited £16 from my bank account. i just called to query this and they’ve finally cancelled the account, but i have to call back on monday to request the refund of the £16 (they can’t refund this automatically).

    because i was keen on this particular phone, 12mnth contract and the saving, i took out a contract with them again. went reasonably smooth, it’s been two weeks.
    i found that whilst using mobile internet (they piggyback on vodafone, btw. signal and data speeds are the same as what you’d find using vodafone), certain websites would be blocked with an error message stating the site contains 18+ adult content and i must contact my provider in order to lift the block. this error message is created by vodafone (as is made clear by the url in the address bar, blah blah).

    note that the website i was trying to access is a page for an oktoberfest in london this weekend… nothing more dubious.

    i contacted talkmobile, and to my utter surprise, disappointment, and frustration i was told that i would have to pay £100 deposit (refunded after 6months!) or they have to receive three months of successful direct debits from me, before they can lift this block. their reasoning behind this is that some websites can bill high charges to my mobile account, and they need consolation that i am able to pay that back (by £100 deposit or 3months direct debits).

    they were absolutely resolute about this. it is vaguely stated in their t&c’s, and i mean very vaguely. what is even more frustrating to me, considering this is a vodafone system, vodafone piggyback (i know talkmobile is a carphonewarehouse company), is that vodafone simply requires their customers to provide proof of age! that’s all! one could call them and give them your credit card details, or walk into a vf shop and show them id, and they’d lift it. not talkmobile!

    anyway, i don’t know what i’m going to do… live with this for three months, or fork out another £100 deposit. that’s my problem.

    hope i was able to give you some insight into their operation and enabled you to make an informed decision before choosing them.

    • Mobile Network Comparison 1 October 2011 at 15:58 Permalink

      That’s pretty poor and we’d be really upset with that treatment too. If there’s really no way to make them see sense, you might just have to bite the bullet and fork out the £100. At least it’s only a deposit.

      It sounds like the claim that “some websites can bill high charges” is a load a baloney and that the true reason is the 18+ block for alcohol sites which, unfortunately, all the major networks usually apply. As it seems the people you’ve spoken to don’t really know what they are talking about, it might be worth calling again or even trying to speak to someone at Vodafone.

      Please keep us updated.

    • Matthew 11 October 2011 at 09:49 Permalink

      I had the same problem with my internet . . . after paying a £100 quid deposit when i got the phone i thought they had some cheek asking me for another £100 so i could use my internet free-ly. Using my phone for online shopping, i couldnt even get onto websites that sold alcohol.

      HOWEVER . . i did manage to get round the problem. One of the geek squad team told me that if i downloaded the “Opera Mini” app (for free) on my phone, and used that for my internet browser it would bi-pass the restriction, and it works. Hope this saves you giving them £100 of your hard earned cash for 6 months 🙂

      • Mobile Network Comparison 11 October 2011 at 11:05 Permalink

        Yeah – Opera Mini will always bypass network filtering as it caches and serves everything from its own off-site servers. A good loophole to get past these ridiculous £100 charges.

    • ma 25 April 2015 at 16:11 Permalink

      My gosh am so frustrated with talk mobile. The past three months or more as been a pain, am crying grown woman like me. There 5888 number is the most inconsistencies number. Trying to call to check your balance with that number is a pain and will not advice anyone to depend on it. Your bills will shock the hell out of you. Am in so much pain and frustration I can’t ever finish if I start with talk mobile. I call 5888 to check by balance every now and them it will give me the wrong min. Text. And data allowance. When I speak to customer services they’ll tell me another am always over my limts. Trying to get the matter resolve is another episode. Talk mobile is a no no RUN

  63. Sarah 24 August 2011 at 20:51 Permalink

    I have bought a Blackberry 9300 off TalkMobile the £15 a month tarrif for 24 month and its been six day still not been in ! How long will it take I want my phone now ! ?

  64. sabul 19 August 2011 at 11:17 Permalink

    Reply to Gareth comment above- I just went onto ofcom website and saw that talktalk and tiscali have been fined £3m for incorrectly billing tens of thousands of customers. see serves them right!!

  65. gareth 17 August 2011 at 20:37 Permalink

    I took out a phone contract earlier this year and having returned it a day later, I have been harassed by TalkMobile constantly. Having spoken to the customer service team constantly and then some weeks ago, I was advised that a large bill had been credited and I owed nothing at all on my account. I have found this evening that the account was never cleared and a debt collection agency is chasing me. I have spent hours on the phone to a non local number over the past few months, sent the phone back 3 times and then returned, once to the store in person, and since May this is still continuing. I have never felt more bullied to pay for something which is not even mine to pay. The phone calls are all recorded under my name and address above, and no one ever seems to get things done at the Carphone warehouse. The last phone call I made even had a customer services rep stating there was NO MONEY owing on the account. Why am I now being told, having had numerous people state all is fine, that I have to pay for a phone I don’t even have?!
    I am at my wits end, and feel that they will not leave me alone until they have this supposed debt paid. I don’t even have the phone! Please can you help. I am now completely lost as Talkmobile are not interested at all in sorting this. I have taken the steps to contact Ofcom and they are now aware of this situation. This has got to stop. Surely this is not too much to ask. I have never experienced such terrible customer service and care standards ever.

    • Pete 2 September 2011 at 12:26 Permalink

      Hi Gareth, I had this same problem a couple of years ago with TalkTalk. I ended up taking them to small claims court and they paid me £270 compensation and we’re forced to correct my credit history.

  66. LIAM 18 July 2011 at 20:38 Permalink


    • Mobile Network Comparison 18 July 2011 at 20:41 Permalink

      How can they not support Blackberry 3G or 2G data? Do you just mean BIS or all 3G traffic?

      • Phone lover 15 August 2011 at 12:31 Permalink

        In order to acess Blackberry services, you need to have a tariff with Blackberry services activated/included. As far as I understand it, Talkmbile certainly do offer Blacberry tariffs and services.

        • Mobile Network Comparison 15 August 2011 at 17:19 Permalink

          Thanks for that. So, as we thought, it does support Blackberrys and it also supports BIS if you pay for it.

          • Mr W.A. Customer 23 February 2012 at 21:50 Permalink

            Usually following a top up – the Talk mobile essentials gives value to a host of mobile service providers. I noticed today after calling my daughter on her new BBerry that my Talk mobile pay-as-you go credits were eaten up. As with most things I learned the hard way. Now I have to find more resources to top up and be weary of calls to BBerry’s.

Leave a Reply